We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Nearby Hotels
$82
$79
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$131
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$196
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$80
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$201
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$87
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$137
$99
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,632)
Filter reviews
2,632 results
Traveler rating
1,762
606
158
59
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,762
606
158
59
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolonial cafeorchid roomtower wingold wingjunior suitehigh teasmoke housecolonial feelcontango restaurantcigar roomold railwayfour poster bednew towernational mosquedrawing roomshuttle busbird park
Filter
Updating list...
2,093 - 2,098 of 2,632 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2013

It was Hari Raya AIdilfitri Holiday.
We drove from Putrajaya to K.L but found the hotel was really really hard to be located by our GPS. We had been turning around in the city for like 30min or 1 hour. It was really really tiring and I wasn't feeling good that time as I was pregnant. Imagine having to find the way, looking around under the hot sun!
After reaching, I was happy being able to check in in a really short time. The receptionist even showed us our way to the hotel room!It was the first time I had been escorted to room by receotionist! I was really impressed as I had a bad experience in Shangri-la the day before. The Majestic gave me a bad impression because of the location but the receptionist wiped my hatred off!
The room itself was really big and comfortable! I like the design of the room with a king-size four -poster bed, a long bench at the end of the bed, a long enough L-shape sofa, big writing table, modern fridge, most importantly, a large closet with enough hangers!!! Most hotels provided very limited hangers but The Majestic provided more than that which was a thumb up! There was also enough storage for my luggage, lots of small & medium pouches.
As for the bathroom, it was really big ans spacious and it comes with TV too~ there were he-basin and she-basin. In between was a long and big bath tub!! The toiletries were luxury Crabtree & Evelyn's!!! Though the design of bath tub in between two basins was a lil weird but we still enjoyed ourselves in the room. The bathroom came with a transparent class door without lock. You can block the glass with attached curtain but still, it is not convenient for some guests~
The room was wonderful but we encountered one problem which really pissed me off....... I'm not sure about others but that was always a minor problem in other hotel. I think it's a stupid mistake made by the designer.
Facilities were not bad but the pool was too small which meant we couldn't enjoy when there were too many kids because the hotel provides only one pool for both adults and kids. I like their Gym as the hotel had equipped with some modern gym facilities. I did not see any staff in both pool and gym room.
There was a really big empty space which looked like a garden when you walk pass the pool. Im not quite sure what is it because there were no flowers, benches..... wasted
I'm not sure if I will be back because it is not cheap and it is not convenient to get food without travelling in car. Hotel provides free shuttle but I dont like needing to check the time while relaxing...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aki_choo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHKL, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your constructive comments to help us in our continuous efforts to improve our customer experience and be more successful in everything we do. Thank you once again for giving us this recent opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It was established in 1932 in colonial and art deco style. Consists of the Majestic Wing, the original building, well conserved to the last detail; and the new contemporary Tower Wing. Even in the latter once one enters the room it's hard not to notice the old feel to the fittings in the form of a four poster bed, the oval open bath tub in the middle of the bathroom, coat stand and art deco motif of the curtain. The hotel radio cum tv even played songs from 1930s to 50s. The same feel is created and maintained through out the hotel in both wings - the fittings, decor and ambience. What's more commendable about the hotel is its effort to maintain the service standard of the first class hotel of the 'old world' which one gets to read about in books, novels set in 19th and early 20th century or see in tv series such as Downton Abbey. This is especially so in the Majestic Wing and the F&B outlets such as the Colonial Cafe and the Tea Lounge. The staff were impeccably outfitted in beige jacket, black trousers for the men and skirt for the ladies, complete with a black bow tie! Their appearance were well complemented by their fine manners and speech, sense of discretion and the motto to provide pleasant experience for the guests. The latter can be seen by their readiness and willingness to accomodate unexpected needs and wishes of the guests even at the last minute. The menu at the Colonial Cafe lists some of the originals from its heyday.
I stayed at the Tower Wing but ate mostly at the outlets at the Majestic Wing. They even have a 4-man band playing jazz of 1930s and 50s! I have not seen a double bass being played for a very long time. It was a great experience full of nostalgia. Thank you to all the staff of the Majestic for keeping the nostalgia alive! Will definitely come back to stay at the Majestic Wing.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank brontay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We just had a Christmas dinner function at the Orchid room and we were extremely disappointed with the lack of professionalism and value in overall experience.

Our party was placed in the very frigid Orchid Room without prior warning that the room temperature was to be kept at a frigid point with fans blasting away in full force. Even the attending service staff chose to stand outside the glass doors. So our guests were feeling very cold and had to stay outside in the corridor to have their dessert. We felt that the restaurant staff who was coordinating the function with us should have the courtesy to warn us of the temperature condition. Also there was absolutely no Christmas ambience in the room.

Food served was of disappointing preparation and quality. Caesar salad with lobster was soggy and we couldn't tell if the shredded protein was lobster or prawns. Turkey roulade was served with boiled cauliflower and Brussels sprouts. And gravy and cranberry sauce was inadequate. I had asked for additional gravy, but no extra was served.

Also we were not told that water being poured at our function was being charged at RM55/bottle. And the staff was very lavish in keeping the glasses full even at the very end of our dinner. When we left to take our coffee in a warmer environment, we had 12 full glasses of water on the table. That's RM165.00 down the drain!
There were only 10 adults and 2 kids, but the serving staff was able to pour out 10 large bottles of Evian in addition to 2 bottles of wine.

For the total price of RM5,000.00+, we certainly felt short-changed for the entire experience. We asked for complimentary parking (as is usual with such outlets in the city for functions such as this) but our request was not entertained.

We are definitely not returning to this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank leisuretravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHKL, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Greetings from all of us The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur.
Thank you for your recent visit to the Orchid Conservatory. We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience.

We sincerely apologize for the shortfalls in service and inconvenience as a result. We are committed to continuously improving our guest experience and your feedback will helps us do exactly that. Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we hope you would visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Re-opened after more than 30 years, the reincarnation of Hotel Majestic adds a touch of classic colonial splendour to the KL 5* luxury hotel scene, which has up until now been dominated by rather disappointing chain hotels.

The hotel sparkles with pride, as do the staff, who are efficient and courteous. The doorman and concierge are especially helpful and a fountain of knowledge.

Located only a 5 minute ride by courtesy shuttle from KL Sentral Station makes arriving and departing KLIA so quick and easy. The hotel is also next to the National Museum, Butterfly Park and easy walking distance of Chinatown.

The old buildings have been wonderfully restored, including a lovely snooker room and bar, cigar lounge, orchid filled conservatory for afternoon tea, and a spa. The new tower wing houses ultra modern bedrooms with every facility required. Fast WiFi throughout the hotel.

The restaurants offer excellent food, and the weekend brunch is amazing in its variety, quality and value for money.

Make Hotel Majestic your home-from-home in KL!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite in the old ing for Colonial splendour, or a room on a high floor in the new tower wing for wonderful views over the city.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_CNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel we had the most fantastic time, it is hard for city hotels to offer the kind of personalised service we experienced at the Majestic but somehow they pulled it off.

For me one experience summed up the Majestic, we arrived at breakfast on our first full day to realise that we had mixed up the time difference and they had already closed (they were setting up for lunch.) However instead of sending us on our way they sat us down and brought over a selection of pastries, tea, coffee etc and even offered to cook a hot dish if we wanted!

On top of this level of service the hotel has bags of character, the comfiest beds, great restaurant options, a free shuttle service to Bukit Bintang and a TV in the bath!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews