We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay here!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a great stay here at the Grand Hyatt, KL.

Booked a suite overlooking the Twin Towers and Park. This was perfect for watching the New Year's fireworks.
The suite itself was extremely spacious in every respect.

We had some issues with housekeeping, capuccino machine in-suite. These were corrected as our stay progressed.

The suite gave us access to the Grand Club. The club also has amazing views! Breakfast in the club was pretty much the same every day (for a vegetarian). If you eat meat, they had lots of choices. Happy hour from 6-8Pm every day.

The lobby is in the 38th floor. You do have to go to the lobby first (go up on the elevators from your room), then go down to the ground level in different elevators. This amps up the security aspect.

For New years eve, the hotel had tight security and no one was let in unless they had a reservation of some sort in the hotel.

Hotel room service was so-so (food taste). We did mention it to the chefs.

The Essa Spa is excellent! Well maintained and well run. We had great treatments here!

Overall, a luxurious place to stay if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Walk outside the hotel and get a regular taxi. The hotel only provides "executive taxis" w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,787
    469
    111
    36
    27
See reviews for
527
720
128
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have stayed in KL Hilton, Shangri-La, Mandarin Oriental and Traders...Grand Hyatt has the best rooms by far - modern, well designed. We stayed in room 2209 which was a Corner Deluxe with a great view, and also had a twin adjoining room. We arrived at around 3pm for checkin - hotel obviously has some teething problems as it is ramping up as it took about 30 minutes or so for us to get into the Corner Deluxe, and couldnt get in the twin adjoining room for about 90 minutes. We knew hotel was ramping up, so we werent too bothered - Hanson Leong the front office manager gave us his personal attention, profusely apologised and delivered us a bottle of red wine and various sweets and biscuits by way of apology. I live in KL and was staying in the Grand Hyatt as we had our work Annual Dinner in the ballroom. Breakfast was great - nice selection - fruit juices were not great though. Pool was great size and nicely spaced out deckchairs. Will definitely be recommending business visitors stay here (my prior recommendation to visitors was Traders, but that is getting a bit tired now)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

the grand hyatt lived up to its reputation , a very efficient and warm welcome from the lovely staff , minimal fuss at check in . our room was clean and had all the ameneties , the location was good , really enjoyed the breakfast , a great choice of food , highly reccommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emily b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
150 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nice brand-new building (only opened last year 2012) and one of the ritziest and swankiest in KL. Located is superb, along Jalan Pinang, and it’s within minutes away from the Bukit Bintang shopping district and KLCC. But one of the main drawbacks is the traffic congestion along Jalan Pinang during peak hours especially after a downpour.

Upon entering the building, you will be taking a high speed lift to the lobby level on the 39th floor (your ears will be popping more often than not) with superb 360 degree views of the KL skyline (especially the Petronas Twin Towers) from the main lobby. Lobby was certainly grand with elegant interiors. BUT it can get a bit annoying having to take a lift to the lobby and another lift down to your room. You will be taking another lift (your 3rd one) if you park your car at the basement.

We checked into the Grand View Deluxe room (for 2 nights) to spend New Year’s eve. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spacious, luxuriously furnished with windows from the floor to ceiling giving great views of the Twin towers (only if your room is facing it). However, the sunlight from the bathroom (no blackouts there) shines quite brightly through the frosted window into the bedroom and that could affect those who prefer an absolutely darkened room during sleep time.

The swimming pool is spacious and resort-like. Around 1.2m deep, there’s a café next to the pool and feels resort-like but for the surrounding skyscrapers. Gym is well equipped and accessible 24 hours.

The food at JP Teres (located on the ground floor) is decent even by local Malaysian standards. Satay was well marinated and grilled. Chicken rice was decent with the meat being succulent and the rice fragrant. Nasi lemak was also decent, with the squid sambal and the curry chicken tasty enough.

However, upon checking in, everything JUST WENT ABSOLUTELY DOWNHILL:-

1. Waited 30 minutes for our luggage to be delivered but the wrong luggage was sent up. First time we’ve experienced such a mix up and we have to wait a further 30 minutes for the correct luggage to be sent up.
2. We booked the room more than 2 months ago specifying that we require an additional bed (we were travelling as a family of 3). Being aware that the New Year period could be a bit chaotic, we again reminded them 1 month before our stay. During our check in, we reminded them AGAIN about the additional bed and were assured that the request is in their “system” and the bed would be delivered. So, that’s 3 times we’ve notified them. We got back at 9pm after dinner and the additional bed was still not brought up. Sensing something’s NOT right, we called not once, but 3 times – and each time we were informed that “they will get back to us”. BUT still no calls from them nor were there any additional bed in sight. We were then finally informed at 10pm that there was NO EXTRA BED AVAILABLE and that it was only available on a first come first serve basis. WE WERE ABSOLUTELY HORRIFIED. WE WERE FACING THE PROSPECT OF ONE OF US HAVING TO SLEEP IN A SMALL COUCH. My wife insisted on speaking to the Duty Manager (I would assume that he was already having a really tough evening but he was still polite when handling this situation). Reminded him that this was absolutely UNACCEPTABLE. In our frustration, we were even considering checking out but this was absolutely out of the question having to travel out of this area when it was just less than 2 hours before New Year’s celebration. Furthermore, our 9 year old daughter was very affected and distressed over this incident. Finally, the Duty Manager called again and confirmed that an additional bed would be delivered. Although that issue was resolved, this OUTRAGEOUS incident was absolutely UNNECESSARY and UNACCEPTABLE. We were SO ANGRY and ENRAGED over this incident which had caused so much of anxiety (especially to our young daughter). We were looking forward to spend a special evening together as a family in “supposedly” the best hotel (and most expensive one too) in KL until this incident very nearly ruined our experience. What a way to start the new year?!!!
3. OK – additional bed issue now resolved. So, we thought – let’s just enjoy (or salvage) whatever is the remaining 90 minutes before the New Year. We had some guests in our room and requested for ice, water and glasses. They only brought in the ice 1 full hour later (minus the water and glass). I again requested for water (twice) in 2012 and it arrived only in the year 2013. Forgive my pun! This was so embarrassing especially when we had guests with us.
4. For reasons unknown to me, the bed was uncomfortably hard and the pillows were so soft with absolutely no support at all. It felt like I wasn’t even resting my head on any pillow. We didn’t bother requesting for extra pillows that night as it was already late and do not wish to be made to wait for it.
5. The tea cups in the room are chipped. For some strange reason, a working kettle was exchanged by housekeeping for one that didn’t work. Coffee packets were not replaced. The ice box was not even removed the next day by housekeeping. The slippers were not re-arranged and were left as it is on the floor. There were obviously 3 of us in the room but only 2 bath towels available – had to request for the 3rd one.

You’ve got a nice hotel building with beautiful interiors in an excellent location. The staff was polite and I do sympathize with them having to face such strain and pressure (especially during such a busy period). Clearly, the management should seriously look into such shortcomings and provide adequate training. There was an apparent lack of staff and the service was clearly chaotic and disorganized. Many improvements are required to be made before this hotel is entitled to call itself a GRAND Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Brand new, swanky hotel in a great location in downtown Kuala Lumpur. The rooms were super modern, fantastic views of the park & towers, excellent swimming pool, and delicious food in the restaurant and pool bar. 2 minor complaints - the beds were a bit too firm, and every time you wanted to leave the building, you had to take the elevator up to the lobby on the highest floor and transfer to another elevator to take you back down to the ground floor...which got annoying if you forgot something in your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flakaroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I would like to share my experience during stay recently.

1. Dust bin has not been cleaned when I checked in the room.
2. Requested smoking room however ash tray was not set up in the room
3. Coffee during beakfast no staff proactively asked for the second coffee
They just ignore my order for the second coffee until I needed to remind.
It takes about 20 min. to serve
4. At hotel entrance, guests need to open the heavy door by ourselves due to shortage of staff to
look after opening the door.
5. Reception forgot to return my credit card upon check out until I asked for it.
6. Variety of food selection for breakfast is limited.

Overall it spoiled their brand name charging higher than Mandarin Oriental KL.
I don't recommend this hotel to anybody until all settled down due to just opened hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazu_tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and I decided to spend the weekend in our neighboring country and we've heard that the Grand Hyatt has recently opened. Therefore, we decided to check it out. Firstly, making the reservation was a breeze and on arrival, we were amazed at its decor and concept, in which the lobby is located on 38F. It offers such a spectacular view of the twin towers that for the first time, I wish they took longer to check us in!

I was practically jumping with joy when we were assigned a room facing the twin towers. The receptionist told me that he could see that I enjoyed the view very much as I was busy snapping photos of it. So, he took the liberty to assign us that room. I wish I was as observant as he was so that I could note down his name.

In an essence, we were very impressed by the state of art facilities in the room, the delicious local cuisine in JP Teres and not forgetting all the smiles that greeted us everywhere we go. The hotel is within walking distance to a few major shopping malls therefore, there is no need to spend on taxi fare - another plus point!

Only down side is that for the amount paid, I would expect WIFI to be inclusive.

Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahlim874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
9,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
6,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
2,400 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Property: Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel that is strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. The hotel is within walking distance to some of the city's premier destinations such as the Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, KLCC Park, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Pavilion Kuala Lumpur Shopping Centre, Bukit Bintang and many more. Features 412 guestrooms including 42 suites, three vibrant dining options, seven highly versatile meetings and events space, Essa Spa, 24-hour fitness centre and an outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded with lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing