We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #96 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, dated rooms”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked a twin room through a travel agent, check in was simple & efficient.

Our room on the 13th floor was a bit dated with old decor, carpet & furnishings. I think the more expensive rooms have been newly renovated.

Wifi a bit slow & weak signal in the rooms but worked well in the lobby. Tv reception was good with alot of channels. Bathroom a bit small & dated yet useable.

As me & a friend were twin sharing, they had no problems giving us a dctrs room key on request. This is great as most similarly priced hotels throughout Asia only gave us one key for the room, & meant we could charge our gadgets when we went out. (in seven hotels throughout asia, All of them required you to insert your room key to use electricity)

The gym was Very small with not much equipment, serious gym users would be disappointed. The indoor pool was useable & clean, if a bit dated eg, not heated, jets in spa didn't work.

Buffet is so so. Juice is watered down, not a big selection for either Asian or Western breakfasts & an excess consumption fee if your eye is bigger than your stomach. The best item, the pancakes was Very popular - ran out quickly & slow to refill.

The best things about this hotel were -
Location! Right across from Sungei Wang, with lot 10, farenheit, low yat, berjaya times square & emporium malls & jalan alor street food a short walk away (kids & super hero fans will Love dc superstore in Emporium!) & Petronas towers a short cab ride away. Shoppers Paradise!

Power outlets in the rooms -
In our twin room, the counter had 6 power outlets, one for each different voltage meaning if this is the only hotel your staying at, theres no need to bring travel adaptors.

I'd consider this hotel more a 3 1/2 star hotel, but would stay here for the location alone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    282
    204
    87
    54
See reviews for
142
144
68
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My gf and I chose to stay at hotel royal as it had an extremely ideal location to all the shopping vicinity. We were very elated when we arrived and didnt had to wait long when we arrived at 3plus to 4pm. We anticipated a nice cosy room, as we were exhausted from the drive from Singapore. When we checked into our executive deluxe room, a musty and pungent smell invited us...wondering where the source of smell came from. When the room service man came to gave us our complimentary coke and sprite, he had the exact smell the room had. THAT TOTALLY PUT US OFF. On top of that, the sheets had bed bugs stain and my gf and I were both bitten terribly. THOUGH THE LOCATION WAS FANTASTIC..THE ROOM REALLY HAS TO IMPROVE ON ITS HOUSE KEEPING.Lastly, there was no hot water and the shower emitted very low pressure water. We stayed in room 1912.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessylovekimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Tan

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city !

As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern , be it on our facilities or service level. We have taken note of your reviews and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.

With regard to your complaint, please accept our sincere apology and subsequently here is our comments for your attention:

* We have referred the matter to our Housekeeping Deparment and relevant measures will
be taken as required following on investigative check on the room.

Should you be making any future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, please let us know as we would like an opportunity to welcome you back for a brand new experience !

Yours sincerely

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2014

1. Old room
2. No hot water in bathroom
3. Broken door
4. Phone in the room is smelly

When we booked the room we requested a King room, however a twin room was given to us. When we went up to our room, we saw the toilet floor is WET. Very old room. Not worth paying for this hotel. Even a 3 Star hotel is better then this. We will not come back to this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Eion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Ms Eileen

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip !

As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.

We would like to inform that Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing renovation that affects all rooms, function rooms, F & B outlets, other facilities and also hotel facade. The renovation project is taking place in stages and its completion is anticipated before end of this year. Subsequently, please accept our sincere apology should you have encountered any inconveniences caused directly or indirectly by our upgrading works.

Finally, should you be making any future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, please let us know as we would like an opportunity to welcome you back for a brand new experience !

Yours sincerely

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

we arrived late in kl but was promptly checked in we were in a large grp. ard 26 people. almpst everyone had the same floor . I was given a different floor which was fine . but what was not fine.. the room quality. you would think tt by getting a higher floor, your room would be nicer... wrong. we had a jaded dated room as compared to the rest. water heater is very bad. I brought my baby daughter along for the trip. lack of hot water is a minus point for me.
on a good note,you are surrounded with tons of shopping adventures. H&M is close by.. (bring your credit card or cash). hotel had good service but quality of hotel rooms has made me think twice about staying here again. maybe will go to parkroyal instead.(which is next door)

ps:swimming pool is also cold

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zyesabatini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
28 April 2014


Dear Madam Kamissah

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!

As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.

We would like to inform that Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing renovation that affects all rooms, function rooms, F&B outlets, other facilities and also the hotel façade. The renovation project is taking place in stages and its completion is anticipated before end of this year. Subsequently, please accept our sincere apology should you and other guests in your group have encountered any inconveniences caused directly or indirectly by our upgrading works.

Finally, should you be making any future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, please let us know as we would like an opportunity to welcome you back for a new experience!

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My impression for hotel royal kuala lumpur is good as the location is strategic, middle of KL's heart. Plus I am really happy with the room. The room was very clean and comfort to stay in. Overall hotel royal KL one of best hotel in KL.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7lys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, General Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 7lys

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city !

We write to let you know that we are greatly appreciate your positive comments on the hotel's location / facilities / service level. In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards higher and impeccable standard.

Finally, should you be making any future plans to visit Kuala Lumpur again, please let us know as we would like an opportunity to welcome you back for a new experience !

Yours sincerely

Sazrul Fadzil
General Manager
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I stay at this hotel recently. The overall impression I have on this hotel is below average. It seems to be a budget hotel. The hotel needs to get a complete make over. The breakfast selection is average. The room condition is rather poor. The lifts are not in proper working condition. The carpets in the hallway and the room need thorough clean up. Nevertheless, the location for the hotel is good. The room is spacious and the reception staff are friendly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
7 April 2014

Dear sptan
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing extensive renovation affecting all rooms and facilities. The works are carried out in a few stages and scheduled to be completed in 2014. We therefore apologize for any inconvenience you have had to endure.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again. Hopefully that the stay will be at a time when we have completed the renovation that we can showcase our new rooms and facilities.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We wanted to do an early check in as we have an infant so called the hotel who quoted us Rm100 for early check in.When we checked in at reception we were assisted by Zetty.She told us that total room charge including taxes would be 340Rm and we paid Rm 400.She mentioned that the Rm 60 would be kept as advance for any room service charges.Next day we had terrible experience and would never recommend or use this hotel.We had our international flight at 10 pm so we had planned to spend the day visiting some places in our1.5 day short kl trip.when we wanted to head out for brunch at 11 we hear the fire alarm ao we call the reception to check about the alarm they said it was fire drill..Fire drill without prior notice was annoying and when we asked the reception they said sorry and hanged up.After 1hr of siren we head down and ask them about informing the guests they simply ignored the matter.Then we mention about check out they gave a bill for 70 Rm and when we asked about the advance the same lady Zetty pretends that she has given us the balance amount and after 1/2 hr of discussion we leave the baggage at bell desk and head out for lunch.When we came back at 6 to head to airport as we have our flight at 10.We dint find our baggage in baggage storage in bell desk area.It was a very panicking situation that I hope no one ever goes through.Later after 10 min of search by us and other staff we find the luggage near the reception which is not meant to be there with out our consent.Then we head to the reception as our taxi to airport waits out for us we again end up with the same issue that we need to clear the bill of Rm 70 and we find that Zetty left for the day who has helped us check in.Then we talk to he supervisor and other staff who mentioned that they would check the cc tv for the truth and we agreed to wait.Its a terrible act of worst customer service one would ever receive when you have an infant and have to head to airport.After 10 -15 min of panic wait the supervisor comes and says something in their local language and the staff agrees that we don't have to pay the Rm.Please don't ever suggest any one to stay here

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reenakiran1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
7 April 2014

Dear ReenaKiran1

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
#71 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#85 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#46 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#74 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Address: Jalan Walter Grenier, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Coronade Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 20-story Hotel located at the heart of the business center, 100 meters from Bukit Bintang Monorail Station & 50 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronade Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing