We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Though small, clean hostel and friendly staff”
Review of Agosto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agosto Inn
Ranked #20 of 332 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Though small, clean hostel and friendly staff”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

pros:
Hostel is strategically located. close by to convenient store, petaling street and lrt station.
Owner and staff are friendly and helpful, owner even recommend us some nice eateries other than the typical famous food.
Stayed in 4 bed dorm which was simple but clean and tidy. Mattress and pillow are comfortable.
Nice facilities with wifi, living area with tv and dvd player, sofa, dining area and simple breakfast.

cons:
bunk bed is shaky and squeaky even with small movements.
toilet and shower is combined and really small.
dining area is small too, fit 4 ppl at one time, but we had our food at the living area and nobody complain so long as you keep cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viviene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    73
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
59
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great place!
They are always helping you with everything. The price is really good, with aircond and hot shower. Living room with television and dvd. 24h reception. 1 block from the big street of chinatown and near shopping/market.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MarianaHeuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived in KL and came straight to Chinatown, a very busy and happening place and stayed in another hostel we had pre-booked, this was fine but when it came to extending to a third night they couldn't fit us in but recommended Agosto Inn to us. So we trooped along in the 33 degree heat wondering what to expect and found it to be a wonderful and harmonious little place to get away from the madness of Chinatown. We booked a double room which cost rm70 per night and found it to be very clean, well equipped (nice tv.dvd.book area, great little kitchen area, free tea and coffee and free brekkie and wi-fi). But the thing we enjoyed most was the friendliness the manager and her staff imposed on us as soon as we walked in the door. At one point they bought some food for themselves but shared it with us and fellow travellers just because they felt like it! Would highly recommend this place as you can enjoy the hustle and bustle of busy KL and then retire into a relaxed and clean atmosphere as and when you please, will return next time we are here!

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in a dorm room here, request a 1st floor room, purely so that you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a wonderful find. Agosto Inn is a quiet place where you can get a good night's sleep, even in the dorm rooms where you can get a bunk at RM 19, with free breakfast. There are private rooms, too, of course. It's small, everything is new and works. The mattresses are firm and comfortable.

The decor is lovely with walls painted in pastels and white river rocks in windowsills and displays. It's really kind of a boutique hostel, actually. There's this soft, feminine energy here that's quite gentle.

Everything is always very clean and guests are not allowed to wear shoes inside, not even flip flops or slippers.

Guests come primarily from Europe, the Americas and Asia, but really from all over, judging by the colored pins on a map of the world at the front reception area. It's a great way to meet other travelers. You can put a pin up on the world map to mark your hometown to show that you've been here.

Last night I sat outside at a table that they put on the sidewalk and had a nice visit with another guest. I liked that.

You can't beat this location. It's on the same side of the street as the Indian temple in
Chinatown, just down at the end of the block from there. Turn the corner and you're at the Pasar Seni Putra light rail station. Petaling Street with all the vendors and places to eat is just two minutes away, and there are Indian and Chinese places to eat where you can get food cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nomadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Agosto Inn was a great find - clean, simple low cost accommodation in a great location.
Everyone was really helpful and friendly. They helped us to book a sightseeing tour and transport to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It is a very great value for the room price and room is clean and comfort.
at here need to thanks for the helpful staff team is great and friendly....
thanks AGOSTO

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PatrickA154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was denied a room in Regge2 in Jalan Tun H.S. Lee after reaching there at 2:00AM when I mentioned my nationality. Agosto Inn was not advertised in neon so I didn't notice it till the person in charge of the night shift came out and the taxi driver inquired on the availability. Yes! there was one room available and I could stay.Since they had newly opened I was offered a promotional rate though the normal rates were low. And so I was put up in a single room. I decided to stay there for 2 days and ended staying for 10 days. The ambiance was pleasant and the rooms were very clean. The staff were very helpful. The bath rooms were clean and they had laundry facilities. Wi fi was free and so was breakfast. Coffee and tea were also available for free 24 hrs. Since it is located in China town low cost shopping and local transportation was not a problem at all and it is near Passar Seni LRT station. 1 Ringgit could take you to KL Sentral. Over all I had a wonderful and pleasant stay and would be going there soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sudhir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#87 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#92 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rain Forest Hotel
Rain Forest Hotel
#6 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Raizzy's Guesthouse
#3 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
#12 of 332 in Kuala Lumpur
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agosto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agosto Inn

Property: Agosto Inn
Address: 177A Jalan Tun H S Lee | Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 24 Hour Check In / Check out services. We do arrange for local transport / Tour and travel info for who those who need. Double, Twin, Single & Dorm Right in the heart of Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur. FREE BREAKFAST, FREE COFFEE / TEA ALL DAY LONG. FREE WIFI. FREE TRAVEL INFO. LINEN INCLUDED. HOT SHOWER. FULLY AIR CONDITIONED. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Agosto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing