We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always find it obliging...”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #32 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always find it obliging...”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time, previously for a month & recently for a week. Although this hotel is aged & probably does have rooms that need refurbishing it is very friendly & our stay included daily a fabulous breakfast. We had a suite which was very comfortable.It also has a very cross section of cultures staying which makes it a very interesting place. Due to rebuilding of the shopping mall adjoining this hotel the special offers were well worth taking up. E.g.dining, pool drinks etc. up to 50% reduction .... we rate this a worthwhile place to stay in KL, very close to LRT which made going
places extremely easy. Wifi worked well too.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool, there was no interference from the construction of the shopping mall. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soothedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Soothedtraveller, Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us. And most of all thank you very much for being a great supporter to Sunway Putra Hotel. I will definitely share your wonderful highlights with my colleagues.

We look forward in welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    567
    204
    73
    56
See reviews for
358
456
106
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

stayed for 4 nights, business trip with work partners. room was ok, breakfast a bit boring as mostly the same everyday, no internet, once is enough, i prefer the san pacific. unlucky because the mall was no more

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msramlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear NRamlan, thank you for your constructive feedback! I am sorry to read of your remarks in regards to our breakfasts of which I have shared with my Executive Chef and his Team.

However, I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Initially was given a room that was not made and had a leaky ceiling. Was upgraded as such to a suite :). Rooms are of good size though rather bare and business-like. Bathroom is of also large.
Room service is good though the menu is not extensive.
Breakfast buffet has a nice big spread and good :).
Hotel service people are very good and welcoming :).
Hotel is beside the PWTC LRT-station, making connection to any part of KL easy :).
The mall beside the hotel is under re-construction though the noise did not enter the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor and with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Kim C, thank you for your valuable time in sharing your review with us. It is very encouraging to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Again, thank you for your highlights and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Putra Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just came out the hospital so needed to get some rest. Booked a Deluxe Twin and asked for a quiet side. We got an upgrade and the room was big and beautiful. But the construction was right beneath us. We asked for a room at the other side. There were none left and we got an apartment with 2 bedrooms and terrace facing the Twin Towers! Thanks again to Adam from reception.
Huge apartment and no noise from the construction at all. Was very quiet, you only hear the skytrain. Didn't bother us, but you hear it. But very comfortable and spacious, kitchen, living room, great. Breakfast was very good, fresh croissants, pastries, many Asian dishes. And it's till 10:30! Wifi worked well in the rooms, the skytrain is next door. Also easy to get a taxi. You get discounts in their restaurants due to the construction noise.
On the right side of the hotel, 300 meters or so (opposite of KFC) is a very good Indian restaurant, Hydrabad. Small supermarkets are close by. Perfect staff, hotel is very clean, lt is outdated maybe but they are still renovating the place, but for the price we paid we had an excellent deal.

Room Tip: The higher the better, and ask for a room that is not facing the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessavanweelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Tessavanweelie, hope you are in a tremendous health. I truly appreciate your wonderful feedback.

We do apologize about the construction noise and I am glad to hear that we took care of your issues quickly and effectively.

Till then, we sure do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Khorasan, Iran
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

i stayed in sunwayputra for 6 times! and for about 42 night . very nice hotel . excellent pool with nice view of petronas (twin towers) . very good and various good quality breakfast. very large and nice lobby . comfort room. notice if you want a big room you can choose the rooms that haven't view to the pool . all the rooms that have a pool view are smaller than the others. very large and good mall in beside of hotel but this days it;s under construction. you can find many cabs in front of hotel and monorail is very closed to hotel . staffs are helpful and rooms and services are good.
you can find god restaurant and on branch of MacDonald and KFC beside hotel also recipe restaurant and shops beside hotel .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reza T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reza T, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Sunway Putra Hotel! We appreciate you very much as a repeat guest and at the same time, very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely share your highlights with my Team.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Malo, France
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The sunway Putra hotel is above a mall which is currently under renewal work and this is not disturbing at all. My room has been renovated (the rooms’ photos are not valid any more) and was spacious and clean. The staff is helpful and friendly. The pool facilities are great (free snack, and tea), lockers, showers,… perfect to refresh before flying away on the late evening. The only drawback is the location of the hotel (at least as long as the mall is not reopened): there is not a lot of restaurant in the surrounding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franckjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Franckjb, Thank you so much for your review of Sunway Putra Hotel! I appreciate the feedback and will definitely share your kind words with our entire team.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our property.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Former Legend hotel. My go-to hotel in KL for many years. Location was and still is strategic. No significant changes noticed after becoming Sunway Putra..
The breakfast spread was acceptable (also no noticeable change from Legend days)
The Japanese restaurant at Gen@10 had superbly large and good spread of dishes and the staff was very hospitable and made us feel at ease even though we were seated outside.the restaurant (Saturday dinner, place was packed)
But I must say the room that i stayed in (on Floor 19) looked really old (not the antique kind, but the old kind), the taps leaked, the bathroom mouldy. And my next door was still having a CRT TV!!
And sadly the mall next door was under renovation (i understand until 2015).

All this for 180++ a night (KLIMS period, no breakfast, booked online). Looks like i need to find myself another go-to hotel in KL.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtaiwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mtaiwai, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I regret we fell short of your expectations and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Rest assured we will learn from your feedback. However, it is great to know that our staff assisted in making you feel comfortable at Gen@10.

We hope to have the opportunity to see you again at Sunway Putra Hotel!

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Seri Pacific Hotel
Seri Pacific Hotel
#53 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,042 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
4.4 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#28 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,064 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#47 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Property: Sunway Putra Hotel
Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing