We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #92 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Best Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

6 nights from 26th December 2013 to 1st January 2014

The location is perfect, so close to everything in the hub of K.L. Sungei Wang & BB Plaza are only a few metres walk. BB monorail station is less than a minutes walk from the hotel. All the best shopping centres within Bukit Bintang area are only minutes from the hotel. With the new covered walkway from the back of the Pavilion, KLCC / Suria area is less than 15 minutes walk away.

This was our 7th stay in this hotel, over the last few years. This time we stayed for 6 nights. This hotel is now our home away from home. I can highly recommend this hotel, both for its location and the friendly staff.

We find all the staff in the lobby and reception area are all friendly and welcoming. In fact all the staff from the hotel are friendly and caring. When booking I had requested our usual room. On the 19th floor with a view towards the twin towers. This room is newly renovated and the view is wonderful.

Checkin was super quick Maha the night manager greeted us. We didn’t arrive at the hotel till midnight.
I much prefer when we are on the early morning flight and arrive at the hotel by 2pm.
Ordered room service. Food was ok but could do with some improvement.

Our room on the 19th Floor was tastefully decorated. A huge comfortable double bed. Flat screen TV mounted on the wall above the desk. Underneath this is a long bench with lots of room on top and an inbuilt desk for your laptop. Also under this bench was a fridge and a cupboard with tea/coffee cups and a kettle. A beautiful, fresh, crisp looking bathroom with huge fluffy towels. We had a wardrobe and an in-room safe. Every day, new toiletries are supplied. As usual a lemon was waiting for me to have with my cuppa.

We opted not to have breakfast with our room this time. Breakfast is good and varied. We are just not big breakfast eaters.

We had a problem with the fridge in our room. But after a call to reception, it was promptly replaced.

The pool is under cover, so you can use it, even if its raining. Its of a decent length, so you can do laps in it.
We have never used the pool, but were determined to do so this time. They have just finished renovating the pool area. Unfortuately the weather was unkind to us. Next time for sure.

We had a lovely view of all the fireworks going off on New Years Eve from our hotel room. Every direction that you looked in had fireworks.

We spend a lot of time in our hotel room this time. I was exhausted and just wanted to rest and sleep.
Looking after a mother who has advanced dementia is very hard.

We will certainly be coming back to the hotel. This year in June and again in July/ August, book ending a trip to Europe.
So looking forward to catching up with Abu, Sazrul, Maha and the other friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danutaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
7 April 2013

Dear danutaperth

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for your recent patronage of Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!
We write to let you know that we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s location/facilities/service level. In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard. Your appreciation of specific members of our staff has also been noted and passed on to enhance the staff’s motivation level.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    274
    197
    84
    53
See reviews for
137
139
66
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

After reading reviews of this hotel I wondered if I had stayed at the same place. This hotel would have been very nice 20 years ago. It is now in much need of refurbishment - very tired. We were three couples travelling from the UK. The beds were clean and comfortable but the rooms had a damp smell, the carpet had stains, the shower door would not close properly resulting in water spilling out all over the bathroom floor when showering(which I tried to dry up). When I told the hotel receptionist about it she did not respond. We flew through KL en route to Australia (one night same hotel both ways). Before we travelled to KL our travel agent had booked a taxi through the hotel to meet us at KL airport and there was no problem . For the return journey we asked the hotel to arrange a taxi to meet us at the airport. After standing for an hour and a half and being approached by a guy at the airport who said he was in contact with hotel regarding taxi (doubt that) and several phone calls to the hotel a taxi finally turned up. We then had a scary drive from airport to hotel – would not like to think that hotel organised. When we finally arrived at hotel we got a very weak apology from on duty hotel staff which under the circumstances was not satisfactory. The only benefit on arrival at the hotel around 8AM was that we were able to check into our hotel rooms as soon as we arrived instead to having to wait until check in time. Also hotel staff very pushy about selling day trips. We did go on a trip on last day organised by presume employee of the hotel which was fine but the guy who organised the trip suggested we leave our bags in one hotel room after we checked out and we could use the room to shower before we left for the airport (also told us clean towels would be provided).
When we arrived back to the hotel from the day trip around 5PM to have a shower and collect bags there were no clean towels and we were charged for the room for the day. The guy who sold us the trip was nowhere to be seen nor did he mention that there would be a charge for leaving the bags in the room otherwise we would have left all bags in store as would be the usual practice.
On the positive side the location is very good – close to shops and restaurants and the rooms were not expensive (in UK terms) but I personally would not stay in that hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesCoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
1 April 2014

Dear FrancesCoArmagh
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing renovation affecting all rooms and facilities. The works are carried out in stages and scheduled to be completed in 2014. We therefore apologize for any inconvenience and for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Jakarta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you're planning to spent your time in KL and to shop a lot in KL, this might be the suitable hotel for you.
Located across Sungei Wang, walking distance to Lot 10, Berjaya Times Square, Jalan Alor, Pavillion, and any spots in Bukit Bintang area.

The room is proper and for sure, you will get a good sleep after "full-day" shopping.
I'm not a shoppers type of tourist, and if you're with me, you will also enjoy your stay in this hotel, since you barely can walk around from this hotel, for sight seeing.

The breakfast was okay.

We stayed in a group of 10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpeJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
10 March 2014



Dear UpeJakarta

YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR

Thank you for your recent patronage of Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur!

We write to let you know that we greatly appreciate your positive comments on the hotel’s location/facilities/service level. In addition to our gratitude, your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.

Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.

Yours sincerely



THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I was recently stay at this hotel. Everything seems has improved compare to my last visit. The front counter service has improved and more systematic with customer orientated people. I was given a room on 19th floor with breathtaking view of Kuala Lumpur city. Room is in good condition no other point to comment except the hot and cold running water mixture was not in balance..just need to fine tune..breakfast spread was good but can be improve.....hope the renovation progress on track so that we can choose better room in future. I uploading this comment while wating for my taxi to LCCT at the lobby....:-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTraveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
6 March 2014

Dear TheTraveller4
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level.
We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for 2 days. Locationwise, it is very convenient as it is next to the monorail station and major shopping. No problem finding food as there is numerous food stalls, restaurants, cafe and bars in the areas. Though it is in one of the more expensive part of the city. We had complimentary internet access for the length of our stay and the connection was good. For the rate we are paying, the room is rather small and a bit cramped for two adults hanging about in the room. The furnishing is long due for an upgrade as it seems dated. I cant even take a decent photo of the city from the window as it is dirty with moss. The room had no temperature control and it was too cold especially when I need to go to the bathroom at night. A temperature control on the wall doesn't seem to be connected to anything. We saw a notice in the elevator about the hotel undergoing transformation. My guess is it has just been taken over by a new management.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nollan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
6 March 2014

Dear Nollan
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur is currently undergoing renovation affecting all rooms and facilities. The works are carried out stages and scheduled to be completed in 2014. We therefore apologize for any inconvenience and for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

The room looks like an old hotel, the blanket was dirty, no hot water in shower for 3 days I stayed there, no free wifi in the room. The breakfast choices is not delicious. I don't recommend this hotel for stay while you were in KL.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyAan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
26 February 2014

Dear JillyAan
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I like that its nearby shopping places - from Sungei Wang to Pavillion. They change sheets everyday and at the middle of the day - Being a clean freak, I loved this! We checked in very late: 2am and I guess the receptionist is quite half awake and half asleep that he forgot to give us our breakfast vouchers. So, the next day, the lady at the makan makan floor stopped us and just told us to back off as we didn't have the voucher. We'll that's not a very customer service oriented behaviour. She could've let us in and just settle the stuffs after we eat.. speaking of being customer oriented, I hope she smiles once in a while! Other than that, I still find our stay excellent!

Room Tip: dont forget to take your breakfast voucher if you included it in your payment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meowthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRoyalKL, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
26 February 2014

Dear meowthy
YOUR STAY AT HOTEL ROYAL KUALA LUMPUR
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur during your recent trip to the city!
As much as we value your patronage, we appreciate your observation and concern, be it on our facilities, location or service level. We have taken note of your views and we will seriously look into the matter and moving forward, take corrective steps to put things in order and better perspective.
We sincerely apologize for the disappointments you faced during your stay. We have spoken to the respective departments to look seriously into those matters and to ensure that they will not occur again.
In the meantime we assure you that your comments will be an encouraging factor that will drive us further to continue working towards a higher and impeccable standard.
Should you have any future plans to travel back to Kuala Lumpur, we will be delighted to be of service to you once again.
Yours sincerely

THE MANAGEMENT
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
#69 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#77 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Address: Jalan Walter Grenier, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Coronade Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 20-story Hotel located at the heart of the business center, 100 meters from Bukit Bintang Monorail Station & 50 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronade Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing