We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive Headache”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #85 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Massive Headache”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My advice - avoid this hotel unless you have no other choice.

If you find it to be rather ridiculous for a hotel not to have a proper parking facility, than this hotel has to be the icing off the cake. Parking is the biggest problem here. With the many night spots around, trying to locate a proper parking can be a real test to your patience and nerve. Your blood pressure will more likely top the chart before you manage to locate a parking.

The location of this hotel being near the vicinity of KL's busiest section is also another reason for you to consider choosing another hotel. If the parking problem does not kill you, the chaotic traffic here will definitely do that.

However, if there is one plus point for the hotel, it has to be its location. Located near some of KL's top business establishments means that you do not have to walk far. There are also many night spots in the vicinity and numerous international restaurants,

The rooms are not bad although I ended up with a room which felt more like a meat freezer. No thanks to that air con controller which was out of order. Other than that little problem, it was a trouble-free stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foto_melaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    291
    208
    87
    54
See reviews for
152
144
69
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was in this hotel for about four days with my family; but before I elaborate on my experience, I cant help detailing what happened to me during the check in process. It is somewhat customary for the reception/ front office desk in some hotels to check your credit card 'for verification', even though mine was a prepaid vacation. It turned out that they promptly swiped it for 200 MYR... and I did not come to know of this transaction as my cellphone was switched off. So it was only on return to Mumbai, India, several days later that I found out about this debit. On contacting the hotel, they went into denial mode saying that it cant have happened and insisted 'it was for verification' only. Mails went on back and forth, some international calls, too. The hotel said I should take it up with the bank, even insisting that my card was a 'debit' card even though it was a credit card.. The bank had already confirmed the transaction; finally, I got the bank to send a mail detailing it had been charged to my account only after which, with follow up did the hotel effect the refund but all this has left a very bad taste in my mouth.. So, guests beware... your card will be debited during verification.
The hotel says its a deluxe hotel. It's otherwise a decent 3 star hotel with a cramped lobby However, in other aspects including food it was quite good and they even allowed me to get into the room a couple of hours ahead of their checkin time when I told them I would be leaving early in the morning on the last day.. It's pool (if there is one) was shut as per a notice but the hotel's location is great, with the monorail station just a few steps away. Two good malls are within walking distance - one just opposite it- and the place is centrally located at Bukit Bintang, great area to be in.

Room Tip: I think you neednt worry about this; you may, however, ask them to show you a few before chosing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Out of so many hotels that I have stayed in, this is the worse. Why? Because they over-stated their claims. I booked to stay in this hotel on 15th and 16th of Jan 2013 because the website said the rooms have been refurbished. What rubbish!. The reception said only the 19th and 20th floors were done up and they had to close the floors because of plumbing problems!! To re-confirmed, I spoke to the manager and he simply said the room not yet refurbish (he did not even have the courtesy to have eye contact with me). The room we stayed in had dirty carpet (lucky the bed was ok, otherwise I would have checked out immediately and gladly spent money to switch to one of the many hotels there). The toilet was urgly and at 11pm on the second night the u-trap of the wash basin fell off (see photo)... their idea of repair was to use electrical tape to mend the broken part. Another rude shock...on our first night, we received a hotel note informing the guests that there would be an electrical shutdown the following day from11am to 8pm...yup!...the note stated 11am to 8pm. They need to replace the entire management for this nonchalent attitude. Location cannot be used as priviledge...otherwise the toilet bowls in Bukit Bintang can be deemed as excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBoy_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic. It'snear the Bukit Bintang Monorail station. And most of the shopping centres are few mins walk away.

The only disappointment will be the condition of the room.

Book the Executive Deluxe room based on the images potrayed on their website. It gives me the impression that it was the newly renovated room. But to my disappointment, i got an old-looking room. I can hear people talking probably from the next room. Room carpet felt sticky. Mattress was hard and uncomfortable. And i requested for a non-smoking level but was given a smoking level. Basically the room stinks of cigarrette smell. Call up the reception to clarify and change room but they claimed no roomwas available. I felt that they could have infrom me earlier since i specifically indicate my preferences when i book for the room.

Not much channel to watch from their cable television and you got to pay for their internet connection. One username & password for one devices. So basically my husband and i have to pay for two usernames in order to access wifi from each of our phones.

Nevertheless breakfast was good. Not crowded with plenty of food served.

But i don't think i will come back to stay at Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur for my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aqueenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I moved here after my disastrous stay at The Royal Bintang for Christmas. I spent 3 nights here after Christmas day. The lobby was well decorated for Xmas, friendly staff and in a great location next to Lot 10 shopping Mall. Shoppers you will love it here.
Hotel rooms are ageing a bit but, the hotel is actually being refurbished, I heard some guests complain about noise.
My staff was great, good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near floors being refurbished, noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonycelfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Just the location is excellent near from all shopping centre in Bukit bintang area just 5-10 min walking distance, room is old except TV ,bathroom is not so clean , carpet look dirty , Wall is very thin can hear the people speaking from Otherroom.Housekeeping is not so precise look of the empty amenity in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Book room in higher floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wimpyjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a renovated room and the hotel is everything you may expect from a 4 star hotel. Spacious, brand new clean room, good service, friendley staff who fullfilled all my wishes and give us a free upgrade. Good breakfast with enough variation. Pool needs more ambiance though and the fitness room is a bit small. Hotel is 20 m from Lot 10 and about 50 m from monorailstation. Petronas tower 10 min with taxi, about 10 MR.
From international airport to the hotel is about 74 MR and 40 minutes with taxi. We booked at the airport an airporttaxi budget style, next stop after pickup bagage.

Good to know: starting fare of taxi is 3 MR, every extra km is 1 MR extra. The Bleu Executive Taxis start with the fair of 6 MR and every extra km is 2 MR. We were told not to ride if the price seems unreasonable and/or the driver refuses to use the meter. EVERY taxi has a meter! We were warned that the drivers from India ask 3 or 4 times more then the normal price. We also experienced this ourselves unluckely....

This hotel is the next neighbour of Royal Park Hotel, but they say the hotels are not connected.

Definetly book this hotel again!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated (non smoking) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#87 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
#71 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#80 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur

Property: Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Address: Jalan Walter Grenier, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Coronade Hotel)
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented 20-story Hotel located at the heart of the business center, 100 meters from Bukit Bintang Monorail Station & 50 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronade Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing