We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Majestic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #8 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2 nights in Majestic hotel”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

First time in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, I stayed 2 nights at Majestic Hotel. I was impressed in their services because they kept contact me by mail about transfer service from the airport. I felt comfortable when they replied me that someone will escort me from the airport until I arrived to the hotel. The room looked modern and very big with the classic Decoration. There were TV inside the restroom, so you can enjoy watching during take a bath. Everything are perfect except the temperature in my room was very cool! I will miss Kl and hope to come back again.

Thank you for all hospitalities.

Pratanporn from Thailand.

ส่งจาก iPad ของฉัน

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank earndude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your first visit to Kuala Lumpur and for taking the time to write this excellent review. My team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and you were comfortable and well looked after. It's been a pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,381
    497
    125
    47
    35
See reviews for
389
920
138
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

It located at the Tower Wing. Restaurant ambiance is beautiful with open kitchen concept and serving variety of food. The food are just so-so; some are salty and some of bland. Noticed that they are providing personalized services but certain times that staff are in 'panic' situation especially when group of people make order at the same time. Shutter bus transfer between KL Sentral-Majestic Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siewhwee1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Greetings from The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Contango. Your feedback is a vital part of our continuous drive for quality and improvement. Thank you and we hope that you will visit us again to experience more of our offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for work for 3 nights and amazed by the room, and everything about it. I loved the screening room in the hotel that was showing black and white movies like Casablanca and the bed I slept on was one of the best hotel beds I ever experienced. It was a lovely four poster bed and the room was spacious for a lead-in room type. There was a sofa set and a large bathroom in the room. Only flaw is the glass bathroom door which provides no privacy if you are staying with a friend or prefer not see your partner using the toilet. Otherwise the room is perfect for couples or for business.

Location of the hotel is not in the heart of KLCC or Bukit Bintang but there are shuttles to KL Sentral and another destination quite regularly. Moreover I like the fact it isn't in the heart of the city to avoid the jams and noise. Buffet selection during breakfast and lunch is limited but quality of food is good, service staff were also very pleasant and polite, greeting everyone as they walk past. Had dinner at the Colonial Cafe and love the band that was playing along with the whole look and feel of the restaurant. Great place for hi-tea as it brings you back to the 1930s. Used the pool and gym and it was not bad considering the equipment is new and pool is fairly big to do laps.

Room Tip: Avoid traveling with people you do not want to see in the toilet if you are staying in the Deluxe Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eelayel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Greetings from The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay experience with us. My team and I are delighted to receive an excellent rating and to read that you were satisfied with our hotel and services. We appreciate the recent opportunity to be of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our stay in the brand-new Majestic Hotel was an unforgettably nice experience. We are always on the look-out for nice welcome places to stay. Our particular interest goes to finding hotels with a historic charm. When we heard that the Majestic in KL reopened, we immediately took the opportunity to fly to KL and stay there for a weekend. The new part of the hotel is beautifully done, but the old and original part is magnificent - especially the Spa-building with Macintosh ornaments and furniture. The greenhouse with Orchids is a great place for a high-tea. The staff is very professional and you feel they are very excited to all have started on making this new luxury hotel regain its historic status! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillemSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. We are honored that you flew in to KL to stay with us and we are delighted to read that it was an unforgettably nice experience. Thank you for this excellent review and we look forward to your next visit for more unforgettable and majestic moments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

we visited the Majestic for drinks and dinner after we were told by the tour guide that this hotel was one of the most prestigious hotels in south east asia at the time! the new wing is just badly designed, we did not care much about the food and beverage and service as we were expecting to visit a piece of history, the restoration of the original old wing is poorly done, no attention to details, the craftsmanship is just wishy-washy, its mind boggling to think that the owners did not have an eye to detail.

Room Tip: check the orchids tea garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Greetings from the team at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your recent visit. We appreciate your comments and views as this allows us to improve our guest experience. We hope to have the future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A heritage hotel marvelously well restored. It has a grand entrance and spacious lobby. There are many areas for lounging around in comfortable sofas and armchairs. The new wing emotes modernity while the old wing brings you back to an era past, with an associated grace. The Art Deco furniture, china, wooden and mosaic floors evoke from the guest a sense of colonial English ambience in the tropics with the comfort of climate controlled air conditioning. It's a comfortable 22C here while it is 33C outside.

We had breakfast in the new wing. Fairly good spread, served piping hot though it did not come out at 6:30am as indicated. Service staff are all very friendly and this seemed to be a hallmark of YTL resort hotels. They do aim to please. When our tea was served too concentrated, they kindly brought over a fresh pot.

We had a room in the new wing. Modern, comfortable, with a firm lounger. The bathroom is part of the room, with only a sleek glass partition - the toilet afforded no privacy. Choose your roommate carefully as every intimate moment is exposed.

You have to experience afternoon tea in the Tea Lounge in the Old Wing. A delectable spread, well presented on old world china. There is a lovely orchid arboretum where you can have tea or a meal at a surcharge. You cannot go in to have a closer look beyond the locked glass doors. How unfortunate! This the management should consider to open it to all resident guests.

Our spa experience was pleasant, with a complimentary foot bath at the beginning. The decor of the spa is truly branded, this makes for an exquisite welcome.

We will certainly go back again. We are frequent guests of YTL hotels - Malacca, Pangkor Laut and Tanjong Jara; this latest addition does not disappoint. We like all of them. Majestic Hotel KL is immediately accessible to the Highway, no need to be stuck in the city congested traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Greetings from the team at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for posting such a marvelous review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback and your insights, which we use to improve the quality of our guest experience. Thank you for giving us the recent opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had afternoon tea at the tea lounge, RM78++ for 2pax. It is so impressive atmosphere - elegant, classic & colonial feel. It is a great place to have chatting with friends. Tea & bites are served beautifully but to be honest, I had some disappointments of what we were served. I was expected to select tea leaves....but tea was served as a cameron teabag. In order to have tea leaves, we have to add RM30++. As for bites are very normal, nothing much to comment. Since it is charged this price, hopefully this part is improving. Great atmosphere with friendly but professional staff, I had a pleasant afternoon with my friend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, Manager at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Greetings from all of us at The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur. Thank you for your recent visit to the Tea Lounge. We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us which will help us improve our customer experience. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant afternoon with your friend and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.9 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
9,649 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
6,926 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
2,562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
0.5 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 5, Jalan Sultan Hishamuddin, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur was built in the 1930s and was ranked as one of Southeast Asia's grandest hotels. Re-opening in December 2012, the hotel is poised to reclaim this former glory; its piece-de-resistance will be The Majestic Wing, whose Neo-Classical details have been meticulously restored. An annexe, housing the majority of the plush rooms, was designed to complement the historic building. A spa has been designed in art-deco fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing