We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea - special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #7 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea - special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This review covers two separate visits to the Majestic to experience their Sunday afternoon tea. It was a great experience! The welcome, food and beverage service, food quality and ambience was exceptional.
I chose the drawing room as the venue - a fitting and comfortable room for a small group. The service is well paced and produces a real sense of relaxation.
An essential whilst in KL.
If there is one very minor observation to make - is that fresh tea and coffee should be continuously served, even if this means a hike in the very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    457
    120
    43
    35
See reviews for
354
845
127
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hardly 8 months old, this hotel, located opposite the old train station, is a little further away from the city centre but shuttles are provided. The shuttle to the KLIA train is but 5 minutes away so getting to the airport was a real breeze.
The buffet spread (lunch and dinner) was more than ample, and Asian dishes tasted authentic. I was amazed by the 'salads' - there was Miang Kham, Rojak, Gado Gado and more. Then there was an Indian station, Pasta station etc. Staff are friendly, accommodating and try hard although they might need just a little more training. We asked for the drinks menu and was told there was only the wine menu. Later we found the cocktails and drinks page on the wine menu.
The gym is brand new, machines are few but sufficient for a work out. Music selection in the gym was totally appropriate and fun to work out with. Loved the orchid room and wished I had more time to have some scones and tea in the old wing.
Enjoyed my junior suite (was upgraded). The staff at the function rooms (I attended/gave a seminar) were professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaTrave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The boutique hotel near subway station about a minutes walk from the hotel.. Very closed to Ximending shopping area about 5 minutes walk. It's provide washing and drying machine at the lower ground floor. And a pantry with coffee machine and microwave as well..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was our first family getaway since we had our baby and because we have always loved YTL properties, we thought we'd check it out. We stayed for 3 nights. The package we took included dinner.

From the moment we checked in, we felt like we are in a resort in some hideaway place already. Service was immaculate. Smiles from all around. You just feel so welcomed.

The rooms was okay... Maybe we expected slightly more? Maybe we expected the rooms to be "not-so-modern"? But it was still really nice.... big comfy beds... loved the bathroom...

We loved the food at contango :) Both breakfast and dinner!

We were also there to celebrate hub's birthday :) Had a really nice quiet time enjoying our baby and chilling.

They have a free shuttle to the major malls too! But we just wanted to stay in....

Oh the spa was really amazing! Just like the rest of the spas :) We got their promotion package - a buy 1 free 1 which we thought was really worth it!

We couldnt do high teas there coz babies are not allowed but we're not fussed :P

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weennee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is newly renovated with a colonial and new wing. It is located in the historical centre of KL which is very beautiful and deserves to be visited. We stayed in the new wing -- well appointed rooms apparently each with a beautiful orchid. The bathroom is very special - but you do need to like bathrooms enclosed in glass -- although you can draw the curtains if you like. The service was excellent -- everyone was very helpful. Do have breakfast at the hotel - excellent value and the wide choice of Asian and Western food -- again the service was excellent - everyone aims to please.

The colonial sections of the hotel are very well restored -- we did not have the opportunity to have afternoon tea (which can be held in the Orchid conservatory or Library as well is the main cafe of the hotel), we will on the next visit.

Although we did have some reservations about staying in the area, there is a very good shuttle service (every 30 minutes) to the major shopping centers and to KL Sentral where you can take the KLIA Express to the airport which avoids having to negotiate with taxi drivers. It looks like in the not too distant future the area will be bustling with activity -- new hotels are going up (for example the St Regis is in construction) and it looks like there will be a shopping mall across from the hotel, so it will be a prime location.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank me-gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was very impressed with this hotel. Upon check in,although they did not have our reservation booked thru booking.com, it was fine as it was sorted in few minutes with no fuss.
A butler escorted us to the room Everything in the room was superb! Big and comfortable
bed, bathtub and bathroom thats just amazing!
The quality of food is good but what makes it excellent is the service;-)(probably the bar man needs more training)but overall experience was great! We will definetly come back and recommend the majestic hotel! It is indeed one of the world's leading hotel;-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosieRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was very excited when Majestic hotel first opened, as KL needs more atmospheric hotels with charm and character amongst all the uniform, modern hotels. I think even though the location is not that central, it is in a nice part of historical KL, and worth exploring. We decided to try out Contango for brunch/lunch and afternoon tea at the tea lounge. The hotel looks lovely from outside, and the finishing like the floors and a few heritage architectural details lent some luxurious heritage feel. Unfortunately, I felt the interiors and soft furnishings could be done with much better designs and colours, overall look and feel. It definitely could do with better ID. Perhaps only the colonial cafe had the right ambience, but the tea lounge, reading room had a pretty 80's look - they do not quite capture a supremely elegant colonial look which the hotel deserves. The orchid room is very pretty and except for the furnishings which didnt quite go with the gorgeous orchids - even fresh white rattan furniture would look great with the orchids. Contango was disappointing in terms of quality 5 star hotel buffet - but the afternoon tea was very pleasant and of great quality, and I would recommend it. Service was good too as it was attentive. I will be trying out the Majestic wing room soon and the spa, hopefully the experience would be more 5 star....

SSA

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaytraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMHKL, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Greetings from all of us The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent visit and wee appreciate you taking the time to review your experience. We sincerely apologize for the shortfalls in service and inconvenience as a result. We are committed to continuously improving our guest experience and your feedback helps us do that.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope you would visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.9 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,709 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 5, Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur was built in the 1930s and was ranked as one of Southeast Asia's grandest hotels. Re-opening in December 2012, the hotel is poised to reclaim this former glory; its piece-de-resistance will be The Majestic Wing, whose Neo-Classical details have been meticulously restored. An annexe, housing the majority of the plush rooms, was designed to complement the historic building. A spa has been designed in art-deco fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing