We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but only Average Hotel....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #57 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Location but only Average Hotel....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I was attending an exhibition for several days at Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and the Corus is an excellent location. Nearby there are the Petronas Towers and Suria Mall with many eating and shopping choices. The LRT (Metro) station is just five minutes walk from the hotel. I have stayed at the Corus several times previously and my opinion has been consistent. The rooms are fairly spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you need for a few days stay. I find the beds very comfortable with two big fluffy pillows. I had breakfast included but would have been quite happy to take it elsewhere as it is poor when compared to other KL hotels. The tea is like brown hot water, the coffee revolting and the hot buffet lacks any taste. My colleagues concurred, so it is hardly my personal taste at fault. The hotel desperately needs a skilled executive chef to bring some taste to the cuisine. I have eaten lunch and dinner here before and the opinion is much the same, although during this stay I ate out. The ‘Nasi Kandar Pelita’ restaurant across the footbridge offers much tastier food than the Corus. The hotel is clean and tidy if looking a little dated. The outside certainly needs a long overdue coat of paint as it looks a bit grubby. If you are looking for a well placed hotel but are not too bothered about the boring breakfast then this could be for you. I’ll probably stay here again one day but will think twice about taking the breakfast !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back for some peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    736
    347
    103
    58
See reviews for
340
391
132
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

I booked this hotel in march in preperation for our Malaysia trip in april. We were a bit dissapointed in this hotel once we left after our first 4 days in Kuala Lumpur.

Pros: Location (walking distance from the Petronas Towers and KLCC), LRT station nearby, short taxi ride to Bukit Bintang area, everything is clean and linen/towel changes takes place everyday. In terms of hygiene and location it's a great hotel

The main con is the staff, who imho lack any form of friendliness. The reception staff are acting like they have nothing better to do. If you arrive in a hotel, you expect the staff to give you a warm welcome, we are the customers after all. Thumbs up for the staff at the bar, who were the only ones that gave some personal touch to our stay, after 1 day or so providing us with our usual recipe of diet coke and wifi-access receipts every time we sat down.

If you like a warm personal touch to your stay in a hotel that pretends to be personal; I would not recomment the Corus. For the same amount of money the Istana hotel gives you much more. Otherwise: recommended for a minimum of 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srananbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Spent 4 days n 3 nites in Kuala lumpur for a short getaway in may 2011. I m used to stay at Berjaya time square however the rates have gone up. I decided to take aeroline bus this time n book Corus hotel.

Aeroline bus

There are bus leaving harbourfront center singapore every hour. I took the 9am bus n bus leave promptly. It is a double decker bus with lounge on the 1st deck and seating on the 2nd deck. Seat is spacious with power point plugs on every seat. The bus provide an assistant that will serve you hot snacks n drinks while on route to kl. They will also provide blanket as the aircon can be quite cold after a few hours. The bus ticket is quite expensive compare to other bus operator however the comfort and service is worth it!

Corus hotel

Aeroline stops directly infront on Corus hotel. The hotel looks quite old as it has been there for many years. The room looks normal and quite clean. The setup of the room is old fashion as the only thing new is the LCD tv. The room is clean n comfortable nonetheless. The rates does not I include breakfast however there are many stalls n stalls near the hotel which offer cheaper n variety choices.

The plus point of this hotel location! It's directly infront of KLCC which is just 5 minutes walk across from the hotel. The putra lrt station is also next to the hotel so it is easy to travel around KL. There is also the famous Nasi Kandar Pelita right across the hotel which is great for breakfast, lunch, dinner or supper.

Overall, a great stay in Corus hotel. Definitely will consider staying there again on my next KL trip...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w4ss4p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Comfortable hotel, only 5 minute walk from KLCC/Petronas towers/Suria shopping mall. Food court and convenience store over the road from hotel. Lovely pool and pool surrounds. Very good breakfasts. Check-in and check-out was efficient. Mattresses a bit hard. Hotel Spa services excellent, can recommend the foot reflexology and full body massage. Overall, hotel was good value for money paid.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Jalan Ampang, traffic noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stillbreathin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We chose the Corus because it offered the latest checkout but unfortunately it's one of the few pluses. When we booked we were told we would have a non smoking room but upon arrival we were put on a smoking floor & the whole room reeked of cigarette smoke. When we asked to be moved to a non smoking room they reluctantly agreed but suddenly became very cold towards us (is it a crime???!!!), They even told us to go & get our own bags, not really a problem but the willingness to be helpful had quite suddenly dissappeared. The rooms were clean but very dated & small. We had just been to 2 other destinations in Malaysia & stayed in similar priced hotels where the quality & standard were far superior to the Corus. The location was good for seeing the Petronus towers but the Suria was an expensive place to shop com[ared to Bukit Bintang.
By the end of our stay the only really friendly staff we found were the cleaning & laundry staff, they were excellent & should be congratulated.
If there was a saving grace for this hotel it would be the food, every meal we had in the hotel was excellent so well done to the chefs.
They get bus loads pulling in from Singapore so we were wondering if that's why they don't make an effort to be friendly, as they are always going to get a crowd, who knows??!! The staff should just remember it costs nothing to smile.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferrellius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Completely underwhelmed by this proclaimed 4 star hotel. Bad checkin staff to a night duty manager who was more interested in his mobile phone call than to deal with a customer request (mine). Also air con in room is weak and doesn't really cool the room off at night. Old hotel and old musty rooms. I also think it is outrageous to charge 45 or so Ringgits for 24 hour internet access.

Positive in that it is close to KLCC (walking distance) and some decent restaurants nearby.

There are much better hotels to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Location is fine,accomodations below average,swiming pool ok,Rooms very basic,But Exclusively Budget Like Many Other Hotels In KL

Room Tip: Rooms All Basic But Try To Get Twin Towers View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Persia1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#42 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Apple Boutique Hotel @ KLCC
Le Apple Boutique Hotel @ KLCC
#56 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
#53 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
PNB Perdana On The Park
PNB Perdana On The Park
#66 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: Corus Hotel Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#41 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#48 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur, part of the UK-based Corus hotel group, is one of the most popular 4-star business hotels in Kuala Lumpur with 388 well-equipped guestrooms and unsurpassed ballroom and meeting/function rooms that will hold small and large groups comfortably. Located in the Golden Triangle, Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur offers high speed broadband, cable LCD TV, sauna, free shuttle services to Bukit Bintang and Chinatown to name a few. Leisure seekers can swim in the pool surrounded by a garden terrace, exercise in the gymnasium by the poolside or be pampered at Danai Spa or at the pavilion in the garden terrace. Apart from that, Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur provides guests with exceptional hospitality, personalised service and distinctive dining experience. All-day dining and weekly themed hi tea is available at Dondang Sayang Coffee House, which serves local and International cuisines. Ming Palace Chinese Restaurant offers the best Cantonese and Szechuan dishes, while authentic Japanese fare is available at Komura Japanese Restaurant. A wide variety of drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) are served at Kencana Lounge and The Cellar with daily (except Mondays) live performance by the in-house musicians. The hotel is just 5 minutes' walking distance to the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Suria KLCC shopping mall with over 500 retail outlets of trendy fashion, dining, entertainment and year-round exciting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Fastbooking so you can book your Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corus Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Corus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing