We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Budget Hotel”
Review of Lok Ann Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lok Ann Hotel
Ranked #124 of 358 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is easy to find, but the lobby is very small. The staffs are very helpful, give many informations about the room, directions and preferences. The room is quite dark and oldies, but quite big for triple room. The hotel just give towels and soap, the bathroom is oldies and hard to have hot water. Because of right in front of the Chinatown and some buildings construction nearby, so the night in the room is very noisy. But the hotel location is great, just in front of the Chinatown, at night there is a night market there and the hotel is also near Pasar Seni LRT Station (around 15 minutes walk) and around 30 minutes walk to Central Market. The wifi connection in the room is very good. The hotel is quite secure because the door locked at night and can only be opened with password.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mulya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 26 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after took a bus from Singapore. The bus came KL too early than expected (abt 4am). Since we dont know where to go, we take a taxi to the guesthouse, and even though our room was only available after 1 pm, the staff let us in and rest in a lounge room. It is nice.
The room is big enough for 4 people, lovely wall deco, free wifi and internet service, friendly staff and nice view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNvisaexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a good stay for backpackers that want to be in the heart of Chinatown. Free Wifi and big clean rooms, a bit noisy in the night. Friendly stuff. Very close to the LRT and bus station and the old Central market.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eberhard475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

In this hotel I experienced a lot of friendly people. The manager took care of us very well. The rooms are average but there is everything you need. A good bed to sleep in and a shower with warm water. Internet and wifi is also avalaible.The hotel is located in the centre of china town so you can easily go out to explore kuala lumpur. If you need something don't hesitate to ask the host at the reception. They are more then happy to help you out. The prices they charge for the rooms are very cheap. I had a great time here and felt very welcome. A great place to go when your looking for a cheap, friendly and comfortable backpackers hotel. Succes guarenteed!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasja-Dijkstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here 1 night after a staff member from our previous guesthouse in Melaka pre-booked a room for us. We got room 24 from the 2nd fl. Rooms are big but ridiculously noisy - there were even moments when normal discussion was impossible. And unfortunately the noise continues throughout the night. The area is very touristy and one should be aware of pickpockets etc. We ended up leaving after the first night and ended up to golden triangle instead.

That being said, Lok Ann staff is extremely friendly and they will help you with any issues. They even wanted to help us find an alternative guesthouse but we had arranged tha aleady ourselves. If you are not a light sleeper, this is definately a good choice from Chinatown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tebessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Lok Ann for two nights. It is in a great location right opposite the Petaling Street night markets. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The decor can only be described as quirky. If you are looking for full serviced rooms and luxury then this hotel is not for you. The room was a little bit dark but hey who is in their room all day when on holidays. There was no lift so it would not be for anyone having trouble with stairs. There was a communal room with a t.v. but we did not use it. We arranged a taxi back to LCCT with the staff that was almost half the price charged by the pre-paid taxi service. The only real downside of this hotel was the noise from the street - traffic and the night market - but this did not continue until late. On the up-side it is close to heaps of food places, public transport and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugsonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have been to Lok Ann two times in september and it has been the perfect place for us to discover KL, especially Chinatown.
Placed right opposite to Petaling Street and the nightmarket you find Lok Ann Hotel in the heart of Chinatown.

With a big variety of rooms Lok Ann Hotel offers rooms for everyone and almost everything you want. AC/Fan, Wifi, private / shared bathrooms, clean rooms, TV in the lobby, a terrace. Everything to relax after a wild day in Chinatown. The rooms are big and clean. The beds are fine and if you have any complains you should just talk to Willie.

Willie, the owner, is a great guy. Just ask him and you will get the best advices on how and where to travel in Malaysia. We sat down with him and he made a plan for us where we should go. We did what he told us and it was a perfect backpack trip.

Once we got back to KL he took great care of us when we needed a doctor (thanks so much!!!), he walked us through backyard places in Chinatown and showed us great places where we could grab some food.

If you are looking for a really warm and welcoming place just go to Lok Ann or Birdnest and talk to Willie. Probably the best way to discover Chinatown and KL.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansgar924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
10,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lok Ann Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lok Ann Hotel

Address: Lok Ann Hotel Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing