We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly hotel in the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #135 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Smelly hotel in the city center”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel during a short business trip to Malaysia. The hotel was not up to the standard I expected from the hotel of this range. I stayed in the 13th floor which smelled cigarette as soon as elevator door is open. I guesses if the floor was smoking floor, however, I soon saw no smoking sign. On entering the room, the room smelled differently but still smelling of smoke.

I remember for having asked for a multi-pluck as I had to charge my mobile. On calling to house keeping, I was told that socket will be available on deposit, which I agreed. However, the attendant who was supposed to come, never turned up. I gave up following up as I could charge the mobile in the bathroom later.

The room amenities were average. Great view of twin-tower could be witnessed from the room which I asked and provided for. The twin-tower looked majestic at night with the lights.

The hotel is not far from the train station (Monorail Medan Tuanku station or even Chow Kit station should be nearer too)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    67
    64
    34
    45
See reviews for
78
46
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I had booked the Hotel through an agent who said that it was the best amongst the Hotels that was given to me as options. I regret the fact that I went by my agent's word and not the feedback given in trip advisor. We were 7 office colleagues travelling together. We reached the hotel at 3 am and were actually tired after travelling for long. The person at the reception took more than half an hour to check us in. There was no one to take our baggage to the rooms. The only AC working properly in the hotel was the one at the lobby. AC in the rooms were not working at all (we had booked 4 rooms). You had to leave it on for 3-4 hours for it to half any sort of cooling. I had been told that we were given the better rooms in the hotel. I pity the people who would be staying in the not so "Superior Rooms". There was water dripping throughout the night from the taps in the bathroom. the bathroom in the hotel was worse than most 3rd grade hotels in India. Unlike most hotels these people actually charge you for using an universal adaptor. The only good thing was the morning breakfast buffet. What my ultimate experience is that the Hotel is neither "Grand" neither is there anything "continental" about it. Not recommended for anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debu1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

i would never recommend this place to any one.. will never check-in there again, the A/c cooling in this hotel is pathetic.. We were offered to changed the room as A/c didnt cool after checking-in, but to our utter dismay even after changing the rooms twice, the A/c cooling was the same... ultimately it seemed that the there standard of cooling is too low (though the reception staff falsely gave us excuse of A/c system of whole hotel is down). Then although this wasn't enough, the so called Hot Water in shower was not at all Hot enough. The rooms were terribly dated, decades old decor & though clean enough but in shabby conditions (all 3 rooms i checked in & not just 1). How is it rated 4 stars??? only thing good i find about this room was the Petronas + KL Tower Views & Free WIFI, thats it. Though low on rates but you can get much much better hotels around at this rates.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have 2 windows to add some value to your stay at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KapsLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed one night on the 29th Dec 2010 (One year earlier).

The hotel has a very good view of the Petronas towers and it was quite scenic at night.

The rooms were reasonable, clean and so were the bath rooms.

We were on the 23rd floor and the access was good.

Good value for money and within walking distance you can reach couple of malls.

The restaurant did not having any thing for our vegetarian fare.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bramgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I had to change from the Renaissance(as was booked out) and needed a few days in another hotel. Well I don't know who reccommended me this one but I wish I hadn't listened. The area is dodgy at night, the room smelt of strong mosquito repellent and the woman downstaris in the bar was the most unfriendly woman I've met in Asia. As a guest I wanted some Ice sent to my room and she said that she can't afford to give me any as they need it for themselves!!! What kind of attitude is that? The breakfast was also substandard. Stay away from this place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Worst hotel to stay in. Worst service and Rude Reception Staff. Unhygienic (Bed Sheets, Towels, hot water kettle not cleaned from months), Found bed bugs in bed (this is real m not kidding). Please do not stay in this room.

Room Tip: Please do not stay in this hotel...... this is the best tip......
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohanPatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Steer clear of this one. Unlike other reviews the staff was friendly enough but the hotel itself is terrible, very very dated. Really in need of a total overall. Charming aspects include chipped linoleum, dirty bathrooms, stained blankets and overall shabby decor that hasn't been updated since at least 1972. Breakfast appalling.
If I had expected all this fine but when I booked the room the picture was far different! And four stars? Yeah right.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poboysammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel WP
Hotel WP
#61 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
203 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Mandarin Court Hotel Kuala Lumpu...
#139 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ttanz Hotel
Ttanz Hotel
#181 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala Lumpur
Quality Hotel City Centre Kuala ...
#224 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#177 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,058 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Seasons Hotel
Grand Seasons Hotel
#110 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Address: Jalan Belia / Jalan Raja Laut | Chowkit / Putra WTC, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of Malaysia capital, a towering block of 27 stories. Consists of 309 guest rooms and suites. Hotel Grand Continental boasts of a magnificent view of the Petronas Twin Towers (KLCC) and it is surrounded by banks, government offices and business district. Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC), General Hospital, National Heart Centre, Maju Junction, Sogo Shopping Centre, The Mall Shopping Complex and the tourist attractions are just nearby the hotel. The Sultan Ismail Light Rail Transit (STAR LRT) Station and Medan Tuanku Monorail Station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Grand Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing