We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$51
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/02/22
Official Hotel
$53
View deal
Vio.com
$39
View deal
Booking.com$53
Priceline$53
Travelocity$51
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,040)
Filter reviews
3,040 results
Traveler rating
1,517
938
321
133
131
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,517
938
321
133
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping mall coffee house spacious room same building easy access excellent stay pleasant stay swimming pool business trip buffet breakfast lrt pwtc floor kl concierge housekeeping indian
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,414 - 2,419 of 3,040 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed two nights here while touring KL.

Pros:
Friendly staff making an effort to greet you with a smile and generally good service.
Nice outdoor pool with a view of the Petronas Towers.
There's a mall downstairs and some restaurants.
Good value for what you're getting. Book online for their best pricing.

Cons:
Rooms are acceptable but bathrooms could be better.
Location is a bit far from the touristy center, but it is on a subway line that offers an alternative from taxis.
No free wifi.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Petronas Towers.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldAdventurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Putra, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Davybert, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sunway Putra Hotel. You truly did a great job in highlighting all the aspects.

We look forward in welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were only staying here for one night since we were attending an event in KL the very next morning.

Check in was smooth and the reception upgraded our room which ended up superb. It was so spacious and my kids simply loved it. Service was prompt and the room was clean.

The only minus point would be the parking area. We had parked at Level 8 and you can get a bit dizzy getting up there.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaAbdulKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Putra, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Shafinaah, Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am glad that your kids had a wonderful time in the room.
We shall look forward to welcome you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel, with the help of Priceline, fraudulently calls itself a 5 star hotel. While the lobby may have a 4 star appearance the rooms are 2-3 stars at best. Old, dirty and dingy. While the website and Priceline show rooms that look considerably better with flat screen TVs our room didnt have a single thing in it newer that 20 and maybe 30 years old. The kicker was that they told us we were "upgraded" to a "suite" - almost comical. To top it all off the pool area has a lovely view overlooking a particularly dirty and decrepit slum. Avoid this hotel at all costs. Spend a tiny bit more and get a real four or five star hotel in the center near KLCC - you'll be glad you did! Lastly, were supposed to have free Internet with our booking - they wanted us to pay 60 ringit ($20 USD) per day. I had to argue with them for 20 minutes to get the password and then when they finally gave it the Internet didnt work!

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Putra, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Brian993, Do allow us to offer our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience you had with us. We shall definitely look into improving our standard of service and facilities to serve you better.

Anyhow, thank you for staying with us and I hope that the unfortunate incidents you have experienced will not let it deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. The accommodation was first class as was the service. The breakfast was like a banquet and we ate too much but enjoyed every morsel. a sky walk takes you straight to the PWTC sky train and from here you can get to any destination in KL very cheaply. the view over the city is excellent especially from the wonderful swimming pool. We enjoyed the location as it was quiet and just far enough from the mayhem but near enough to get to everything. We cant wait to stay there again. Bedding was soo good slept so well, tea and coffee makers, safe everything i needed to make our stay in KL fabulous. I would only stay at this hotel on my next visit cant wait.

Room tip: I just asked for a great quiet room, and got exactly that.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbridges1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Putra, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Ibridges1, Thank you for your wonderful review of Sunway Putra Hotel!

We shall look forward to your support again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the end of September-beginning of October. Nice hotel overall, good staff, friendly attitude, clean and cozy rooms, good location. Two buts: I did not see it myself, but wi wife was VERY upset about dirty sink in the bathroom the first day we settled in. And the terrible one - last night we were there there we killed a cockroach in the room. This is number one factor for me to value hotel - you can't have cockroaches in the room. That spoiled the overall very positive and good impression from staying there - and the food was good too - I mean the coffee house. The swimming pool was nice as well, but you CAN'T have cockroaches in a hotel room - this is unacceptable.

Room tip: rooms are ok overall, but make sure you have clean bathrooms and no cockroaches.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrucchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Putra, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Petrucchio, thank you for your feedback. Rest assured that I will share your comments with my team as we take great pride in making sure all our Guests are well looked after.
I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews