We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lok Ann Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lok Ann Hotel
Ranked #106 of 315 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Really nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Every trip is more about people then about conditions where you stay. Well, conditions in Lok Ann are quite good - hot shower, simple but big rooms with windows!! and aircon + breakfast for 80 MR. Nothing to complain about, but a bit of ants in the room.

But the main specialty of Lok Ann hotel is really super friendly and helpful staff. They all could provide a lot of information about KL: places which are worth visiting, what is the easiest way to get from one place to another etc. And it definitely raises a value of a stay in a foreign country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinola_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Angeles City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lok Ann hotel is located in a good location near china town and heritage walk. More of a guest house than a hotel. Recommended for backpackers and budgeted trip. The hotel is not well maintained especially in the third floor area. There are also hotels near the area to choose from besides Lok Ann Hotel.

Room Tip: see the room first before checking in. the 2nd floor is well maintained than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice to be back after a year of travel. Willi (the owner) meets me at the train station.It's great to see him again. At the hotel I meet his dad, Helen the receptionist, Veronica the houskeeper and everything feels a bit familiar - almost like home. I like the rooms and that you have your own bathroom. It's perfect to settle down and have a bit of privacy. The beds are comfortable and I know I'm going to sleep like a baby tonight.

I can definitely recommend this place!!! Perfect location, easy to get here with public transportation, nice staff and clean & comfortable rooms.

Enjoy (and say hello to Willi from me ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Lok Ann was very friendly and service minded. We actually went to Birdnest guesthouse first but were offered to stay at lok Ann cause they were full. We decide to stay there cause we wanted out own room with private bathroom because we were sick at the time. The owner (the man) drove us to the hospital without charging us anything and they also helped us with anything else we needed. Rooms are spacious but of basic standard. There are a lot of trouble with bed bugs and cockroaches in china town, the staff were honest about this and asks their guests to not eat in the rooms and so on to prevent them. We didn't have any problems at all though! Saw to ants in 4 days, that's it. This was a perfectly fine place to stay at for a couple of days on a small budget and location is great. But the friendly staff of course made our stay good despite hospital visits and so on... I recommend this place and the Birdnest guesthouse as well even though we didn't actually spend a night there.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaOliviia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Thanks for a lovely stay, very helpful and very good english aswell. We would stay again. Good location, very good WIFI. Helpful staff. We couldn't make the breakfast next morning as we were leaving early and so the owner bought us water and sweets for our onward journey!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
181 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

It is more a guesthouse than a hotel. They offer private rooms (very big ones!). The location is very good, just near the LRT station and near Petaling street. The staff is very friendly and they help you to have a good time in KL.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marloes020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is easy to find, but the lobby is very small. The staffs are very helpful, give many informations about the room, directions and preferences. The room is quite dark and oldies, but quite big for triple room. The hotel just give towels and soap, the bathroom is oldies and hard to have hot water. Because of right in front of the Chinatown and some buildings construction nearby, so the night in the room is very noisy. But the hotel location is great, just in front of the Chinatown, at night there is a night market there and the hotel is also near Pasar Seni LRT Station (around 15 minutes walk) and around 30 minutes walk to Central Market. The wifi connection in the room is very good. The hotel is quite secure because the door locked at night and can only be opened with password.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#101 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#103 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Tropic City Hotel
#63 of 315 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#3 of 219 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travel Hub
Travel Hub
#9 of 315 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lok Ann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lok Ann Hotel

Property: Lok Ann Hotel
Address: Lok Ann Hotel 113A Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 315 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing