We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One time luxury, now outdated and run down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #53 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One time luxury, now outdated and run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Maya Hotel had long been on my list of must try in KL. It always sounded like a unique boutique hotel at the center of the golden triangle, and I finally had the chance to try it

Thanks to a last minute reservation, we ended up having a 15% discount, leading to 347 RM per night before tax and service charge: pretty decent for the location

Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and granted me (but not my colleague?) with a room upgrade. I was very excited until I opened the door and found a huge room + living room.... totally empty: a king size bed, a small sofa facing a cabinet and two chairs in against the window. To be fair my colleague's room was of normal size and felt more cosy

In addition to feeling empty, the room was also very cold, with the AC set on 10 degrees when entering the premises. Even a hot shower in the beautiful bathroom and a bathrobe from the walk in wardrobe did not help.... A shame considering the bed was very comfortable and the shades very dark. We noted the windows were not thick enough to block the sound of the prayer at 5am.....

We did not get to try the breakfast as the price was a little expensive (65 RM) but the proximity to KLCC (litteraly 5min walk) made the trick.

So overall, a little disappointed, and still have not found a better deal than Traders Hotel. The search for the best hotel in KL continues...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    562
    252
    90
    61
See reviews for
226
670
116
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at hotel maya for two nights on our recent trip to Asia. The hotel itself is in a good location, walking distance to the patronas towers and a ten minute drive to Chinatown.

The rooms are getting a little dated, had the potential to be amazing with a little paint and refinishing. Our first stay we had a room overlooking the towers which was a great view.

Staff were helpful, but we had a problems with the wifi on both our stays which required a trip to reception to fix. Room service was tasty and quick but a little overpriced for what you got. Hotel operates a free shuttle once a night to Chinatown which was greatly appreciated.

Hotel itself was ok, but in terms of value for money I think there are better hotels out there in similar locations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed on the sky bar floor and our room was at the bottom of the corridor right next to the sky bar and terrace and looking directly on to the Petronas towers (about two blocks away) For the view of those amazing towers it was awsome. The hotel however is basically in need of some refurnbishment and is perhaps more three star. . Some staff were great and some less so. Breakfast was good and a wide variety. There is a Very high end mall within walking distance from the hotel but not much else. We went to visit China town night market on the Saturday night we were there but found it to be full of Indian merchants selling copy watches, tshirts ect and all with the same things . Definately for us not worth the time or effort to find it .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotdeemex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Ok, so I looked online & hotel maya seemed a good choice for location, stars & price
In reality, location seems good, great view across road to petronis towers, but hotel itself is not 5 stars
Its been refurbished to look the part but the workmanship is poor and standard of finish is poor with lots of walls and corners and fittings not quite joining and filled with gap filler
Already showing wear & tear
Slow checkin, paid upfront, then wanted additional security. That's ok, but had to process credit card again, room turns out to be smoking and wait 20 mins with porter whilst recepion allocate alternate. Porter gives up waiting and dissapears for another 10 mins
Finally get in to room and 3 versions of wifi don't work, in the end recepion allocates another guest's wifi password/name

So far, 1st night is really just average 4star hotel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppaul4700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We walked to the hotel from the KLCC train station, about 500m away. When you approach the hotel on foot it is actually quite confusing because the reception area is on level one and the ground level is taken up by the restaurants. We had to ask someone where the reception was because the signage wasn't that great, just be aware.

The staff were very nice and explained everything. I had originally booked a Junior Suite for one night but changed to two nights. The only rooms left was a Deluxe Suite which we accepted the the hotel upgraded us for free on the second night. Very nice of them!

The view is pretty good, there is some building going on across the road with pile driving. This created some noise but it wasn't too bad. The room was light and clean. It is true that the rooms are starting to look a little tired such as the furniture, wooden floors and the older CRT TV. The bed is really comfortable and the sheets are of high quality.

The bathroom is pretty good with a rainfall shower and about the deepest bath I have ever seen.

The choice of breakfast food was great. There is a buffet style and you can also order food at your table off the set menu. We also had a paper delivered every morning which was a nice surprise.

The hotel is a very short walk to the KLCC shopping center and a close walk to two different train/ monorail lines. From the airport we took the KLCC express and then a subway train to KLCC then walked. It took us just over an hour.

Room Tip: View of the Twin Towers on an upper level to avoid some of the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimboAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The only thing good about this hotel is its location, very central. It is right across from the Twin Petronas Towers.

All else is very poor. It might sound harsh, but this hotel claims that it is at least four stars. What a joke!

The rooms are old (fittings are falling off in the bathroom and I even had ants in the bathroom), room service couldn't be bothered to read my laundry order and shrunk my shirts, the food is so so, the list goes on.

For the money you pay for this hotel there are better options. Be warned!

Room Tip: I cannot recommend a stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Os_Ishmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at Maya hotel for 2 nights, location is excellent with 5 minutes walk to Petronas Twin towers and the huge KLCC Mall. Very pleasant pool area, great breakfast, de luxe rooms are very spacious, about the double size of normal hotel. Free internet.

Evert evening there is a free coffee/the and cookies on the 13 Th floor balcony with fantastic view of the shining twin towers at night. Bring your camera when you go for coffee! Drinks are available at a cost.

Taxis are easy to get outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view a of Twin towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#42 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#57 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
#36 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
Ascott Kuala Lumpur
#16 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur
Address: Hotel Maya 138 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur is a boutique urban resort hotel, located just an 8 minute walk away from Kuala Lumpur City Centre. This designer hotel has 206 well appointed rooms - 100 studios and 106 suites. Check-in can be as early as 7a.m with prior arrangement, and all rooms enjoy butler services. Highlights of the hotel include the Sky Lounge which offers a stunning view of the city skyline, and our hydrotherapy pool at Anggun Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Maya Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing