We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

β€œGreat old-school charm, good location. Good Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge Paradize Hotel
Ranked #252 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great old-school charm, good location. Good Value.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a quick stopover in KL. We've stayed in KL many times and have always had trouble finding any decent budget accommodation. Lodge Paradize was only a few dollars more than the crappy budget hostel we stayed in last time, so we decided to give it a go. Whilst the hotel is clearly still needing a little bit of TLC, it does have quite an old school charm. If you are in to old buildings then you will likely enjoy this place. If you are looking for a swish modern hotel then maybe try somewhere else. Everything from the retro lift to the stair bannisters are pretty funky and old and our 'standard' room was really good, with nice parquetry floors, solid brick walls, a nice big window and a decent sized bathroom. The standard room doesn't have a fridge or TV, but we didn't really need that anyway. The reception staff could be a little bit more welcoming and friendly, although they were helpful in getting a taxi etc. The included breakfast is better than most budget hotels but don't expect a fancy buffet! The old swimming pool is still not functioning and is currently just a water feature next to the restaurant.
The wifi didn't work at all on the 4th floor.
Bathroom was nice and clean with good hot shower and towels provided.
Hotel is located in a nice, quiet area but still only a 5 min walk (or 1 monorail stop) from all the big shopping centres etc. The monorail escalator is literally right out the main entrance of the hotel.

It looks like there is till some work to be done here. eg, The garden could do with a bit of work..
I just hope that in fixing up this hotel they don't destroy the old-school charm!
Definitely recommended as a good budget option in a good location and with a bit of character!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bodysuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
1
9
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has the worst possible service. The manager and staff from the reception right to the restaurant that served breakfast were rude and ruined the mood for us. Don't bother with a smile, they won't even look at you or answer you properly. Room is clean and breakfast is poor, but the bad service was too hard to swallow.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here with a few of my friends and found the hotel very clean which was the most important for me. Equipped with all the necessities-TV/Airconditioning/Hairdryer/MiniFridge. At the doorstep of the hotel is the Monorial easily accessing to KL Sentral (where you can get the train to KLIA Airport). Minutes walk from Pavillion, Sungei Wang, and of course the Petronas Twin Towers.

Breakfast was delicious serving both western and local delights. Within the hotel premise is a local/thai restaurant which was also very tasty.

I woud definitely recommend this place to my friends again as it is value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights on a backpacking trip. Finding solid yet affordable accomodation wasn't exactly easy during our trip in the high season. If you don't need the comfort of a highrise-hotel and don't like guesthouses and hostels, this is a decent choice. Rooms and beds are clean and spacious, staff even put my shoes inside when the afternoon rain started and the malay-style breakfast is tasty. Though the lack of real windows (asian glass shutters) and the bleak furnishing makes it a place you wanna sleep but not hang out too long.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joergsesselmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and three friends stayed in the budget rooms and had a pretty rough time sleeping as there was a beeping noise coming from the building behind us, through the bathroom windows that would not shut, with a bathroom door that didn't seem to latch properly. This hotel has a ton of potential as it's in a great location, could be very stylish, but seems to have run out of money as the large fountain (not pool) was a little dirty and parts of the building were still under construction. I did get a chance to eat at the restaurant which served delicious Thai food, and our rooms were pretty clean- but in the end, we had to change our reservation and did not receive any kind of refund. Despite the receptionist knowing about the noise problem, no attempt was made to change our rooms for another at the same rate, without the noise. It's too bad, really. This could be a four star hotel with a few smart changes!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the budget rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laressa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place is small but on a great location - next to the monorail station, close to all main attractions. Rooms are clean and big enough with AC and most important clean bathroom. Breakfast is great - buffet style.
Staff was friendly and professional.

I would recommend this hotel, it has best value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anajiTijana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I was in Kuala Lumpur in November and I took a room in this hotel. The hotel itself is just outside the Raja Chulan Monorail station. Most the main nightlife attractions of Kuala Lumpur (like Jalan Ramlee or Bukit Bitang) are at walking distance.
The rooms in the hotel are large and clean. The staff is very freindly and helpful on giving any information needed. When I'll come back to Kuala Lumpur, this hotel will be my first choice.

Room Tip: I've not special suggestion. The room I had was very nice, and I didn't see other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz_Zena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#203 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gulshan Ampang
Hotel Gulshan Ampang
#171 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crown Regency Serviced Suites
Crown Regency Serviced Suites
#105 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Mesui Hotel
The Mesui Hotel
#102 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Paradize Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Paradize Hotel

Property: Lodge Paradize Hotel
Address: 2 Jalan Tengah | Off Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lodge Paradize Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lodge Paradize Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing