We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shandar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shandar
Ranked #253 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good room for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed there for a week and it was a good experience! I stayed on the 3rd floor. Internet was very fast. Room was spacious. Location of the hotel is very good and a lot of local shops are nearby.
Breakfast was very basic but ok. They didn't have a large room for breakfast but it wasn't too bad.
I think it's good for the money you pay. If you want better service then you need to look for higher ratings hotels but you will pay at least twice what you pay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    5
    0
    7
See reviews for
4
3
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

First impression was OK but as time went by, I encountered a lot problems.
Firstly, the internet connection is the worse you can imagine. The wireless unit was found almost everywhere located on the ceiling on each floor but on the 5th. floor, it was useless. I complained to the reception about 3/4 times and the problem still went unresolved. The IT personnel was arrogant.....thinking that I didn't know one bit about networking or internet connection. A lot of air but no action. The problem went unresolved until I checked out the following day.
Secondly, the air conditioning in my room was leaking water. When I complained to the reception, they said they will sent somebody up to my room to check or do something but it went unheard.
Thirdly, I almost stepped on a rusty nail which was right under my bed. It shows that the room was not properly cleaned and inspected.
Finally, the service was bad. I had to go down to reception from the 5th. floor for about 3 to 4 times for each problem that I had and in the end........no action was taken and I just gave up on everything about this hotel.
I checked out and went home thinking to myself that this will be my First and the Last time I'll be staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another hotel if you can. You deserve better than what I had to go through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JMP234JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

First of all we had a problem with keys from our room. At the reception they refused to give us 3 key. It was very uncomfortable for us, because each of us need a personal key. Then we asked it, staff was very unfriendly, they interrupting me, it was awful. So I call manager.
Each request was like the battle.
For example we asked to clean our room and left for the day. We returned late and was weary.... We found our room had not been cleaned.
After all... all staff didn't greet us, they doesn't appreciate their guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HannahVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Every day in this hotel was with problems like this:
- I call to reseption and tell - "Today housekeepers don't bring for me toilet paper" - "OK, we will bring it" - but they don't do it.
- I ask to cleen my room in morning, and when I return it evening, it's dirty.
- I ask to bring for me water (becouse they tell that I can have complimentary bottle of water every day) - they don't do it...
Reseptionists are very rough, don't listen for the clients, loudly interrupted.

Room was not bed - small, but clean, bed was good.

Room Tip: in room 505 good view and more comfortable chower
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda_Meier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

So I was here on my visa run, and my first time in KL. The staff is friendly and always have a smile on their faces which is nice. The room was small, but it was clean and the bathroom was clean as well with a nice pressure in shower. Bed is very comfortable and soft. Wifi worked great as well, but the torrents are blocked. The location is hard to tell, since I dont know anything about KL, but the little I experienced is that its about 10 minutes walk from the closest monorail station. And about 5 minutes car ride from the Twin Towers. I paid around 90 ringgit for one night, and it was with breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it was quite tame, and it was not that good. Some local food with noodles, instead of a normal breakfast.

There is a small shop just next door where you can buy stuff, and a 7/11 not so far away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Everdeen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

hotel staffs are nice and always greet you with a smile.. the room is clean and spacious with nice view of twin towers.. there's a good size cabinet, mini fridge, complimentary coffee/tea and biscuits, and nice a/c.. located near the twintowers and there's a kfc and 711 store nearby.. when we went out at night, the receptionist was helpful and had given us an advise about getting a taxi to avoid being ripped off by drivers... :) they still havent opened their restaurant yet so we didnt have our breakfast but they will give you a voucher for nearby cafeterias...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club Dolphin
Hotel Club Dolphin
#209 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.1 mi away
Arenaa Star Hotel
Arenaa Star Hotel
#181 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Tune Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#78 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
ibis Styles Kuala Lumpur Fraser Business Park
1.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shandar

Property: Hotel Shandar
Address: No. 3 Jalan Tiong Nam | Off Jalan Raja Laut, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia (Formerly Elenga Hotels)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Shandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing