We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
KL Plaza Suites Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #307 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed here about 2 years ago and have to say this time around the stay was much better. They're undergoing renovations, which was much needed.

I had 2 separate 2-bedroom suites the entire time for my family and extended family over the course of 2 separate stays.

Firstly, the rooms are cleaner though not 5 star quality. It's more like an above 3.5 stars. Housekeeping comes daily, but I don't they clean as well as they ought to, but it's good enough and it didn't hurt my 12 month old baby crawling / walking around.

We stayed in both the KL Courts and KL Heights rooms, and the rooms on the higher level in KL Heights were far better with newer furniture, e.g. leather couches, newer tables, beds, etc. If you stay here, ask for the higher floors as they're a lot "newer" and nicer.

Bathrooms were quite clean -- a lot cleaner than my last visit where there was some mold present. We had some problems with a leaking toilet but it was fixed the day we reported it.

Beds were either comfortable (no springs poking my back this time!) or super firm, which took such getting used to. Otherwise, they were fine.

Kitchen facilities were fair. They're not kept the cleanest, but it's easy enough to clean it a little to make it usable. I think you have to bring your own pots and pans as that is not provided. However, there is cutlery, dishes, cups and glasses for up to 4 people.

There's no Internet / wifi available; however, if you go down to the mall (Fahrenheit 88) on the ground level where the suites are located, there's free and excellent wifi during the mall hours. If you want to pay for it, you can also get it from Pappa Rich which is very close to the elevators to get to the suites.

Parking can be a bit of a hassle. If you plan to pay by the hour, you've to pay at the AutoPay station. If you are staying overnight, make sure you get it validated as it's RM10 / day (single entrance though) vs. RM30.

Location is still excellent -- next door to the JW Marriott and Ritz Carlton. Note: Planet Hollywood moved. They're opposite the Pavillion Mall, and 1-2 blocks away from Lot10, which has a fairly good food court (Hutong) that showcases all the local hawker food in very clean, air conditioned facilities.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julienlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 73 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

Right in the middle of Bukit Bintang tourists' area - next to Lot 10 and Pavilion malls and a 5 minutes' walk to the monorail train station and Sungai Wang Plaza.

The condo (which is what it is) is kind of rundown though the exterior, the mall area has undergone a major revamp - it is now known as Fahrenheit 88.

It was a hassle getting in/out of the apartment - walk into the mall, turn into a side exit, take the elevator up to level 5, then another ride in another elevator.

We had a two bedroom suite which came with a shared bathroom - for two families, it was somewhat inconvenient. The room came with a Queen bed in each room. There was a big kitchen - but no cooking facilities. And no breakfasts and no internet WiFi.

If you want luxury and comfort, you will have to look elsewhere. But if all you need is just a place to bunk down for the night, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qt030801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The only good thing I can say about the KL Plaza suites is its location - Bukit Bintang. But finding it was a battle in itself. The building has absolutely nothing to identify it at all. After finding it we made our way up to the fifth floor in a rickety,dirty, smelly lift to find reception. Upon booking in we were directed across a concrete quadrangle to another rickety, smelly,dirty lift to make our way to our floor. Then into our room. Wow what a delight. A water heater had to be turned on for half an hour prior to get hot water, the shower head in the shower just spurted water onto the ceiling, the only way to get wet was to try to catch it as it fell from the ceiling, the toilet lid was broken and hung off at an odd angle, the handbasin plug, when pushed down wouldn't come up again so the water just had to slowly leak out, the parquetry tiles on the floor were lifting and uneven and covered with dirt. The pool area was roped off for non existant maintenance, the pool lounge area didn't exist. The children's playground was two bits of equipment stuck up against a wall on the roof of one of the buildings. The security safe in the room was broken, there was no top sheet on the bed. The entire building is totally run down - with obviously no maintenance being done at all. After lasting 24 hours we checked out (we had booked in for 7 days) and the staff weren't even surprised. - they were probably surprised that we had lasted as long as we had. This place is a Dump with a capital D.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chelseapop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

I booked thus hotel as we wanted a place that could accommodate 3adults and 1child and this was it..in the heart of KL.

We drove down from Penang. The entrance was covered with those construction piling, you would easily miss it. The hotel does not offer free parking, but a "convenient" fee of RM5 per entrance!!

The walkway was as if walking into an extremely old badly managed apartment and having to change between 2 lifts was a pain. They're currently going thru renovation into the new farenheit88 and the waiting lobby for the lifts and if I may say so, the lifts look 1,000 times better than the ones for the apartments.

Security is poor..to exit the building to Bkt Bintang was thru a partially in-construction area. There was no security guard to even mend the location.

Rooms are tolerable if u are expecting a service apartment..very spacious indeed. Big no no was there is only 1 bathroom for a 2-bedroom suite!! Rooms are NOT Internet friendly and neither are the staff at the counters. They charge RM10 per hr for Internet usage.

Location is superb, it's exactly opposite Pavillion and in between Starhill & Lot10. My suggestions would to wait till farenheit88 opens and hopefully u don't feel like u're a construction worker on a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leonbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The location of the hotel is near to a big shopping centre called The Pavillion, the latest player on KL's retail belt. Apart from that, the other retail blocks are just walking distance away, such as Berjaya Time Square, BB Plaza, Lot 10 and Sungai Wang Plaza. Food is just within reach.

The hotel is on a midst of renovation at the lower parts of the building and not much of safety measures for guests are displayed. The exterior looks very yucky as you can see the building is poorly maintained on the outside, with grimes on the walls of the building. The room was very spacious for the 2 or 3 bedroom apartments. Reception was quite frinedly but the other are not commendable. The tv in the room is still the conventional tv (not LCD), only 3 channels which are available, that is TV1, TV2 and TV3 only. The stoves just don't work, so it's pointless buying stuffs to have home cooked meals. One thing in particular is the inventory list. It states things which are not in the room. I called up reception on the day of check in to ask for a kettle since it'll be charged at RM100++ if found missing, and was told that Housekeeping will send it right away. The kettle did not arrive until day of check out. Room has got no phone to make calls out.
Check out wasn't a breeze though. You have to wait for at least 20-30 min for Housekeeping to check the room before the Receptionists let you off. That is such an old-school practice which many hotels in Singapore don't practice any longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarkzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The place is so run down.My car was covered with dust due to renovation. the lobby doesn't even look like a lobby. Everywhere was dust. The gym equipments look so old, pool looks wierd. The lifts is extremely horrible. You need to take two different lifts just to get to the lobby then the rooms. The rooms is tremendously horrible. The furniture is so old, no toiletries, flush don't work properly. No Astro Channels. Air conditioner is so noisy everytime. That will be my last visit to this place. The worst of all. I don't recommend this place to others..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZIckstrifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Though well located, but the repairs scheduled this year spoils the stay. Average room interior.Not so impressive. No good lounge to have access to WIFI.Overall below average.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msarguroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
Gold 3 Boutique Hotel
#116 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
#67 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chaos Hotel
Chaos Hotel
#123 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#98 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#87 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KL Plaza Suites Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KL Plaza Suites Kuala Lumpur

Address: Kl Plaza Suites 179 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $70 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KL Plaza Suites Kuala Lumpur 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your KL Plaza Suites Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kl Plaza Suites Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kl Plaza Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing