We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so cute”
Review of SS City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SS City Hotel
Ranked #276 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the standard queen room. It's a very small room, but I loved it. It's so cozy, with clean bedding, good lighting. There isn't much floor space to walk (you can only get into bed on one side) but it wasn't a problem as there is plenty of storage under the bed. The shower is very clean. The host was friendly and humorous, they give you free waters with the room, it's close to the 14th largest mall in the world (if you're into shopping) and the train station. My only complain is that the walls are quite thin, so we heard people talking in the halls.

Room Tip: As for the standard queen room: it's good for a no-frills, budget couple. Not much floor space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sehow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 58 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night but we were very impressed. Whilst it is a little more expensive than other 'budget' hotels, it doesn't feel like a budget hotel. The room, whilst compact, was very clean and looked good. The staff, especially a guy called Kevin, were friendly and helpful and the location is extremely good. I would stay here again if I was to revisit KL.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The service staff (Ken) is friendly and helpful. Even though there is no free parking available, there are ample lots just outside the hotel at only 80sen per hour which is really affordable. The towels are new and fresh, the pillows are fluffy, the toilet is sparkling clean. The room is small but it is cosy and adequate. Free wifi and cable tv works well. It is only 5 mins walk from the shopping district. One cannot ask for more at just RM100 per night. I'll be back !

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyewchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannylp16, General Manager at SS City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing SS City Hotel for your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur, and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

I hope to see you again for your next trip.

Sincerely,
Mr Danny Tee
General Manager
SS City Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Well, what can I say.. The location is perfect! The staff is very nice and tried to help as much as they could do when we saw that the room was WAY to small to fit us and our luggage. I`m not kidding, the room we got didn`t even fit our luggage at the floor-space avalible. They had one big room avaible (the one they have at the pictures at this site) they showed us the day after, but at that time we already desided to move to another hotel. And yeah, be sure you only book/pay for one day if you have not been there before, - it was not possible to get money back for the three days we desided not to stay there. (We booked and paid trough Agoda, Agoda policy)

Funny thing - we got the "Hello Kitty"-room in second floor the one night we desided to stay. Even if the room was small as the toilet in a submarine, we had a laugh. I felt like a 7 year old girl again. And my boyfriend felt like a pedofile, hahah...! ;-)

But to sum up - the room was clean, had everything (tv,phone,aircon,drinking water) and if you dont need much space, this is perfect..! And since the staff tried to do everything to help us find a bigger room, I`ll give them extra points for their effort. Free Wifi!

(To girls/shoppers: The biggest shoppingmalls in KL are just 15 meters from the hotel. Go wild!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannylp16, General Manager at SS City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing SS City Hotel for your recent stay in Kuala Lumpur. I hope you enjoyed your trip in Malaysia.

I was truly delighted to know that you are happy with our service and rest assured we will attend to each request at the best we can to fulfill every guest’s expectations.

It is unfortunate that you have decided to cut short your stay with us. However, I truthfully hope to have the chance to serve you again for your next trip to Kuala Lumpur as we do have larger and more spacious rooms, while maintaining its affordability pricing.

Thank you once again from all of us at SS City Hotel, and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.


Sincerely,
Mr Danny Tee
General Manager
SS City Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

After staying most of our time in 5 star hotels, I considered - based on the ratings here - to give it a try and have chosen this hotel.

Thinking about the cheap rates, I was really extremely surprised, what we got for the money,
We've stayed the first night in a standard twin room (about 6 sqm?) and switched the 2nd night into the King size.

Depending on your needs, both of the rooms are more the enough to explore KL so I can't imagine which service can ba added on top for 100 bucks additionally, which you have to pay in other upperclass hotels in KL.

Perfect selection for KL - would recommend it without any remarks.

On top - Wifi is for free and really fast.

On point to keep in mind - Friday to Saturday is obviously party night in K, so rates are little bit higher and it could be louder late night as on other days.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Invocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannylp16, General Manager at SS City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Warm Greetings from SS City Hotel!

First of all, we wish to thank you for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We always strive to upkeep our rooms to our best ability so that you can have a good night rest. To us, low rates do not necessary means we need to cut corners. Your review will definitely motivate all of us here.

We do hope to see you again in the future. Cheers!

Best regards from all of us at SS City Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here just one night earlier this week. The hotel is well-located, being just a short walk down the hill from Imbi monorail station. It also has a 7/11 and several restaurants, cafes nearby. The reception staff were friendly & efficient and the hotel has a lift. The room was clean & tidy, but the very comfortable queen-sized bed nearly took up the entire room. I stayed alone but if i had my partner with me she wouldn't have been able to get out of the bed without clambering over the top of me. The wi-fi didn't work so well & the LCD TV only had a handful of channels, and only ESPN and Cinemax in English. The bathroom was also tiny but had hot water & nice big towels. I would suggest this hotel is only suitable for a short stay (1-2 days) and only for solo travellers, unless they have bigger rooms, as there is hardly any room for luggage. I would rate it a 5-6/10.

Room Tip: There was construction work going on opposite the hotel when i stayed there which could be noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wally3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannylp16, General Manager at SS City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

First of all, we'd like to thank you for your review. We appreciate that you enjoyed staying in our hotel. We pride ourselves in maintaining the cleanliness and making sure that all our guests have a good nite sleep in our comfortable beds.

We acknowledged the fact that most of our rooms are not as spacious as we would like them to be. However, depending on one's budget, we do have much bigger rooms to offer. Apart from the Deluxe Queen rooms, we also have the Deluxe Kings and also a Business Suite that offers bigger beds and space. In weeks to come, we will open our Penthouse; which is a Duplex room with its own jacuzzi!

So, we in the future, we do hope to see you and your friend to come and stay with us again. We will still offer you the best value in town.

And once again, thank you for staying with us.

Till we meet again, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I love staying at budget accommodations and SS City Hotel is one of few that I would like to revisit (when I'm visiting KL again). Here's why

It's a stone throw from Berjaya Times Square and Imbi monorail station. A little further and its Sungei Wang / Pavilion Mall (there's a new covered aircon walkway that links to KLCC Twin Towers). That makes SS City Hotel a ideal stay for those who are planning to do a lot of shopping or sightseeing at KL.

Our room was tiny but well designed to utilize the room space. Even for a big size Asian like me, it doesn't feel cramp or claustrophobic. Our room was well lighted and the deco design in the room looks very cheery. There's window in the rooms too (It provides ventilation and many budget hotels rooms are windowless)

Another important feature for travelers these days would be the free wifi. SS City Hotel provides them and it works well in our room.

Last but not least , there's lift in this hotel. Another feature that's missing from many other budget hotels nearby. It comes in handy when you got huge luggage or many shopping bags to lug back up to the room.

SS City Hotel might be a bit pricy than some of the other budget hotels nearby but being brand new, it's overall cleanness, it's thoughtfulness in design and pleasant service, I felt that the price is worth it for a good night rest. SS City Hotel comes highly recommended

PS: If you wonder what does SS stands for, just check the lobby deco out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Overider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Simms Boutique Hotel
Simms Boutique Hotel
#211 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
315 reviews
0 mi away
Ceria Hotel
Ceria Hotel
#76 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hote123
Hote123
#155 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#68 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beltif Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Beltif Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#152 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
102 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel China Town Inn
Hotel China Town Inn
#112 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SS City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SS City Hotel

Address: 35 Jalan Changkat Thambi Dollah | Off Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $15 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SS City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SS City Hotel Kuala Lumpur is a modern budget hotel equipped with over 60 rooms built with an aim to provide affordable yet with quality assurance and no frills accommodation to guests in Kuala Lumpur’s evolving tourism industry. Strategically located in the heart of the Golden Triangle of Kuala Lumpur and conveniently situated beside one of the city’s busiest shopping mall Berjaya Times Square, SS City Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers a modern, comfortable and reasonably priced stay in the city. There is entertainment galore for everyone to enjoy be it shopping, sightseeing, dining, nightlife and many more.Getting around Kuala Lumpur made easy; conveniently located within walking distance from KL Monorail Imbi Station and is easily-accessible to various places of interest around the area especially shopping, dining sightseeing and nightlife. The bus and taxi stands are just few steps away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your SS City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing