We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea review only” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #7 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea review only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I saw some older reviews of the afternoon tea and felt compelled to share my experience. For RM48++ per pax in the tea lounge area, the portion for one was generous. Scones, sandwiches, moist fruitcake, delicious eclair, selection of fried items etc.. The only gripe I have is if you have a lot of people in your group, you are only able to order the tea set, the selection gets slightly repetitive and you can't order from the regular menu 'cos the kitchen is closed.

But other than that, our group of 10 enjoyed ourselves in the comfortable cosy setting of the tea lounge. Service was attentive and friendly, food was decent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suanie_net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    457
    121
    43
    35
See reviews for
355
845
128
278
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of the best hotel I ever stayed in KL. Went with husband and friends for the stay..
Rooms were excellent , spacious and clean. Nice decorations and designs.

Staffs were friendly , very helpful and nice. Service was excellent.

Breakfast, spa and high tea was really good.
Really enjoyed every min spent at this hotel.

Will definitely stay in this hotel again.
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We loved the suite that we stayed in. It was spacious and luxurious (in particular, the bathroom). Service was enthusiastic at the hotel and we would like to convey our thanks to Wai Theng in particular who even arranged a surprise for us in our suite (it was our mini honeymoon). The hotel itself is gorgeous, in particular, the old wing. We enjoyed the bar and chatting with the resident bartender.

My only area of concern was the breakfast buffet. The buffet line does not have any description or labels of the food. I understand from earlier reviews that the hotel's reason for this is that this promotes interaction between guests and the service staff at the buffet. Unfortunately, the staff were either not knowledgable or were unavailable. There also appeared to be confusion between the staff. For example, when asked whether low-fat milk was available, I received differing responses. The variety and quality of the food at breakfast was also below expectations.

Other than the breakfast though, we truly enjoyed our stay and would stay at the hotel should we travel to KL again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed there a week ago with a huge group.

Check in was prompt - check out was better.

Nice big room - just cannot figure what the 4 poles attached to the bed is for. To attach mossies nettings? No toothbrushes in the room? That should be a standard item. Nice tub but no bath salts?

Bed was good but the aircon seems to sound like a freight train couple of times in the night. Or it could be someone flushing their toilet next door. Strange.

We had a farewell dinner at their ballroom. Spread was very good - wished they have more local Malaysian dishes. The lava cake was excellent.

Breakfast was nothing to write about. Nothing bad but nothing stands out.

Overall good service and a quiet place for a couple of days if you do not mind the inconvenience of taking a cab.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonacoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had a few days meeting in this hotel. I must say I really miss the food experience here. The lunch buffet was amazing. They cater from appetizers to a wide range of main courses to delectable desserts. The roti pisang chocolate is to die for.

The staff here were very courteous and helpful. Only that there is no walking distance shopping area, but you can always take the shuttle van to kl sentral and take the lrt from there to klcc.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyrora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed in September with my wife for a quick weekend getaway.
We enjoyed the resort and its facilities. Breakfast was great however the coffee such a cappuccino or late was not worth ordering.

I found the staff extremely helpful and polite, especially the chefs at breakfast.
Also the pool is great for a afternoon swim!

We will be back!

Room Tip: Shuttle bus to the city every hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackstrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here one night after having returned from the Pangkor Laut Resort. It was part of a deal: three nights in Pangkor and a free night at the Hotel Majestic. We stayed in the new tower wing on the top floor. The rooms are large, and the tower wing is a brand new annex connected to the renovated historical wing. The rooms were large and very comfortable with a good design. The open bathroom is very modern. Breakfast was superb, and the buffet lunch delicious and very reasonably priced.

The location is perfect if you like colonial Kuala Lumpur. The architecturally impressive old train station is right next door, and Merdeka Square, the green belt, and the National Museum within walking distance. If you want to go to the tourist area with the huge shopping malls and the Petronas Towers, there is a free and frequent shuttle bus. KL Sentral is close by the Majestic, and there is a monorail station there. I would like to stay at the Majestic again, but next time I will spend extra and stay at the Heritage wing. I walked around the bottom floor and was impressed with colonial feel. The tower annex is nice but seems more just like a nice, new modern hotel.

Room Tip: The north side of the Tower Annex has superb views of the KL Menara Tower and the Petronas Towers in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmcneill817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.9 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,363 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,717 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 5, Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur was built in the 1930s and was ranked as one of Southeast Asia's grandest hotels. Re-opening in December 2012, the hotel is poised to reclaim this former glory; its piece-de-resistance will be The Majestic Wing, whose Neo-Classical details have been meticulously restored. An annexe, housing the majority of the plush rooms, was designed to complement the historic building. A spa has been designed in art-deco fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Prestigia, Agoda, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing