We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small but yet cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yard Boutique Hotel KL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
Ranked #18 of 317 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small but yet cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The room is clean and tidy. It's small but comes with a big shower room. An electric locker is equipped in the room for traveler's convenience.

The hotel is close to Bukit Bintang, the major shopping district in KL, and Japan Alor, the famous food street. Only in walking distance.

The only problem I had is the mosquitoe. I was waken up a few times (all rooms are on ground floor). Other than this, I was satisfied with the quality in line with the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccw0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    49
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
49
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We already expected a simple but clean & comfortable place to stay-in while at Kuala Lumpur based on previous reviews. Our room was indeed very clean & basic comfort of guests was generally addressed. You can visit the key tourist sites in the city through the KL Hop-on Hop-off Bus where its Bus Stop No. 7 is just along Tengkat Tong Shin (only a few meters away from the hotel). Jalan Alor & Bukit Bintang are in walking distance too. Taxis were not a problem during our stay.The young hotel staff were very friendly & helpful (they do speak English).

What became a disappointment to us is the very bare ambience of the room, as in plain grey concrete/cement walls & floor. If you are used to cheerful & spacious rooms, you would really feel claustrophobic. I hope the hotel management do have plans to spruce up their rooms in the future. We've seen how rich & beautiful the Malaysian culture is in terms of traditional art/crafts, including their great love for nature. Improvement of room ambience following these concepts, or whatever is deemed consistent to the hotel design, will make the guests' stay more pleasant & will also allow more guests to patronize the hotel whenever they visit KL. There are actually better hotels charging the same price range that they do. I do hope they consider this customer feedback because we wish them truly well. Anyway, we just didn't let this disappointment ruin our KL visit. We focused more on enjoying our tour of Kuala Lumpur (day & night) to the max.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The courtyard boutique hotel is tucked in an alley behind a bigger hotel, that is alson genesis. as one review pointed out, one passes by a dirty street to get to and from the hotel, but it wouldn't really matter because courtyard boutique hotel is a well-kept secret in bukit bintang. i've stayed at other hotels in this area before, it is by far my favorite. true to it's name, there is a quiet and cosy courtyard and the very few rooms surround it. the room's size is adequate for 2 people and the bathroom can fit a party of 5. really. it's so huge, you can put another bed in it and sleep. wifi is free and fast, there are convenient stores nearby as well as the main shopping zone of kl. i like this hotel. i couldn't complain about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaeWALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel for myself and travellilng friend after reading the earlier reviews. I wish we had stayed somewhere else.
The main problem with the hotel was the level of service. The staff were young with inadequate knowledge of English and there did not seem to be any management supervision. The cleaning was non-existent. The tiles in my room were filthy when I arrived and just as filthy when I left. We told the staff that we did not need the sheets and towels changed every day - they took that to mean that nothing needed doing in the room - bed left unmade.

No food or drink is served in the hotel - but there are no fridges provided so that you can cater for yourself. The rooms have large flat screen TVs but there are only about 5 channels - with no interenational news channel in English.

With better management this hotel could be a little gem because it is in a central and interesting area (though there are rats around in the vicinity) - but it really needs to improve itself.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDiffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I loved this hotel. It wasn't pretentious, it was honest, authentic and contemporary without trying too hard and located in a fabulous enclave within central KL minutes on foot from Bukit Bintang and Chang Khat.

Granted some other reviewers have found the back and side lane way location not ideal. If arriving by taxi - tell the driver the hotel is located behind the the Hotel Genesis - from there its a 1 minute walk behind to the Courtyard. If you can look beyond the lane way issue and realise you are in the best walking spot to all KL has to offer then you wont be disappointed.As a solo female traveller I never felt compromised and the hotel security is excellent.

I loved the fact I could be in Jalan Alor (eat street) within minutes (directly behind the hotel), and also traverse down KL's premium bar district and shop till I dropped on Bukit Bintang until 10 pm all within 5 minutes walk from this hotel.

My room was just lovely... generous size, king bed, effective air-conditioning, contemporary furnishings, free and reliable WIFI, cable, private and spacious outside rain water shower...and quiet despite the central location, 24 hour CCT and a great communal courtyard to chill out in and walking distance to EVERYTHING!

The room spruces up a bit better in the online photos and you may notice some minor lack of attention to detail (decor wise) however,everything worked and I was overall delighted with my room, it was always kept clean and it was spacious. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Imran, the night manager of this property, was just lovely, kind, attentive and professional.

Room Tip: This is a small property - all rooms looked great - all rooms are on ground floor. You will hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbella_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Situated along dirty alley.cant find the hotel . Do not be fool by the photos.full of mosquitoes.When I came back at night . Power trip.No managers around to settle the problem. Only a driver spoke to us.Even the staff cant do much. Had booked a honey moon package that cost Sgd $114. Was given a wine with price tag stick on rm$63. And a few fake flowers .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Totally not a good choice for those driving a car to the hotel...no carpark...open air car park @ Bukit Bintang charge RM40~50 overnight.
Room is just alright...Simple facility provided only. Noisy backlane. Shower area is out of privacy, grilled (top Part area) only within room to room at shower area.
Bad location! Feel scary while walk back to hotel at night.
There's only one person to serve you for the whole hotel, if there's something happen such as robbery, nobody could help up...totally feel unsafe.
Still prefer a proper hotel which charge slightly more...but definitely feel better...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YSWong86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#39 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#67 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#47 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#26 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#113 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#93 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Boutique Hotel KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Boutique Hotel KL

Property: The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
Address: Lot 623 (51D) Jalan Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 317 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yard Boutique Hotel KL 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Yard Boutique Hotel KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing