We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a 3 star and not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #65 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Unfortunately, we were disappointed because the facilities are very old. The rooms do not look like a room that one should find in a five star,ie, TV was not a flat screen, switches were lose and looked dangerous, part of the curtain fell off and was hanging, the blind broke, the towels are no longer bright white, but darker white, the towel rails are loose, the telephone is old, the shower room floor and the room floor are scratched and needs to be revanished. everything is old, and tired looking. Definitely not a 5 star.. only good thing is the location.

Room Tip: Rooms are old, so do not expect a 5 star facility then you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HondexAmbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,578)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

Here for a conference and generally it was good. Staff were excellent, friendly and efficient. My room was big with good views though strange sliding walls and doors and lack of power points annoyed. Lack of outdoor areas made it a bit claustrophobic and it could do with a proper bar. But it was fine for a conference.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Unfortunately we only booked Hotel Maya for one night, which meant we couldn't make use of everything the place has to offer. But that's okay because I can't wait to go back.

First of all, the price was intriguingly low for a five star property, and in retrospect the best value for money you could possibly get.

The hotel is fabulously located right across from KLCC which gives you a good access to the city's sights and transport options.
At 200-something rooms it is just the right size for the service to be personal. Actually, I hardly saw any other guests during our stay which may have been due to low occupancy, or it just being a very quiet place in general.

Modern, clean and stylish, yet not sterile but homey the hotel's interior is really fascinating and welcoming. We checked in early but were not delayed at all, even got a free upgrade to the Deluxe Suite which is truly a superb room.
The check-in reminded me more of a club lounge than a regular Reception desk, with seats and welcome drinks being offered. We left the desk with our arms full of maps, brochures (all helpfully explained by the receptionist) and discount vouchers for the spa, the restaurant and whatnot. When I returned home my friend revealed that she regularly stayed at the Maya and wouldn't stop talking about the pool, making me regret not having checked it out myself.

Our room had a majestic view, lovely contemporary design and was just extremely spacious. I just had my problems with the window blinds mechanism which seems to break very easily.

Guests enjoy a free drink at the sky lounge which offers a great view of the skyline at night and makes a great spot to relax after a busy day out. Unfortunately there aren't really many seats there.

The service overall but specifically from the Front Office staff is extremely friendly and efficient (something I have found to be rare in KL) and I was very impressed to receive a personal E-Mail from the Director of Rooms responding to the comment card I had left. This shows how seriously guest feedback is taken and how diligently it is followed up on - which is the key to developing excellent service. Just the attentiveness of staff in the F&B outlets lags a little behind my expectations.

All in all, I have found my regular hotel in Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: There is a graveyard on one side of the building, which some people dislike.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c9007rsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

For little money you get everything: big room, view to the Patronas Towers or Menara, good location, service and so on. Spa, pool, good reastaurant.. a room still was rather old but big, from bath you can see bedroom and vice-versa.Recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agatha219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went to this hotel before heading to Melaka. Service is fabulous! The staff even greeted my husband Happy Birthday upon check in as it was his birthday. They also upgraded our room as a compliment for my husband birthday. Room is nice and the spa is great. Nicely decorated room with a nice bathtub.
Breakfast is great with a nice spread of food. Overall, very nice. Hotel and will stay again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaasiatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located in the very city centre, just across the road from the KL Business and Shopping Centre. There is a lovely spa, a decent gym and a good bar as part of hotel amenities. The Tourist Centre is also just across the road. Other thing next to it is a night club, and an old gent serves deep fried or boiled snacks cooked in your presence close to the night club every Thu and Fri.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
Thank safaricakes s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Awesome hotel, very neat and clean rooms, modular bathrooms, ultimate sky lounge which gives you very good panoramic view of KL skyscrapers.The buffet breakfast was excellent ...everything above mark...adjacent to Twin towers. location is very good. it has indoor pool which is very good. i visited in dec 2010.

Room Tip: Take Petronas facing room. You will get fantastic view in night. must include buffet breakfast, it w...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aman_Gosal_Madahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
#35 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#40 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Residence Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#24 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,767 reviews
0.8 mi away
GTower Hotel
GTower Hotel
#30 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur

Address: Hotel Maya 138 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $72 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur is a boutique urban resort hotel, located just an 8 minute walk away from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. This designer hotel has 206 well appointed rooms - 100 studios and 106 suites. Check-in can be as early as 7a.m with prior arrangement, and all rooms enjoy butler services. Highlights of the hotel include the Sky Lounge which offers a stunning view of the city skyline, and our hydrotherapy pool at Anggun Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing