We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the bad and the ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #35 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Good, the bad and the ugly”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at th Renaissance 12th April to 15th April and separately on the 19th April. As the title suggest we saw the good and the bad side on the hotel after our recent stay.

The good - for our first stay, check in was great, really friendly chap on reception and an upgrade to an executive suite (room 1919). The room was excellent, spacious, good bed, room service is great, food was good, i ordered a green thai curry that was really tasty. The location is great, 2 minutes to the metro station, then 2 stops in to Bukit Bintang. We found the cost of a cab to the airport a rip off, 130 ringits to the airport, the cost should be no more then 80 to 100. I'd recommend hailing a cab from elsewhere but its so humid its just so convenient to order the cab from the front of the hotel but id recommend arranging somethhing alternative. Overall the first stay was really great 9/10.

The bad and ugly- our second stay on the 19th April. Lady at check in offered us a twin room, we refused (as we'd paid for a double) and we were given room 1217 in the east wing. She did offer us an upgrade to an exec suite room for 60 ringgits (which on reflection we should have taken), but we didnt because we didnt expect the room to be as poor as it turned out to be. Bathroom door didnt close, plug socket near bed falling off, black hairs all over bathroom, lamps in room werent working and got bitten by a bed bug over night. Went down stairs to order food at poolside bar and our meals (chicken satay and lamb kebabs) were ad vertised as coming with rice but neither did, we were tired from our connecting flight so didnt bother to fight it. Overall our 2nd experience if the hotel was far in ferior from our first.

In summary - if you're staying in an exec suite then this is well worth it (and you'll have a flawless stay) but if you're in a regular room then dont bother. Im going to mark the hotel overall 8/10 but thats because of our exec room experience but the regular double room experience for us was really poor and next time i'd just go and stay at the shangri-la.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1217 in the east wing but room 1919 in the west wing is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SimonRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    1,248
    551
    172
    115
See reviews for
708
1,204
211
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (827)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed there for 6 days and the location was very good, the train is minute away and the twin towers are 10 mins away if you walk
Rooms are old but the amenities were very good I was their Marriott member and request a higher floor with a nice view but when I arrive they only have a low floor room with not very good view but the room was upgrad to a suite so I just take a look and found the room very nice and big with a sofa big study table and the toilet had both the shower and bath which I found very nice as we were with kids
And the offer me a late check out till 1400
But be aware that they don't have wifi in rooms only cable Internet is available and I didn't bring my laptop therefore complementary Internet was no use to me , you can bring your own modern if you want a wifi in your room
They got free wifi in the lobby and swimming pool but if you are using I phone you have to browse through safari first and accept the condition on use before you can use it as I don't know and can't use it on first day luckily a guest in the hotel tell me
The swimming pool can use the word perfect to described

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yash7611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed in the junior suite. It was extremely spacious and the room, both living and the bedroom were very clean. The master bathroom was huge and there was an additional toilet just the entrance for any guests. The location is very favourable for tourists. It is 5 mins walking from the twin towers and one can reach the KL menara by taxi within 5 mins as well. The se ice is exemplary and the hotel was very cheap compared to other 5 star establishments in other parts of the world. After a night out, it is easy to reach the hotel as it is very close to the city centre. The beds are really comfortable and the amenities provided were very good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhishekdas1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here last week in the West Wing short notice after we we missed all our connecting flights due to the Tsumani alert in Phuket. I cant praise them enough. Service was excellent, upon arrival nothing was too much trouble. The buffett and breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The hotel was close to Petronis Towers and the shopping area. The sky train station was a stones throw away which was used often to go to Bukit Bitang for shopping. I was in KL last year and stayed at the Traders Hotel which was more expensive and closer to Petronis, I felt the service there was not as good at here.Thanks Renaissance you made an unexpected quite stressful stay into a nice relaxing experience.

Room Tip: chose the west wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buxton2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sg
Level Contributor
209 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

The new lifestyle rooms are simply wonderful, truly living up to international Marriott standards. Location is ideal for nightlife and shopping, with klcc a stone's throw away! Will be back very soon, hopefully all the rooms will get a facelift very soon !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

first off- since it is a luxury group, you would expect more than what you got here.
Yes its comfortable but that's taken for granted with a chain.
The lobby (east wing specially) is crowded and almost like a train station with the number of people there.
West wing is a little better.
I thought the rates should have included breakfast. It is quite pricey a hotel for what it offers.
Location- great, you can walk to a few malls and shopping places.
Rooms- not so great. Not well maintained and the shower areas in all 3 rooms that i changed through the course of my stay leaked and were not the cleanest. (including a junior suite)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittycat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was a return visit having stayed here in January. I use this hotel to break long haul flights and it is very reasonably priced as well as having all the amenities I need. I was upgraded to a suite which was well-equiped and wi-fi connection was excellent. Breakfast is quite ample with sufficient choices including smoked salmon, omelettes made to your specifications, fruit, pastries, french toast, yogurts and lots of other things. I always enjoy the very large swimming pool (can be overshadowed by tall buildings at times of the year but perfect in April.) Water was warm and inviting. The fitness centre is large and extremely well-equiped. They also run Les Mills classes and I enjoyed a pump class with one other participant prior to going back to airport. If you are into group exercise classes, check the timetable on arrival so that you might be lucky enough to have a class that suits you during your stay.

The bed was very comfortable and the room very quiet at night. I am an insomniac but had a full eight hours continuous sleep - something I haven't done in decades!

Staff is pleasant and it's a hotel I am happy to keep returning to because there are plenty of eating options and good recreation facilities. Also reception staff is very helpful and will cheerfully check you in early, and indeed give you a free late check-out if they can. I like the fact that they don't come across as greedy and trying to get the last dollar out of you like some other places do. They seem to genuinely want you to enjoy your stay. If anything has been overlooked in your room, they always respond quickly to remedy the situation. I always leave very refreshed for the next leg of my journey. If you are holidaying in KL, it's also convenient as the monorail station (Bukit Nanas is almost across the road and will take you to KL Sentral or two stops to Bukit Bintang where there are very good shopping plazas. I'm not a great shopper but it was extremely convenient to go and buy a new adapter for my computer without cutting too much into my short stay.

I was on my own this time but I think it's a good place for families.

Room Tip: Put requests into hotel for what you want - e.g. quiet, high up, low down etc. and they will definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.1 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Property: Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Address: Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 910
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the heart of Malaysia while enjoying a wide range of exceptional amenities at the Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Collection. Providing an unparalleled location, ideal for business or leisure, our KL City hotel's expansive offering of sophisticated guest rooms and suites feature deluxe bedding, high-speed Internet and marble bathrooms. Filling two magnificent towers, our choice of accommodations includes those with lounge access, picturesque views of the city skyline and lavish hospitality services. Boasting a plethora of dining options, our seven restaurants offer everything from authentic Chinese cuisine to a tantalising all-day buffet, along with outdoor dining next to our Olympic-sized pool. As one of the premier convention hotels in Kuala Lumpur, our venue features state-of-the-art facilities and the largest pillar-free ballroom in Malaysia. And, for the ultimate relaxation, experience our on-site Mandara Spa, with its soothing atmosphere and luxury treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing