We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This brand new Hyatt is right in the financial centre of KL. The area itself is a little soulless but the stunning views of the Petronas Towers and KLCC Park make up for this. It's also a five-minute walk from KLCC LRT. I really wanted to love this hotel but found that I couldn't quite. Here's why:

Rooms: lots of space, and comfortable, but I couldn't get used to the layout (shower and bath directly behind the bed). Also, the bath was too small.

Club: great views, but service was patchy (and nowhere near as friendly as, say, the Grand Hyatt Bangkok). Also, F&B was average at best (limited selection of red wine and the Bircher Muesli at breakfast was almost inedible).

Pool: great place to relax and have a drink. However, the outdoor changing room wasn't fully-equipped (e.g. no towels, pool shoes or toiletries provided). Also, nowhere to sit down when you're changing.

Check-in: the one part of my stay that was genuinely five-star. The lady who checked me in was friendly, polite and I really did feel 'more than welcome'. Good work.

Details: I am a Platinum member yet didn't even receive any fruit in my room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in here and other forums. We too find the views of the Twin Towers and the Park stunning!

We are glad you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at the pool. Our team should have directed you to the primary changing room at the spa, which is fully-equipped with a sauna, whirlpool, steam room, showers, and all the toiletries and amenities you were expecting, rather than the outdoor changing room near the children’s pool. We are working with our spa and pool staff on how to appropriately direct the guest to the proper facility, in order to avoid this inconvenience in the future.

We are also thrilled to hear that the check-in process met all your expectations. We have recognised the team member involved for her excellent efforts, and have used this as an example to train other Front Desk staff.

We apologize that the service in the Grand Club was inconsistent during your stay, and will coach the team on providing more consistent and friendly service. Our Chef has also made changes to the Bircher Muesli, so we hope on your return you see a big improvement!

We appreciate your participation in the Hyatt Gold Passport program, and as a Platinum member you should have received a welcome amenity in your room. We are sorry that we missed this and will ensure that this is corrected for your future stays.

Thank you again for all the valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel so you can experience these improvements first-hand.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,851
    485
    111
    36
    27
See reviews for
547
746
133
753
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
280 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel in central KL is undoubtedly 5 star with some curious missing bits. My room was "company rate" and therefore no complimentary wifi. If Starbucks and MacDonald gives you wifi, maybe a 5 star hotel can do also. The other was no phone charger (must be a very common request). The check in on the top floor is interesting but the hotel (at least my room) did not have any views to speak of. The room design is also a little unusual (there are 2 ways to the bed area) and I am not sure it is an improvement of the usual design but it is a nice try. Lovely wood and marble floor rather than stupid carpet (this is the tropics!). Curiously also the airconditioning is not easy to calibrate. Maybe it is just me. Bed usual 5 star standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

the rooms have a nice modern design, layout is good and ample space for lounging around comfy bed good shower etc. however the need to transfer lifts in order to get from ground floor to room gets pretty annoying after awhile. walls seem to be really thin, could hear the neighbour's tap extremely clearly. room service was not consistent, even when we left the 'please make up room' sign on, the room was not made up even after returning 4 hours later. also, we requested for a wake up call and it was given an hour earlier than requested.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the construction site if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilybulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Check-In Process:
Check-in counters are located at the top floor, 39th level, with a 360 degree view of KL city. The first impression was great; however, if you were to stay at the hotel for a couple of days, you’ll find it a hassle having to travel from ground level to 39th level to transfer another lift serving the hotel rooms.

Room Condition:
The room was spacious and the design layout was very well-thought of. There is a speaker dock station for iphone. In general, the room was clean but I found a strand of hair on the bed and a stain on the pillow cover.

Internet:
There is no free wi-fi in the hotel room and not even at the lobby. Access to the pc stations at the business centre is chargeable too.

Breakfast:
Upon checking in, the hotel staff would politely inform guests that breakfast is one level down on 38th level. We overlooked our reservation didn’t include breakfast and was charged RM157 for two. The range & quality of food were good, and the view was magnificent. We encountered another cleanliness issue at the cafe; one of the plates we picked up wasn’t thoroughly cleaned.

Facilities:
The fitness centre comes with the gym, jacuzzi, sauna & steam room.

Environment:
5 minutes walk to KLCC and 10 minutes walk to Pavilion via air-conditioned bridge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAmazingWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We planned a weekend getaway in KL and my boyfriend was attracted to the advert. After doing some basic survey, we thought this is a pretty nice place even though the cost had me hesitating quite a bit. However I have to say it was worth it! The service provided was impeccable and the breakfast was awesome. There were many different things on their menu compared to the usual continental breakfast fare. Location is strategic and the idea of the lobby to be on the top floor quite astounding because you check in to a 360 view of KL skyline with KLCC and KL Tower in sight.

The room itself was spacious and luxurious. I love the small wardrobe provided instead of the normal cupboard. Also love the small vanity table with chair for me to do my thing while my other half can do his at other spot without having to keep bumping into each other.

It was a real surprise to know that even though I am from KL, I did not know that there was a bridge (Sky Bridge) which connects KLCC all the way to Pavilion. There were exits along the way and, also with the air-condition, makes for a really nice walk. One such exit is right across the road from Grand Hyatt.

After walking back from Pavilion at night, we thought to have a their Signature Cake at 38 (rest located at the 38th floor which panoramic view of KL at night) and while there although quite full, managed to garner a nice enough bar seat to watch a live-band performance and boy, were they good. The cake was beautifully presented and absolutely scrumptious.

My only critique was in them serving me an ice-cream like dessert (at 38) which was at a nearly-melted stage. This was feedback to the manager and struck off our bill. Also the swimming pool area did not overlook a very nice view as it is surrounded by sky-scrapers however that can't be helped, I guess.

Needless to say we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves but definitely not for those with a a budget.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a view of KLCC
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pui_Saan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel is very nice and is the newest in KL. The gym and pool are excellent and there is excellent hot tub, sauna and steam room for guests. The staff are also very good and attentive. Its location is good for the central KL - it is s hort walk to KLCC Suraia shopping mall (Under the Petronas twin towers) where there is a large selection of food.

At the same time the new walk way that connects KLCC to the Pavillion shopping complex (where there are bars, shisha bars and more places to eat in Bukit Bintang) is also at your door step.

The rooms are very nice with a separate changing room.

The quirky thing about the hotel is that the lobby area is on the top floor. this is nice in that where you have breakfast, and the bar in the evening provides you with fantastic views of KL and the twin towers. The quirky thing is that you always have to go to the top floor first and then down again to your room. Which takes a little getting used to but generally the lifts are quick.

The only downside is the expense of the hotel. For the price in KL you would expect internet and breakfast to be included. They are not and both are expensive. Luckily given the proximity to the shopping malls, where you can get free wifi in cafes, this can be avoided. But it is not ideal.

Apart from that a great hotel!

Room Tip: There is construction going on around the hotel so ask for a room on the side of the twin towers or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Brand spanking new, rooms well thought out and comfortable.
Grand suite was spacious and luxurious.
Grand club served good quality food and drinks.
Service was impeccable and all staff strove to make our stay very welcoming and personal.
Room amenities in the suite was from "June Jacobs" .
Super convenient location, 7 minute walk to KLCC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YinChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Property: Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel that is strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. The hotel is within walking distance to some of the city's premier destinations such as the Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, KLCC Park, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Pavilion Kuala Lumpur Shopping Centre, Bukit Bintang and many more. Features 412 guestrooms including 42 suites, three vibrant dining options, seven highly versatile meetings and events space, Essa Spa, 24-hour fitness centre and an outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded with lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing