We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carcosa Seri Negara
Ranked #146 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed February 27, 2008

The setting is unique,the former governor's guest houses sets atop a hill in the middle of KL. They are surrounded by fine and lush rainforest, in a garden which is as calm and beautiful as the two houses which make up the hotel. Neither house is visible from the other, so it feels like living in a grand private home and not a hotel.

The Carcosa Seri Negara is for people who appreciate privacy and seclusion and understand that quality is not about gold leaf or designer trends.

Our suite was enormous and the ambience was understated and genteel . It's exclusive imagine a mini Raffles with only a few people. However the rates represent good value.

We arrived Christmas Eve and were met at the airport by the most competent butler ever and from then on everything unfounded in an unobtrusive and perfect fashion. The breakfast, dinners, and canapes were all of the highest quality and were made with fresh local ingredients and served perfectly.

After a hectic year, there has never been a more perfect start to a holiday. At the Carcosa Seri Negara life slows down, it becomes a calm, dreamy and beautiful experience.

We our experienced travellers at this level and in a world of choice few excellent hotels become regulars for us, however we are already planning a return trip.

This hotel would revive and transform the weariest of travellers. The setting, the staff , the space and the food all combine to make this an memorable place.

Stay at least three nights to let its beauty quietly work its magic.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PFoggSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2008

My partner and I stayed at the CSN in 2007. Put simply, it was the finest, most amazing hotel experience I've ever had - and I've been to some of the best hotels in Europe, Asia, North America and Australasia.
I wouldn't even know where to start in commending this place. Everything was perfect from the lush tropical setting to the flawless, perfectly attentive yet unobtrusive service. The building and the setting itself were beautiful, and a great place to base yourself for walks into the Lake Gardens and surrounding areas.
For what it's worth, we were a gay couple travelling in Malaysia. In a trip that was wonderful in every respect, the Carcosa Seri Negara was definitely the highlight... a rare combination of very friendly yet professional service, gorgeous colonial architecture and a stunning rainforest setting in the middle of KL - what more could anyone want?

Stayed: June 2007
9  Thank Bris64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We got a very reasonably priced package to this small hotel (which has since been highlighted on "The Amazing Race") and were overwhelmed by the wonderful service level here. The place was a House of Parliment and is more like a lovely British B&B than a hotel. Even though on a package, we were upgraded into a room larger than some homes with two balconies and two bathrooms. The location is perfect, close to the city (you can see the skyline) but far from the noise in a lovel forest like setting.

Our Butler met us at the airport in the middle of the night and from that point on made it his personal mission to be sure that we were well cared for and happy. He was the perfect blend of professional and friendly. Nothing was too large or too small to ask for.

High tea at the hotel, a trip to the Royal Selangor Pewter Factory and the Batu Caves (a Hindu Temple) were only a few highlights of the trip. Carcosa Seri Negara truly was a wonderful experience.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank LisaBAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2007

My friend from United States stayed there for 5 nites. Good value as the package comes with breakfast, evening snacks, wine, dinner for two at their fine dining restaurant, afternoon tea for two at their lounge and transportation (both ways).

Overall Service
Butler service is good compared to The Ritz-Carlton Kuala Lumpur.

Room feature
I like the room which is very spacious, good TV channel selections, free WIFI and turn down service comes with a little token such as chocolates and etc.

Restaurants
The only thing that I dislike is the dining experience at their fine dining restaurant because the servers seem like discrimate me and the other friend of mine(both of us are chinese). The server ONLY presented the menu to my US friend,basically is a foreigner!!! No smile, no greetings and no hospitaility rendered.
Therefore, we have decided not to have the afternoon tea since they don't value local customers.

It is a good place for vacation, peaceful and beautiful! But, think twice before dine at their restaurant,especially locals!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WD2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

Probably the most impressive place I've ever stayed at!
Located in a KLs big park, this hotel is far away (yet pretty close) to the busy city center.
We were picked up at the airport by our personal butler, who was available to us 24 hours. Upon arrival at the Carcosa, the hotel manager was there to welcome us.
Check-in (as all as check-out) is done in the privacy of your own suite.The Carcosa has two buildings, we stayed in the newer one (still >100 years old). Everything breaths colonial and regency, the hotel, the rooms (suites), the restaurant, style, atmosphere, everything. When England's Queen visited Malaysia some time ago, this was the place she stayed at, so that gives you an idea of the local status of the place :-)

The suite we had was the smallest, but still very, very big. Very good bed, nice sitting area, with fruits, chocolates, etc waiting for us. Very well equipped suite, with everything included in the price (such as the mini bar).

The butler took us anywhere we wanted (comes with the suite...), so not being in the city center was no problem: we had transportation around the clock!

We didn't use the restaurant, but we did have the famous high tea: a must-do in KL !!

It is not cheap (according to Malaysian standards), but for some 200 euro's/night this was extremely good value for money and an experience you must have had, once in your life :-)

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2005

If visiting Kuala Lumpur and become tired, or stressed, by the heat and traffic then do yourself a favour and make a reservation for traditional Afternoon Tea served in the Drawing Room of this beautiful historic hotel, linked to the very life and history of Malaysia, designed and built in 1904 by Sir Frank Swettenham, First Resident-General of the Federated Malay States.

Starched napkins, comy sofas and and chairs, the gentle ticking of a long case clock and just the merest 'whoosh" of 21st century airconditioning make the perfect background for this "colonial" hotel in the elegant drawing room looking out over the gardens. Or sit ourdoors on a shaded verandah with whirring overhead pukkah fans to keep cool.

Over twenty different choices of tea are available. A silver three tiered cake stand comes with dainty finger sandwiches, including smoked salmon, cheese, and egg. This is followed by scones with jam (wonderful Rose Petal jam) and cream, a small portion of Rhubarb crumble, a selection of dainty finger pastries and, for those with enough space, a baby Creme Brule so rich you'll hardly want to stagger out of the chair! The tea is served by gracious and charming Butlers - the hotel is exclusive with only 13 Suites and full Butler Service - and plenty of fresh refills for those wishing to linger and relax.

It is hard to believe this amazing and beautiful hotel is a mere 10-15 ride from the centre of KL. Situated in 16 hectacres on a hill overlooking the city, you will feel you are miles away in the country. I asked if I could have a look at one of the Suites and it was no problem at all. Those wanting to get away from it all could do no worse than to take a suite upstairs! I have lived in apartments smaller than the combined space of the Seri Makmur Suite overlooking the gardens. Had my credit card been stronger I do believe I might have collapsed on the bed and stayed for a week!

Afternoon Tea here remains one of KL's best kept secrets. By European/UK prices it is also very, very reasonable. A great discovery!



  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank drflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2005

After an idyllic week in Langkawi, dining on the highest quality food in the most exquisitely beautiful surroundings, with unobtrusive yet incomparably thoughtful service wherever we went, we thought that all these expereiences would be matched only by a return visit to this very special restaurant. Two years previously, my partner and I had dined on the finest Malay food imaginable at this atmospheric and wonderfully executed restaurant, that displayed the finest cuisine in the most romantic of settings.

What a difference two years makes! The restaurant was empty, save for a family who were through within a few minutes of our arrival. Now operated by GMH (who own the Datai amongst others) we experienced painfully obtrusive service from an Assistant Restaurant Manager with verbal diarrhoea, a restricted menu that failed to display any of the qualities that we had remembered from our first visit and a bill that exceeded any restaurant bill from the other superb dining experiences on our wonderful trip. Worse still, I had a stomach upset as a souvenir of the visit that lasted throughout the 13 hour flight back to the UK the following morning. In hindsight, it was clear that the kitchen was so under stocked that the ARM had decided before we arrived what he was going to serve up - and it really was quite ghastly!

The setting is still magnificent and a romantic contrast to the high rise steel and glass of ultra modern KL City. One would expect GMH to get their act together over the coming months at The Gulai House, but if our experience is anything to go by, they stand accused of taking money from the gullible under false pretences. Perhaps they would be better off closing for dinner until they can get the right people to serve acceptable food?

All round a sorry experience and a restaurant to be avoided until it makes a serious improvement in the qualities of its kitchen and front of house staff.

19  Thank SurreyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
3.2 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#2 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
889 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
2.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
1,007 reviews
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carcosa Seri Negara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carcosa Seri Negara

Address: Carcosa Seri Negara Taman Tasik Perdana | Persiaran Mahameru, Kuala Lumpur 50480, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Class:5 star — Carcosa Seri Negara 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. Carcosa Seri Negara is located at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have television, IDD with access to internet, and espresso coffee and tea making facilities. Some of its amenities include private butler, private bar, and landscaped garden with outdoor seating. While staying here, it is a must for you to try The Veranda Restaurant, which offers a modern interpretation of Malay cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Carcosa Seri Negara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carcosa Seri Negara Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Carcosa Seri Negara Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing