We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Latest 5* business hotel in Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Latest 5* business hotel in Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Brand new hotel so everything is sparkling. Views from the rooms and public areas are panoramic. Service and food quality from the 2 restaurants are good if limited. However the location is central and there is a nearby walkway that connects to some fabulous shopping malls. Staff still need training for the details. There was a fruit seed on the carpet in the corridor for over 36 hours, a cake had visible patch marks where the icing was a slightly different colour! Instructions left with the hotel was not carried out. Lift sistem of going UP to the Lobby and DOWN to the rooms is a little confusing and results in going into the wrong lift if brain is on standby.
I will give this hotel a bit of time to shape up. However US$200 is a pretty good price to compensate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,931
    507
    113
    37
    28
See reviews for
576
782
139
781
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Please read to the end - it's important.
If you look back at my contributions you will see I stay at Hyatt's a great deal. I think I regarded "trip advisor" - initially - as a forum to bleat. Recently I have mellowed and recognized that it is indeed a place to be constructive about good and bad.
Then I met the Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur.
It is a huge hotel. 39 floors of ascent before you even reach the lobby!
The views are pretty special. The rooms are pretty special. The pool area and restaurant are pretty special. Everything is pretty special.
Then you meet the spectacular.
The service.
That "extra mile" doesn't quite do justice to my experience.
Let me explain.
In 2011 I had a serious health problem and now take tablets every day. The trip I am on at the moment has resulted in my supply running "pretty low". I asked the hotel if they could help find some replenishments.
Due to the nature of the tablets the concierge encountered several obstacles getting me them. I finally said I would get them at the airport when leaving KL.
Imagine my extraordinary surprise and, quite honestly, humility when a member of the staff chased me across KL to meet me at the train station to deliver the tablets they had managed to track down.
These weren't even mine - they had actually bought them for me!
I won't name the individual that did this - he knows who he is. But in a single act he made me feel both humble and gratitude.
Buildings are easy to build.
Service is not.
The Grand Hyatt KL might have the foundations of being a Great Hyatt.
And with service, genuine service, they deserve it

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UltroneousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The rooms are lovely, the views are lovely, the location is great, check in was reasonably swift and efficient but service at the lobby lounge was patchy, the staff did not go out of their way to be helpful, there were cleaners in clear view with buckets and mops and the offerings were inflexible with fixed times when you can order deserts and a total refusal to serve bar snacks or other food from the restaurant one floor down. Why can't I order tit bits with my drinks? Listen to your customer and go out of your way to meet his requirements so long as its not dangerous or illegal. You're a five star hotel, serve your guests!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is my first visit staying at this hotel and I have a mix feeling about it. The rooms are nice and big, with great color scheme. It gives you a nice cozy feeling but it looses the touch of elegance that I come to know of the Grand Hyatt brand. Maintaining the room is questionable as there are already scratch marks, chipped pieces from the bed frame..........not maintained well for a hotel that just opened.

I have to stay the view from the 39th floor is spectacular but I did not like that we have to take the elevator up to the sky lobby and then another set of elevators down to where the rooms are located. Not sure what designer was thinking but it sure is a waste of time.

Service wise, Jean and Michael at the reception desk are friendly and accommodating. Always smiling which is a good thing. At the restaurants, most staffs are friendly and accommodating. However, an unpleasant experience from a waiter staff that came to my table and just placing a folder on the table with no greetings or explanation. When he came back for the invoice, he came, grabbed it and left. So much for personal touch.

Would I come back again? Perhaps.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohsenglye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have stayed here couple times for about a week long trip. Beds are comfortable, the shower and bed set up in the middle of the room is really neat and building materials are nice. Plenty of room with walk in closet. Fast internet even on VPN. Good food but in room dining options are limited in quantity. Plenty of English TV channels. Vacuumed and swept each day. Very cool pool and pool side. Best in local hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jws_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Golden Triangle of Kuala Lumpur, therefore, it is unbeatable. The newly built air conditioned walkway which connects a major shopping mall called Pavilion on Bukit Bintang is just a few steps away. The hotel is also linked with KLCC a major convention centre, nice garden with joggers track, etc. Twin tower view from rooms is fantastic. The rooms are very stylishly done up with host of high tech features. However, what I did not like was moving up and down various lifts walk through reception to go down, come up and again go down. It remained disturbing throughout my stay. Another aspect is staff training. I think a few of them have a long way to go in terms of service delivery. As a Platinum Goldpassport card member I requested for a higher floor room while making my booking but very surprisingly the room allotted at check-in was on one of the lowest floors of the hotel. Choice of food offered on buffet was just alright. However, food served on the ground floor eatery called JP Teres was delicious. I would go with three out of five at this stage and may not come back soon to this place in the near future.

Room Tip: Twin Tower view room recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bablu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days for business meeting but never felt stressed out coz every corner you see the beautiful twin towers, theres well lit buildings at night , misty morning sights with mountains from afar when youre on the top floor.. courteous and accomodating staff .. great music in their lounge to unwind and breathtaking Petronas View at the lobby and bedroom .

Room Tip: get the room facing the Petronas Twin towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,723 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
6,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
718 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Property: Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel that is strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. The hotel is within walking distance to some of the city's premier destinations such as the Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, KLCC Park, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Pavilion Kuala Lumpur Shopping Centre, Bukit Bintang and many more. Features 412 guestrooms including 42 suites, three vibrant dining options, seven highly versatile meetings and events space, Essa Spa, 24-hour fitness centre and an outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded with lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing