We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #61 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Just okay”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The room was spacious and nice. The amenities are fine too and location is good. Service staff was also friendly.

However, the tv was pretty old and laced in such a way that only 1 person can watch it, either u turn it to the bed or turn it to the sofa. So we could not enjoy watching the tv together.

AND, the wifi was probably the most horrible experience. For the price I am paying per night, the wifi speed is only 1mbps shared router with ALL the towers. The result is, u either don't even get connected or if u do, u will lose access every minute.

I mean, even a budget hotel gave me a much3 higher wifi speed so I don't understand why the wifi was at least a DECENT speed.

I had to go down and sign up for internet service with a mobile servic eprovider so that I could continue doing my work on the laptop.

So overall, I would say my experience was just OKAY. Nothing splendid. Nothing fancy. I won't however pay that price to come there again though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianFarhana22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    889
    452
    167
    182
See reviews for
864
645
112
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Overall the service is good, large room with good location but decor for the rooms seem likes 10 years ago, if possible please upgrade especially the bed, TV & carpet. A bit confusion between Tower East & West. We always confused especially parking bay between 2 towers. We have to walk a long way after check-out from lobby to get lift to parking bay. Staff provide a good service to upgrade our room from Studio type to Premier Studio as we required a large bed.

Room Tip: Higher floor with nice view. We stay at level 36.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymoon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in a suite, it was very nice. We were on 30th floor or something and the view was breathtaking.
The hotel staff is very sweet and polite. I loved staying here. Good buffet breakfast.
We had a great time staying in this hotel and I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aakriti_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was my first time I stayed at this hotel, what a surprise. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful.
I arrived early in the morning expecting to be told that a room would not be available until the afternoon as has happened to me at other hotels, however the staff had a room ready for me which was great surprise.
The room was huge and very comfortable.
I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is attached to a big shopping complex, that had restaurants, a cinema, coffee shops to name a few.
I only had two nights at this hotel so did not have time to utilize all of the facilities.
I have no problems in recommending this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay at in KL.
I wish to thank all the staff for their friendliness and helpfullness during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

There is a very large convention going on and some participants who booked in advance online could not get their rooms when they arrived. The hotel had overbooked or did not control their online bookings. Many of these unfortunate online bookers had to be turned away last minute & told to go to another hotel 2 streets away or find their own accommodation.

Our party arrived a few days earlier and was able to check in relatively fuss free as the reception had lesser people. Our family has a room on a high floor and has a pretty good view of Petronas & surroundings. The scenery is better at night. The 2-bedroom types are large and comfortable. There is even a nice pantry with good size fridge and kettle, cups, glasses & teaspoons; no plates or forks and knives though.

The hotel itself is very convenient and the security staff appears quite sharp. As the hotel is next to the shopping centre, there could be many "outsiders". Sometimes security will approach us when we were waiting for someone or looking a little lost at the lobby just to check.

I think as a large hotel with large convention facilities, the hotel ought to buck up on the sales & marketing side as well as be more organized at the reception for large groups. Otherwise, the hotel is convenient to most locations like Sungei Wang, Lot 10 & Pavilion & famous food streets. The monorail is also in front although it doesn't go anywhere useful. Also, compliments to housekeeping staff who are polite and greet guests.

Room Tip: High floors give good views but lift system is down collective, stops on a lot of floors if there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

stayed for 03 nights , was good !!! rooms are little bit old ones , but spacious. location is very good . if they can renovate the rooms this one can be one of the top among those in KUL ... use the advantages already have and make it more better !!!

Room Tip: ask room on high floors !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked a secret hotel in Kuala Lumpur because we didn't know which one to choose. We were given the Berjaya Times Square. Wow, what a lovely time we had there! The room we were given was a suite with a separate bathroom with a big shower and bath, a separate large toilet, a kitchen, and a combined lounge, dining room and office. We had fantastic views from the 29th floor. The hotel consists of 2 towers with a shopping centre between. The bar and dining rooms are on the 14th floor and the pool is on the 15th. The pool is the biggest we have ever seen with water spouts and water falls. The shopping centre has 6 floors of shopping, a food court on the lower ground floor where we paid AUD$2.30 for a meal. Above the 5th floor is an amusement park reaching up to the 10th floor. Also it housed a bowling alley, archery, cinemas and a college. The mono-rail is across the road and is cheap to catch. **The staff, especially the bell boys, could not do enough for us. We were treated like kings! We found the beds a bit hard, and housekeeping gave us pillow top mattresses which allowed us to have a good night's sleep. If we have the chance to go again, guess where we will be staying?? Thank you Berjaya Times Square for the wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Hotel Istana
Hotel Istana
#20 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: 1 Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Times Square Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#50 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, a five-star hotel under the hospitality arm of the public listed Malaysian conglomerate Berjaya Corporation, is a prominent landmark strategically located in the heart of the city’s banking, commercial and vibrant shopping district. With a total of 650 rooms & suites complete with international-standard amenities, the hotel also houses an extensive selection of food and beverage outlets and recreational facilities built exclusively with a children’s playground, swimming pool, steam and sauna room, fitness centre and two squash courts. Offering a distinctive Meetings Excellence programme; boasts 13 meeting rooms and a grand ballroom, Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is definitely an excellent setting where business complements leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Berjaya Times Square Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing