We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is ok except the kitchen...”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #31 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As it is an apartment with kitchen, we were shocked and disappointed that there isn't cookware like pots and pans to be used on the induction stove.

We arrived this afternoon bringing with us some simple food hoping we can at least cook some noodles and cream soup but we were disappointed.

I enquired with housekeeping and was told that no cookware will be provided. If this is the case, the induction stove will be a useless thing in the kitchen. Am I right?

I will think twice staying with Sunway Putra if are plan to do some simple cooking. My wife commented that our last stay with Fraser Place Residence was better, kitchen is equipped with cookware to whip up a simple meal.

What a disappointment from Sunway Putra in our first stay with them!

Room Tip: If you want to do some simple cooking, please bring your own pots and frying pans.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shalom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Shalom73, Thank you for your support and feedback following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with our kitchen equipment. For your information, we only encourage our guests on light cooking, therefore, only basic cooking ware is provided. This is in view of our guests’ safety purposes.

Anyhow, thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us and I hope that the above mentioned fact will not deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Putra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

I so much loved this hotel. When we first arrived we couldn't believe how big and luxurious the room was. We were given one of the executive "Legend Crest" rooms. It was HUGE! I think we were upgraded as we had booked the basic room on-line. Soft bed, everything looked brand new. Awesome view of the patrons towers and KL Tower. The...

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank 105Slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear 105Slim, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sunway Putra Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Loved this hotel. When we first arrived we couldn't believe how big and luxurious the room was. We were given one of the executive "Legend Crest" rooms. It was HUGE! I think we were upgraded as we had booked the basic room online. Soft bed, everything looked brand new. Awesome view of the patronas towers and KL Tower. The room was super clean. We booked 4 nights we loved it so much. It is in a great location right next to the trains (if you can figure them out). Also close to downtown. The rooftop pool looked nice too although we never went in. I saw quite a few middle eastern men down there with their burqa-clad spouses so I didn't feel comfortable going down to swim in my bikini.
Overall, would go back.

Room Tip: Legend Crest Room 1918 was awesome with good view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Jenna W, thank you for your wonderful review of Sunway Putra Hotel! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I do hope we see you again soon at Sunway Putra Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Live piano in the lobby AND a "Monkey Bar" up the more-than-grand staircase! Both a Chinese and a Japanese restaurant within. This hotel seemed to reflect KL's cultural and racial diversity ( the Grand Seasons, on the other hand, was just down the way and hosted more East Indians, for ex.).
Good service. The halls and lobby were a bit strongly scented but maybe that is critical in a climate that challenging.
Just past its prime but a quiet sleep and still quite elegant.
We did wish that the pool hrs werent so limited at times.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Lina005, Thank you for your support and review of Sunway Putra Hotel! I will definitely share your highlights with all my colleagues.

Till then I sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This ia a great hotel to stay. The new managemet have fully refurbished the room with new modern look and Upholtery. We booked for normal superior room but upon checked in, our room was upgraded to junior suite. The Room was so spacious with an apartment facilities completed with refrigerator, cooking hob and hood with full sets of kitchen utensils.

If you are looking for somthing that is value for money and easy excess. you ca find LRT station just around the corner and a shopping mall on the ground floor. A lot of restaurants and a food court nearby.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank Rahim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Rahim E, thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Sunway Putra Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were watching TV when suddenly, the air-condition water leak. We called the front desk to call up a technician to repair it. To no response, we called the front desk for 2 TIMES! At last, the technician arrived in a duration of 30 Minutes. By the way, stay is good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller14092013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Traveller14092013, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to read of your bad experience during your recent stay with us. Please allow me to express my apologies.

However, I sincerely hope that we are able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 2 adults and 3 children (two 4 year olds, one 1 year old). A huge hotel with excellent room sizes and great service. Also, a really fantastic location for a family as everything is on your doorstep that you might need in the Sunway Mall - pharmacy, supermarket, market stalls & Starbucks... We were just stopping over but it suited us perfectly. It did take an inordinate time to check in (not great after a 9 hour flight) and it looked like they didn't have our booking. However, excellent service saw us upgraded to an even larger room. Breakfast was a good selection but it might be time to remodel. The smoking section was empty, but the non-smoking section was very busy. Will definitely stay here again. Excellent price and value, great rooms, service and location. We've found our stop-over hotel in KL!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Richard K, Thank you for staying with us and it is always a great pleasure and extremely rewarding to receive some positive comments. I am most delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Will definitely share your wonderful highlights with my team.
I hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,058 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
860 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $51 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing