We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit after 1st Wedding Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carcosa Seri Negara
Ranked #143 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Recently,we re visited Carcosa to have Hi-Tea,our last visit was just the 2 of us, this time with our little junior it makes 3 of us.Our last visit the food & service was really poor but we chose to re visit the place due to it's ambience but to our surprise there is a drastic change.The environment & ambience still as cosy and tranquil as before but the service of the staff have improved a great deal.The staff are more attentive and ever ready to help.They kept asking for our feedbacks regarding the food and they certainly know how to entertain young kids.The food was good and satisfying. It's really a nice place to relax & be pampered. Our visit this time was really a great family outing.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank MayCoriander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerCSN, General Manager at Carcosa Seri Negara, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment during your recent visit to the Drawing Room for High Tea.

Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standards to our guests and I sincerely thank you for your comments.

May I take this opportunity to say that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Carcosa Seri Negara in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 103 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just came back from high tea with my mother. The place is superb, so green and quiet in the middle of the busy KL city.

They serve 2 types of set meal i.e. the English and Malay set with variety choice of tea. All for a price of RM65++ per pax.

Unfortunately, the taste was not good at all !

The service was very poor as compared to other hotels or even other dining places. There were not many customers as it was a rainy Sunday. Very disappointing.

However, this will not hinder me from hanging out at Carcosa because i definitely love the ambience!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerCSN, Front Office Supervisor at Carcosa Seri Negara, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your feedback.

I am heartened to note that you had a generally pleasant visit and have made a note of the point you have mentioned therein, relating to the High Tea experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as a result of these shortcomings. They have been identified to the manager concerned for the necessary rectification.

Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standards to our guests and I sincerely thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you to back to the Carcosa Seri Negara in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Most of the reviews here seem to be about afternoon tea as opposed to stays at the hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights and loved every minute. The site is two properties Carcosa and Seri Negara. Carcosa is shut for renovations but is not close enough to the Seri Negara to interfere with a visit. This is a small, very special property as a former government building with a colonial history. It needs a make over, a little frayed around the edges with a few fittings needing replacement and a touch or paint. It is nevertheless a wonderful building, with staff to match. We stayed in the Kinabalu Stately Suite, huge rooms, huge verandah with table and chairs and loungers. The bathroom was adequate but needs most attention and a deep clean. Why stay here?- well for now its pretty unique in KL as older style upmarket colonial property. It is a little away from the city centre, but taxi's are cheap and pretty to arrive, take a cab to the nearest metro rather than battle the city centre traffic. Its grounds are also beautiful. We did not eat evening meals here, but breakfast on the verandah, cooked to order, was delightful. The rough edges from its age are more than compensated for by the overall experience, sooner or later it will close for refurbishment, the adjoining building already awaits permissions for work, no doubt it will be closed for some time when it does and emerge beautiful but more expensive- go now.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkLucchese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We re-visited Carcosa for High Tea 7 months after our first visit; we enjoyed it so much first time around that we were really looking forward to it. This time it was very busy and there was a large group of noisy Australian tourists who were happily shouting across the Veranda to each other which completely killed the ambience. This is of course somewhat out of the control of the hotel, but pretty much ruined our visit.

As before, the food was not spectacular but there were also some poor items such as the bland trifle, tasteless and undercooked walnut tart and very ordinary sponge cake served in a paper cup. The crockery has also been changed to plain white cups and saucers so it didn't really feel like a special tea service at all.

Overall a bit of a let down, particularly at RM60++ per person. We had considered Carcosa as a special place for us to go for a bit of peace and quiet, but now can't really see us expending the time, effort or money to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank mapmanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Carsosa is a wonderful place to have afternoon tea in Kuala Lumpur. The setting is sublime and the tea is plentiful and delicious.

They cater for vegetarians and you can easily while away a few hours on the terrace. Just don't have a big lunch before you go!

On our last visit I was especially impressed as they produced a gluten free tea set for my husband who has coeliacs disease. It is best to reserve this 48 hours in advance, although in our case even with the bank holiday disruptions their chef managed to rustle up some tasty gluten free treats.

If you live in Malaysia this is the place to bring visiting relatives, especially your mum!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrannersKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

British colonial house with classy indoor and rustic outdoor sittings for afternoon tea. We can choose between traditional english tea menu or malaysian menu. The tea selection is modest and contains the ususal items. The quality of pastries served is at best mediocre. Although the waiters are helpful and attentive, it seems that they are not well-trained to serve traditional english afternoon tea. If you like to enjoy a cup of tea in a peaceful colonial setting, this is right place to be. However, the quality of the pastries alone is difficult to justify the hefty price of RM60++ per person.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wmloke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

If you want to experience the type of life at the British Governor's Residence then stay here for a couple of days. Absolutely charming. The service is superb. The staff are eager to please. The food is excellent. The afternoon tea is traditional. The hotel location may not be desirable to some as it is not in the city centre and one needs a cab to get to town, but if you want to re-live the colonial life style, this hotel will do it.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leehamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
The St. Regis Kuala Lumpur
The St. Regis Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
290 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#2 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#53 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
447 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,937 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carcosa Seri Negara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carcosa Seri Negara

Address: Carcosa Seri Negara Taman Tasik Perdana | Persiaran Mahameru, Kuala Lumpur 50480, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Class:5 star — Carcosa Seri Negara 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed. Carcosa Seri Negara is located at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It offers fully air-conditioned rooms and suites, all of which have television, IDD with access to internet, and espresso coffee and tea making facilities. Some of its amenities include private butler, private bar, and landscaped garden with outdoor seating. While staying here, it is a must for you to try The Veranda Restaurant, which offers a modern interpretation of Malay cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carcosa Seri Negara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carcosa Seri Negara Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Carcosa Seri Negara Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing