We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss Inn Hotel - Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #49 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
518 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Swiss Inn Hotel - Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

No way is this Hotel 2 minutes from the station and impossible to walk because of the traffic and lack of footpaths.
You really must take a taxi and it took us more like 5 - 7 minutes from the train station.
It's so hard to rate this hotel because it is in a good spot............in China Town, and it does have the Petaling Cafe which serves really nicely presented, basic meals ( a discount of 20% should you be a guest) and a breakfast fit for a king should you stay here.
Each floor is painted a different colour and gives a real dated feel to the building, although freshly done.
The Petaling Street market is at the rear entry every night and even if you don't want to purchase anything it's quite entertaining just sitting having a beer or dinner watching the passing parade.
Decent size double room.........tiny, tiny shower.
WiFi IS NOT FREE nor is the internet.
I have rated this Hotel on entertainment value and location.

Room Tip: Mention you are a guest before ordering your meal to ensure you get the discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    451
    240
    75
    52
See reviews for
167
352
121
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I find it hard to rate the rooms for this hotel as i never got to see one. After an already stressful travel day i arrived at the hotel with my boyfriend and upon check in was told that our room (pre booked months in advance) was no longer available due to renovations. We asked why this information was not told to us upon time of booking to be told that 'we did not know about renovations then' and had no explanation for why they did not let us know as soon as our room became unavailable. We were offered an 'upgrade' to their 'nicer' sister hotel, which we accepted and paid through the swiss in for a room for two nights. Once we arrived at the 'nicer' sister hotel we discovered immediately that this was a lie, room rates were half the price of the swiss inn. The receptionist told us we'd been booked for one night (not two) in a twin room (not a double) and that she would not fix this and we would have to call the swiss in from our room so they could change it.
We arrived at our room to discover a dirty messy bathroom with rubbish in the room and the bed recently slept in and unmade.
This is unnacceptable so we went straight back to the swiss inn and requested a refund only to be told that we were never charged. Despite showing them proof of payment they adamantly denied ever charging us and refused refund even though we stayed in neither hotel.
We found alternate accommodation and tried to follow the refund up with the swiss inn the next day, but to date this issue is still unresolved.
Worst customer service i have ever come across.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paradiselover11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissInnKL, General Manager at Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Swiss-Inn Kuala Lumpur as your accommodation of choice during your recent visit to the city and for your comments. We would like to apologise on the above matter and have noted with great concern and we wish to allay any doubts you may have arising from your recent experiences. The inconveniences encountered is regretted and while we do out utmost best to ensure that all our esteemed guests are accorded with premier service standard, we have acknowledged your valuable inputs.

I will contact you, thru your email on the above matter.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

First impressions do last for me and I'd say this hotel didn't do too great in this aspect. The stay ended well though as there were some great things about this hotel as well.

First the area where the hotel was located was a bit crowded, there were a lot vendors, people walking along and vehicles passing the narrow street. We went to Petaling St which is a 5-min walk from the hotel but didn't get to buy anything. I don't understand why local vendors would charge tourists with exaggeratedly high prices for what their selling. We're really not that rich and haggling is too much of a hassle so why do we have to go through all that stress?

Secondly, the hotel doesn't offer help with baggage so my friends and I had to drag our stuff to the elevator, through the hallways and along a flight of stairs. The walls of our room at the 2F is a tacky color of orange and eventually I figured out that each floor's wall colors correspond to the color of the rainbow. Cool.

Anyway, our stay got better after that. The room and beds were spacious enough and the pillows were really soft and comfortable. There was a hairdryer available which is always a plus. There was only one plug available though so no chance of charging mobile phones, using a laptop and drying my hair at the same time. There was a TV in the room but there were only about 11 channels. Most of the movies/shows were in english though so it was fine. Restroom/ shower room was a bit small though but clean except for the fact that the towel provided had a stain on it. It was replaced the next morning though when our room was cleaned.

Breakfast food was average as well. There's not much tasty food choices but I liked the jam (kaya?) provided during our first morning and they had a fresh-tasting orange juice.

Since we wanted to go shopping it was great that the hotel was near the Central Market (about 15mins walking distance) which had really nice and cheap stuff.
From there we got to walk to the train station then took a bus to the Mid-Valley mall then we rode a train to KLCC so we could visit the Petronas Towers. We took a cab from there, going back to the hotel; travel time took us about 15 mins.

Hence, location of the hotel wasn't so bad; we just prefer not to go out at night.

Check-out was quick as well and the crew were nice and accommodating. Overall, it was an average experience--roughly just the right accommodation and service for the amount we paid for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

After booking a superior room close to 3 months before my stay I arrived late at night after an extremely long travel day to be told that due to renovations we would be moved to the sister hotel. After arriving there even later to a very substandard room that would have cost half as much as the room I had already paid for (that also had not been cleaned that day, or bed made) we had to wander around Chinatown at 10pm to find a replacement. Extremely unprofessional as I was still charged even through I did not stay at either hotel. Doesn't deserve the reputation

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziewandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have stayed there a couple of time due to its locational advantage. One of its side opens into Petaling night market (not much to shop unless you want cheap replicas). It is walking distance to some malls and mono rail. They have recently renovated the rooms. Clean rooms. Standard rooms are without windows so pl. check with them before you book. The breakfast is good and the best part was when they packed delicious sandwitches for us for our morning flight by themselves!

For Indians you have a seven eleven just opposite to the hotel, subway is round the corner. Good foreign exhange shops cheaper than malls.

We stayed at Swiss Hotel also wchich was definitely much better than this but Swiss Inn is very fairly priced.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband, one year old and I booked in here for 1 night.

positive

- very clean room
-great breakfast buffet
-very fair price for standard and location
-excellent spot 9right in the middle of china town market)- great for late night shopping
-lots of places to buy food outside for a cheaper price than hotel menu

negative
-the only negative i can think of is you have to pull you baggafe 2 flights before reaching the elivator

thats about it in my opinion. would definatly book in here again.good feel to the place :)

Room Tip: take advantage of the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at a non smoking room, the location is at the China town center of business. A real melting pot of people (Pataling Street) however the housekeeping is slow in cleaning the rooms. Hotel rates are okay and car service is always available and drivers have good comand in English.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalahitayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#53 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#41 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#68 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Summer View
Hotel Summer View
#63 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Transit Kuala Lumpur
#60 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur

Property: Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Address: Swiss-Inn Kuala Lumpur 62 Jalan Sultan | Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe. Our 20sqm Deluxe Room with window. Fitted with a choice of Queen and Twin beds. Connecting rooms upon request. Access to Extra-bed (chargeable). It comfortably accommodates with 2 Adults & 1 Children below age of 12. All rooms are designed and furnished to meet the discerning guests' needs - individual air-conditioning, private bath with shower, hairdryer, iron/ironing board upon request, IDD call and complimentary 2 bottle of mineral water with coffee/tea making facilities. LCD Television with in-house video channel, selected Astro channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing