We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel De' Grand Orchard
Ranked #244 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my fourth visit to Kuala Lumpur and my first stay at this hotel.

Pros:
1. Excellent pricing & value for money.
2. Flexible regarding number of pax in the room, etc.
3. Good comfy beds.
4. Lot of eateries located next door, mostly Indian-Malay food like parota, etc.
5. Connecting rooms available for large families/ groups.
6. Clean and functional.

Cons:
1. Very complicated location. Google maps is not reliable either. Its located between the local hawker food court and Maybank. They have an older sister branch call "Grand Orchard" so most people will direct you to it. But once you get your bearings right, it is hardly a 5-10 min walk to the Masjid Jamek MRT.
2. Air-conditioning is not very effective, maybe they require servicing.
3. The bathrooms although clean, are badly designed. The commode is located right next to the sink, so your face is literally on it.
4. The area in general is not a very "happening" one, so one might consider staying near Bukit Bintang for that. But at this price point DeGrand serves its purpose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muzzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 31 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Am travelling alone for 1 week so low cost is key. This place is tucked away in an indian area so dont expect to see many westerners within a 1km radius. Good night market and cultural experience. Take a walk boit 20mins and you're in downtown kl. Taxi drivers hate this location in peak hour so you may have to tip them. Clean room with aircon and tv, towells soap but not much else.

1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hi,
We stay at hotel for overnight (hardly 12hr) only, so it is difficult to give review.
But we want to share some good things.
Clean and silent atmosphere.
Clean and tidy room and bathroom.
Fast Check-in and check-out (less then 10 minute)
close to Indian restaurants, and supermarket.
15 minute walking distance from PETRONAS TWIN TOWER.
50 minute drive from airport (meter taxi fare ~ 28 USD)taxi capacity 4 pax.
thanks to agoda.com
they solved our problem like change of primary guest name within flat 10hr.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lalit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

So this is a very Economical Hotel and i think you cannot get anything better in KL for this price..
It is run by a family and they are very keen about cleanliness and comfort of their guests..

Amenities are as needed.
Bathrooms are clean
Location is excellent.
and a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zamiyad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice and clean budget hotel in new building in "Little India". Small rooms, no windows, but good bed and bedsheets, good ac, new towels every day, the best shower I´ve had in budget- Asia! Lots of indian restaurants close by, including a hawker right outside. A short walk to the train-/ subway station where you can go everywhere at low cost (only two or three stops to the center). Very helpful and knowledgeable reception staff. They can fix EVERYTHING.

Colourful but a bit dodgy neighbourhood at night, I wouldn`t like to walk home alone after a drink or two. (Naked homeless man running around screaming one night, several people with obvious mental health issues living in this street).
Thin walls! If your neighbours are talking you hear every word!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank linnogmagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've just spent 5 nights at this hotel and have mostly good things to report.
It's not easy to find - be aware, there is also a Grand Orchard Hotel in the next street and taxi drivers don't necessarily know how to find it either. But it's an excellent location in a really colourful (mostly Indian Muslim) neighbourhood, with great street food (even if you're not exactly sure what you're eating!), a nearby local market and plentiful shopping at cheap prices. It's an easy walk to the Merdeka Square area, and from there to the Central Market and Chinatown and the National Mosque and Islamic Art Museum. And it's a short and cheap taxi ride to KL Sentral, for the KLIE express train to and from the airport (I paid RM6 today).
The room was small but had wifi, aircon, comfortable beds and a rainforest shower. And the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cusquenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A new hotel in Kuala Lampur with all the good characteristics of a budget hotel.
The best thing about the hotel is the receptionist at the front desk, she is just so knowledgable and helpful. She told us the best places to eat, rented us cars at low rates, and suggested good shopping centres, all with a big smile! The staff allowed us to check-in at 5AM though our room was booked from noon. I dont think anywhere I have seen this before. The best staff in town.
Beside the hotel is a small eatery where we had "Paranthas" for 3 at 4USD only.

Pros:
Helpful staff
Cheap rooms
Clean and spacious rooms
Nearby good and cheap eateries

Cons:
Might be difficult to locate the first time

Room Tip: The family rooms are good and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hotel_Woodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Orchard
Hotel Grand Orchard
#159 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
4.9 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#97 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
340 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crossroads Hotel
Crossroads Hotel
#98 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Leo Leisure Hotel
Leo Leisure Hotel
#132 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
82 reviews
6.1 mi away
de Elements Business Hotel
de Elements Business Hotel
#154 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
38 reviews
1.9 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#86 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De' Grand Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De' Grand Orchard

Address: 81-83 Medan Bunus | Off Jalan Masjid India, Kuala Lumpur 50100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $21 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel De' Grand Orchard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel De' Grand Orchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing