We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Good Budget Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of My Hotel at KL Sentral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
My Hotel at KL Sentral
Ranked #121 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Quite Good Budget Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

When I first arrive in KL Sentral area, first I must look for this hotel because the first one I look is My Hotel @ Sentral not My Hotel @ KL Sentral. It's about 5-15 minutes to reach the hotel by foot from KL Sentral Station. The hotel lobby is small. The doorman can't understand English when I try to ask direction. It take almost half an hour for the reception to serve me from the time I arrive because he take quite a long time to process the guest check in before me but quite helpful when I ask direction and some questions. The room is quite small because my room is triple room. The room and bathroom is clean, but don't expect for complete bathroom amenities and they provide iron and ironing table. The wifi signal is very low and the connection is bad and slow. The hotel location is very good, quite near to KL Sentral station and monorail, and outside the hotel there are many food stalls. Overall for me it is a quite good budget hotel but will try others first before coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mulya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    105
    88
    23
    12
See reviews for
59
47
55
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a night transit in KL and stayed in My Hotel. The Location is ideal just few minutes away from the monorail (which will take you to Suria, Petronas towers and airport). The room was comfortable and clean. Is ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malteser_Wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Hotel is few just few steps away from the monorail station. There are nearby convenience stores and shops. Very ideal for those who want to explore Kuala Lumpur since this is very accessible to all transportation. The standard room is spacious and can even accommodate a couple with a young child. This is close to sentral station which makes it convenient to go to the airport anytime of the day either via train or bus. The staff is helpful and you can request to take out free breakfast if your have very early flight the next day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its close location to train station (short stay with lots of city train travel) and airport shuttle bus pickup (Only 5 min walk). Its an OK hotel with friendly staff. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Good location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed there with the family in late December and we found the hotel in a good location (~ 5 min from KL Sentral and even closer to the monorail). Rooms are very basic and nothing special. The family room was good for 3 of us, while the normal double was a bit tight. Neighborhood looks a bit shady in the beginning, but we felt safe walking around in the late hours. Little India is nearby for some decent food and a convinient store is across the street for some cheaper booze. For tourists - the Hop-On/Hop-Off bus leaves from the KL Sentral every 30 min and is a decent way to see the city, although we found too late that there is also a free bus in the central part that moves around the major tourist areas. A good half-day trip is to the Batu Caves just 30 min by train from KL Sentral. Airport is also easily accessible by train.

Room Tip: Some upper floor rooms offer good view to the towers. Family room is good for 3-4 people, while norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Cons:
1. The advertised free wi-fi was non existent, complained several times but there was no action whatsoever.
2. Advertised as being very near to the Train Station, it turned out, it was not!
3. Although I was assigned to the 4th floor, the noise outside was a real disturbance especially after midnight.
4.The floor felt sticky.
5. The coffee cups were broken, never replaced them.
6. Bed sheets did not smell new and clean.

Find a better hotel...

Room Tip: Maybe get the MY Hotel Sentral Branch which is nearer to the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taiwan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My faith in tripadvisor has been shaken.
For both the initial room and the room we tried before we ended up just ditching the hotel:
There is a nasty cleaning smell.
There is a moldy smell coming from the corner of the beds.
The sheets are dirty.
The floor gives your skin an itchy rash the moment you dare walk barefoot.
It's in a horrible neighborhood.
It's the closest I'll ever get to being in prison.
I can't believe it even ranked top 100 on tripadvisor.
Don't look out the window, you'll only find a dirty smelly slum waiting for your eyes.

Staff was very friendly and helpful though.

Room Tip: Don't try this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butanehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#88 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#94 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Signature Hotel KL Sentral
Signature Hotel KL Sentral
#275 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Prescott Hotel Kuala Lumpur Sent...
#109 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macktz
Hotel Macktz
#189 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#63 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Hotel at KL Sentral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Hotel at KL Sentral

Property: My Hotel at KL Sentral
Address: No 51-53 Jalan Thambipillay, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — My Hotel at KL Sentral 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your My Hotel at KL Sentral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing