We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #51 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Pinjarra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“No problems”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. Location was good. Found you could actually walk to most things that were surprisingly close by. The various under and above ground trains were also close by. Our room looked down on the street market of China Town, but we were unaware of any street noise. Front desk staff were always helpful. The only small negative was the bathroom was a bit on the tight side, but our room itself was spacious. Malay breakfast was generous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Carol-Pinjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mr. Bob,

Thank you so much for choosing Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur as your preferred accommodation during your recent visit in Kuala Lumpur.

We are truly appreciates your wonderful comments and feedback. It was an honour and joy for us to create a memorable holiday experience to you and your family.

Once again, thank you very much for visiting us and we look forward to see you and your family again in near future.

Thank you & Best Regards

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    455
    247
    76
    52
See reviews for
172
357
122
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed 2 separate nights as a transit stop-over between Australia and Thailand. Booked 2 superior double-bed rooms at a discount (~ $40 AUD a night each), including breakfast. Booked superior rooms as we read that standard rooms do not have windows!

Firstly the hotel - Located in the heart of the central china town area. The front lobby is positioned on a relatively quiet street (a bit of traffic, but not super busy). The walk-only markets surround the hotel. The rooms are positioned in 2 blocks, an older front building and a newer back building. We had rooms in the newer back building. The lobby is small, with a seating area and a small gift shop to the side. Décor is quite plain, typical budget hotel.

The restaurant is to the rear of the hotel and backs on to the market which gives it a lively atmosphere, also has an outdoor/indoor seating area and a small bar. We had one dinner (20% discount for staying in hotel) and our breakfasts. I wouldn't recommend dinner, very small for the price and not that tasty. Breakfast is buffet style with a cooked Malaysian and European style food. Was actually a very good breakfast, especially when it was included in the price of the rooms.

The rooms are quite small but clean and functional. TV, nice firm double bed, window, separate bathroom (tiny), towels, it was all there. Internet was also provided but we couldn't get it to work (we didn't complain). I recommend going as high as you can with the rooms (6-7 floor) and try for one on the side not facing the market as it can be noisy when the market packs up late in the evening, at least you don't get traffic noise.

Overall, this was a good hotel for the price and I would stay here for: cleanliness, location, friendly staff, value for money and security (swipe card access). To my knowledge, there were no other facilities in the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for high up, with window, but not facing the market. Book through hotel company website for goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur. We appreciate your positive comment about overall your stay experience. Thank you for highlighting about our café food as this will help us to improve further.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss Inn during your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you & Best Regards,

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I booked this room based on the location and had realistic expectations.

Pros:
- Location (In the heart of Petalin St. Chinatown. A fun area with lots of food.)
- Friendly and helpful staff
- Good water pressure in shower
- AC worked very well

Cons:
- Booked a standard room and it was tiny with no windows.
- Bathroom was also very small
- Towels and floor mat were stained

Overall I got what I expected. Not terrible but not great. I'd recommend staying here if you're looking for a lively area with fun shopping, hawker food stalls and close to public transportation but be aware that this is no Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Book a room with a window!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beverly916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Ms. Beverly,

Thank you so much for staying at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are truly honoured for your wonderful compliments and review. About the stained towels/both mat thank you for highlighting it to us as it has helped us to be more detailed in our routine room inspection.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur and we hope to welcome you again in near future.

Thank you & Best Regards

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was on my honeymoon and had a one night stay in this hotel.. Thankfully it was just one night.. the hotel staff were not at all co-operative.. The AC in our room would not cool properly.. We had to complain thrice for them to send a technician.. The room was so conjusted that once you put your bag in one couldn't even walk around.. Also they have a policy of NOT informing you about their hotel rules or even check in and check out times during checkin.. All they want is a 100 ringet deposit and you can go to your room.. they don't even care to show you the room or the facility around.. Worst is that they do not have a bell boy.. Also they will keep calling you 8 to 10 times during check out to irritate you so much that you eventually feel like getting out of there asap.. Its one of the cheap shady hotels with a good exterior.. Never ever opt for this hotel.. Pay more and enjoy staying at a brilliant hotel opposite..

Room Tip: Hell.. no rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nikiboy420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for staying Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay recently in view over certain issues. Allow me to explain to you on some of the items that you mentioned. First and foremost we apologise for the AC not being cold enough and I will certainly reprimand my staff for not immediately offering room change. As for the room size, in future if you book via the website, I suggest that you click under the room information to find out more information about the room including the size and not just looking offered rate. Deposit is a standard practice anywhere in the world. It is to cover miscellaneous expenses such as your meal at the hotel restaurant, phone bill etc. For info being "Inn" we do not have bellboy but you name it, everyone from the cleaners, security and right up to the Hotel Manager is ever committed to provide you with the service upon request and most of the time we do offer assistance to carry our guests luggage to their room. We are doing our very best to ensure that our guests have a comfortable stay while they are in Chinatown and our resume would be the comments received from most of other travellers that stayed with us before.

Thank you & kind regards,

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Riga, Latvia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

First advice - read carefully your room type. We took deluxe,which means room is with windows. It was clean, spacious room with ok bathroom, toiletries provided with view to Petaling street. It was a bit loud when stalls were taken off the street at night, but didnt disturbed too much. Breakfast was good choice,dont listen if somebody tells it minimal. Staff was trying hard to make our stay enjoyable,especially reception.Only con - internet sometimes did not work or worked too slow in our room.

Room Tip: Take deluxe with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur. We truly appreciate your remarks on why travellers should select the room type rather than just choosing the room based on rate offered. Obviously in business we need to have product variety in order to cater to all different types of travellers.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swiss Inn during your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Best Regards,

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

my stay in Swiss Inn at China Town, Kuala Lumpur was terrible. I was allotted SUPERIOR room and room was so small we felt suffocated inside the room. There were no Windows in the room, toilet was so small that I could hardly stand in it. Breakfast was not good as well. While check out n one was sent to help us in taking the luggage till the reception area & the hotel is designed in such a way that porting luggage alone is a big problem. I had very bad experience with this hotel and would prefer others not to stay in this hotel as well.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MohammadFahad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent visit to Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay because of the room size and among other issues. Well, to begin with we do have various room sizes for you to select and it is all stated clearly in the booking engines. All you need to do is to click on the room type and you will be able to see the room details including room size and the rates quoted.

Breakfast has always been a favourite topic with numerous good comments received. Our International Buffet Breakfast may not be as large as the one serves at 5 star hotel but we are very sensitive to the needs of our guests to have good breakfast to start the day. Therefore, our buffet breakfast consists of juices, milk, fruits cut, vegetables, banana, salads and cereals at the cold section. As for the hot section we have standard breakfast varieties such as eggs station, hash brown potato, baked beans, freshly baked Danish and croissant, toast bread etc. We even featured Asian Section such as fried rice, “Nasi Lemak”, fried “Koay Teow” or noodles and porridge to cater for Asian and of course not to mentioned coffee and tea.

I admit that we do not have potter staff but all our staffs including the Hotel Manager is ever committed to provide such services with or without guest request. Last but not lease, the building structure may be a bit of a challenge but this is the uniqueness of Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur. You will arrive in Jalan Sultan and your outing at the famous Chinatown will just be at the footstep of our Café Petaling!

Once again, thank you so much for choosing Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur and we sincerely hope that you would stay with us again in near future.

Best regards

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here 5 days. The hotel is located at the heart of China town. Easy to catch the bus to travel around the city. Very friendly staff. Breakfast is good. Room is a little small. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Michelle,

Thank you so much for staying at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur during your visit to Kuala Lumpur. We are truly honoured for your wonderful compliments and review.

Once again, thank you so much for choosing Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur and we hope to welcome you again in near future.

Best Regards

Abd Rahman Ahmad
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#56 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#78 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#69 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#47 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#60 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur

Property: Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Address: Swiss-Inn Kuala Lumpur 62 Jalan Sultan | Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe. Our 20sqm Deluxe Room with window. Fitted with a choice of Queen and Twin beds. Connecting rooms upon request. Access to Extra-bed (chargeable). It comfortably accommodates with 2 Adults & 1 Children below age of 12. All rooms are designed and furnished to meet the discerning guests' needs - individual air-conditioning, private bath with shower, hairdryer, iron/ironing board upon request, IDD call and complimentary 2 bottle of mineral water with coffee/tea making facilities. LCD Television with in-house video channel, selected Astro channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing