We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome location but small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Day Cocoon Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Day Cocoon Hotel
Ranked #128 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome location but small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was excellent! Food, shopping and nightlife in walking distance. A lot of street food stalls in the surrounding areas and a stretch of bars. Massage shops around the corner. Also, the train station is a few minutes walk away.
I stayed here for 4 days and was comfortable in this place. Bad points are that the room that I stayed in was very small, but I think that is pretty much reflected in its name, 'cocoon'. For a budget hotel, it was worth my stay. Another bad point was that this hotel didn't have a lift and you have to walk up a few flights of stairs before getting to the hotel. If you're not one to exercise, then maybe this might be a comfort issue for you.
All in all, I liked my stay here and would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
4
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is very strategic. It's located right behind jalan alor and just walking distance to shopping malls likesungei wang, lot10, pavillion etc.
We took the bunk bed room for 6 nights. It cost RM85 per night. Room is kinda small but its bearable since we spend most of our times shopping and eating out around KL.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed at the day cocoon two times now. It is right beside Jalon Alor street which is convienent for dinner. It is only a 2 minute walk from Bukit Bintang walking street as well, where you can find everything you will need. We stayed in a room that had one set of bunk beds and attached bathroom for 80 Ringetts.The hotel has recently been renovated.The rooms are very small but they are very clean and have a very nice bathroom, air con and tv. Since the renovation all the mattress have been replaced and were very very comfortable.The staff was friendly but not overly helpful. The only negative thing about the room is that the walls are thin so we could here a lot of noise from outside. If you are a light sleeper I would highly recommend bringing some ear plugs. Considering the location and cleanliness of the rooms though, I would still choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Kelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandung
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

we come to this hotel at 3 a.m. nice hotel for 130RM per night ,and the hotel staff is very nice to us,the bed is clean,the bathoom is very clean also. i think this is the best bidget hotel in bukit bintang,but too noisy because near to the night club.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmyoetji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualalumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was promised cable TV which kept getting "No Signal" and WiFi which was kept getting disconnected. When I made complaint, hotel manager Ms. Lim rudely responded that, "this is a budget hotel". Hotel is located in a very busy area, so do not expect a good night sleep or day time rest. when you are not in your room, electricity would not work, so you are not able to charge your tablet or phone. I would never repeat my unpleasant experience with this hotel. By the way their price is much higher than similar hotels.

Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheonlySoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I think it was a good hotel because I couldnt find any bugs in our bed they took RM 130 but there was a guality survice every thing was just perfect they used to clean the rooms every day and there was a good security system and besides our hotel there was resturent we used to visit new places each day and I think these all things are perfect for a hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malayaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I believe this hotel has had a face-lift , Well positioned in the heart of Bukit Bintang it has no lift but the staff will help with luggage . The bathroom was spotless but the shower was not very powerful . The rooms are small and there is not much space for hanging shirts etc.
I stayed there on two occasions in January . On both occasions the wall TV screen had a CNN channel but no sound . I asked them to fix it but they didn't .
It's OK for a short stay and its not expensive . There was a good café round the corner on the main street for an English style breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#196 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#222 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#122 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#199 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#135 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
60@Changkat Hotel
60@Changkat Hotel
#138 of 322 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Day Cocoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Day Cocoon Hotel

Property: Day Cocoon Hotel
Address: No 69B Jalan E, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Day Cocoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing