We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Christmas Gathering”
Review of Mosaic

Mosaic
Ranked #56 of 5,472 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: KLCC
Description: One of the best all-day dining restaurants in Kuala Lumpur, Mosaic serves a delicious mix of local and international cuisine, complemented by interactive live cooking stations and a large dessert bar. Presented in cast iron pans, woks and copper pots or served in individual portions, dishes include Indian classics such as tandoori chicken, Japanese sushi and sashimi, and Chinese dim sum and stir-fries. To complete the experience an open kitchen offers authentic barbecued specialities. Overlooking KLCC Park, the restaurant's elegant interior reflects the Peranakan culture with intricate hanging pewter lights and beautiful mosaic walls. In addition, Mosaic has two semi private dining rooms, seating up to 10 guests each.
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

I have dined here many times before but on Sunday night I got some family friends to dine together. The spread @ Mosaic never disappoints. Although many have commented on the steep price of the buffet here but I think the deco, ambience and the wide choice of selections will make up for it!
If you want an introduction of Malaysian food in a nice environment, Mosaic it is!
My guests and I had a splendid evening of good food and great company.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank P9823VTsueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017

Dear Sue H

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Mosaic and thank you for your generous feedback on our food, wide selection of buffet spread, deco as well as the ambience of the restaurant.

Thank you for your recommendation of our restaurant and greatly appreciate your loyal support towards Mosaic.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your guests back again for another memorable and delightful dining experience.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 611 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2016

We were at the M/O twice for Christmas Eve and won't go again. Both times it had the atmosphere of a fast food outfit and the charm of an airport hangar. Of course, Christmas Eve is a busy time and the hotel tries to milk it for what it can, but instead of packing people in like sardines they should have simply doubled the price.
As it is, it wasn't cheap and not worth the money. We'd rather pay more for better quality and service.

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016

Being an Elite Club member, my family and I dine here quite often. Although not a great fan of buffets, I like the salad and dessert areas for their variety. Would be better if the dishes will change more often. The service in general is good, but the staffs in the grill stand is not so proactive in asking customers if they want to be served - maybe the only downside in their service.

Apparently being a Halal restaurant, they can only serve the sweet Chinese soy sauce for the sashimi, which is inevitable, but simply not Japanese. Nowadays, there are Halal Japanese soy sauce, so they should look for suppliers.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zohei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2016

Dear zohei

Thank you for your kind patronage at Mosaic.

We have taken note of comments on the buffet menu rotation, sweet soy sauce and less than attentive staffs at the grill section. Please allow us to share with you that we have majority of our buffet selections change daily for a diverse array of food offerings to our guests. Rest assured that I have shared your other comments with our Executive Chef for his remedial action for improvement.

Greatly appreciate your loyal support towards Mandarin Oriental Kuala Lumpur and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016

A delight for the foodies. The buffet was a marvelous fusion of the east and west cuisine. You can even request steaks, lamb or fish to be cooked the way you want it. I did not eat much of the fresh oysters since they did not look so fresh, but they tasted fresh and yummy enough when I tasted them. We had fun tasting all the soups and vegetables which were a real delight. The price is bit on the high side but really worth it.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Dear samrcd8

It is a pleasure to receive your great feedback on our buffet spread at Mosaic which I look forward to share with our colleagues as it will certainly motivate them further in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2016 via mobile

It's great selection range
From China to Morocco
And all in great taste
Personally I tried the Indian Dhal ,the Salmon, the salads and the Burger and the Arabic bread with humus and Arabic Mazah all was more than great

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank MohammedR438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, General Manager at Mosaic, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2016

Dear Mohammed R

We are delighted to read your positive feedback on Mosaic and I will share your appreciation with the team.

It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming back to the restaurant again soon!

Yours sincerely
Frank Stocek
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosaic also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing