We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay value for money”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #32 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Without any request, the staff upgraded us from superior room to a one room apartment. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was huge and my kids really enjoyed their time in the bathtub...really great experience staying here. The only difficulty for me as a family leader is to bring my family's stuff from car park to our room as i need to change the lift and have to walk through the lobby with my bundle of things....that's a bit difficult but overall i really love this hotel. Unfortunately it was fully booked when we wanted to have our return journey.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stazas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Stazas, I am grateful for your feedback as there is ample space for us to improve on our services. I would like to suggest that in future, you may advise our Bell Services to assist you with your luggage. Hope to welcome you and your family at Sunway Putra Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
There are newer reviews for Sunway Putra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,080 - 1,086 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

offerred me an extremely great service with a great room at an affordableb price.worth it !

Room Tip: Higher floors offers a great view!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilham_Wisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Neilham_Wisli, Thank you for staying with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

I had the expectations and I've got it :) it was a nice hotel with clean and trendy rooms available. Gave us a comfortable night rests and was impressed by the breakfasts, swimming pools, the friendly staffs - overall it was a good deal and we love it! Will definitely want to visit here again :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XY1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear XY1029, Thank you for your wonderful review of Sunway Putra Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This chic hotel has the grandeur of old style palatial hotel albeit with a modern twist in the rooms but the lobby is entirely old style - spiral staircases, wrought iron staircases and a pianist in the evenings. The family room was excellent with the best bed ever, a sitting room, two flat screen tvs, wall to ceiling mirrors and a spacious bathroom with more towels than needed. The carpet was clean and it was properly 4-star hotel, the few times a hotel deserves such a rating in our experience. The pool was great and the view of the KLCC at night outside our window, stunning. The room service was accommodating with a wide choice. Our kitchennette was functional with a microwave, fridge, sink, washing up liquid and stuff and a little counter to eat at. There are some grouses, one of which is the wifi which was RM60 for 24 hours. Every time you are logged on, the time runs, even if you are but reading one page. So make sure you get all your pages open then log off. The breakfast area at the coffee lounge was more like a cafeteria because of the sheer number of people, queues and the functionality of the furniture. Having said that, there are other restaurants in the area you can have your evening meals at - Indian, Chinese and Malay are short walks away and much cheaper. On the whole, service was professional, polite and discreet. An excellent choice and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Book online for cheaper rates.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dowlefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear dowlefamily,

Thank you for your informative feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

This is better known as the Legend Hotel (its former name). Very big hotel : reception at level 9...
I had booked with booking.com ; my account was debited by the hotel 2 weeks before my stay.
I checked it at around 9pm. No more standard rooms being available, I was upgraded to the upper standard (Crest rooms) at no surcharge. The room was really big, with plenty of space, also in the nicely designed bathroom.
Another good thing in the hotel is the location, a few steps from the metro.
Also the restaurant offer is numerous and of good quality.

BUT :
- wifi costs rm15 an hour or rm60 a day, which seems out of proportion ; most hotels nowadays offer free wifi, right ? anyway, after some discussion (see below), they offered it to me for free, but I couldn't have it working on my Blackberry devices
- the night of my arrival, I went to the Japanese restaurant to enjoy the buffet dinner (yes, I enjoyed it, food was great and fine, and the view is fantastic). Then I asked to sign the bill. I signed a first bill, indicating my name and room number. Then the waiter said that I could get a rebate since I was a hotel guest ; so he had me sign a second bill with the reduced price. After that, I was about to go when the waiter said I had to pay ! I was quite surprised, but he informed me that my status was COD (cash on delivery), so I had to pay - ah, and sign a third bill. I declined to sign the third bill but I had no other choice than to pay. Later I went down to reception where I told them what I thought about this hotel which gets me pay the 2-night stay well in advance and does so much hassle with their customers. How frustrating !!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear flyingFrenchman29,

Do allow us to offer our sincere apology for the unpleasant experience you has with us. We shall definitely look into improving our standard of service to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed there for a night after Genting. Can take a train from titiwangsa lrt for one station. The hotel is very grand. Check-in is at level 9 lobby. Booked a one-bedroom, but changed to a crest room as the room looks newer and they have plasma tv. The toilet is quite huge, around 20m2, is the size of those budget hotel. The breakfast has lots of varieties. There is a shopping mall below the hotel, but there isnt much things there, except for cold storage.
The only thing that I will mid is that the crest room do not have a door-bell, whereas the deluxe room has. The crest room has a big balcony, but the deluxe room do not have. The room is overall new and very clean. Like the room very much. The television only has 17 channels, not much choice to choose from.

I have took a cab to mid-valley, around 11rm.
When i checked out, i took a cab to KL Sentral for 10rm.

Room Tip: Asked for free upgrade to crest room, got big balcony.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear dede1217_Singapore ,

Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that we will be embarking on a refurbishment exercise early next year meanwhile we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed at the Sunway Putra for 9 nights while in KL on business. The main reason for staying here was it was opposite the Putra World Trade Centre [PWTC] where I needed to be for a 4 day expo followed by other business commitments.

Although I arrived at the hotel at 8.30 in the morning after an all night flight, the check in staff were extremely helpful and got me into a room straight away, which was greatly appreciated as I was looking for a few hours sleep after a long night flight . Most hotels won't let you check in before a time later in the afternoon. So I was very pleased to catch up on some sleep.

I just had the standard superior room which was great. It was very big and had an equally large bathroom with a great shower with the large rain head. Perfect! You couldn't ask for much more.

Although they don't have a lot of the extra frills that some hotels have, it had all that was needed. One thing I found rather odd was that it had a bar fridge, but no mini bar. But drinks can be purchased very cheaply at the supermarket in the mall next door. But you'll need to buy a bottle opener if you buy anything other than screw bottles.

The buffet breakfast was tasty and quite extensive with food to carter for most taste buds and nationalities.

The staff throughout the hotel are very accommodating and cheerful.

Great pool and spa with a nice outlook over the city that includes good view of KLCC.

The gym is also very good with a lot of good quality machines and free weights. Again the staff here are excellent and are only too happy to assist with any machines that you aren't familiar with. If you want a massage at the hotel, you'll be disappointed as they don't have a spa or offer in room massage.

The in room internet is a bit on the pricey side. But if you're desperate there is a Starbucks in the mall downstairs that has the usual free wifi, although its pretty slow due to its usage.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced hotel with good facilities, restaurants and friendly staff, this would be a good choice. Its a little bit away from the city centre or the bustle of Bukit Bintang, but taxis are pretty cheap and the hotel is right next door to the train station. The trains are excellent. On time, frequent and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PingBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear PingBoy,

Thank you for your informative feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,057 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
1.3 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
2.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
860 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $50 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing