We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #59 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, very central, close to the local transport systems as well. Also the hotel bang in the middle of the big shopping malls. The room was clean and tidy, if a little dated, but absolutely fine for a two night stay. The breakfast was very good, with lots of choice and great service from the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdh1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Capitol Hotel is close to the light rail station, which is easy to catch from the central railway station. The hotel is difficult to find since it is located in a back street. It would be good to draw a map before going to the hotel. The room was fine and the bed was firm, and we had a nice view of the twin towers. The only -major- problem was excessive noise from the street below. We had to listen to live music until 4 am for two nights. The Internet is also extremely slow, even at 4 am.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that does not face the twin towers - the view is great but it is not worth the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel with good price, in the strategic location. The room isn't big enough but clean, comfortable and have nice view (choose the view to bukit bintang street and you will get view of the twin tower too). The breakfast is nice and complete-from bread to rice. In front of the hotel you will find the food arcade, anykind of food a long the street. It is surrounding with malls, Sungei Wang department store just across the street, the monorail station also 10 minutes walk. You can explore the bukit bintang street in easy way. Recommended hotel for all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airynsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Food is good, rooms are clean with all you need (including ironing board), and the location is just near the city center. Nearby you have all you need: shops, restaurants, it's within walking distance from Petronas Towers and malls.
We were in KL for only 3 nights, and this hotel was perfect for exploring the main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is in a great location in Bukit Bintang with plenty of shops, malls, restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk.

The room was clean and spacious with good air conditioning. Our room overlooked a busy street and despite being several floors up, it was very noisy outside all night and we were woken up several times.

There was a good selection available for breakfast and the staff in the dining room were friendly
And attentive.

The safe in our room wasn't working but when we called down to reception they quickly sent someone up to replace it. The wifi was not free as it was in the other hotels we stayed in in Malaysia and we had to pay RM 15 each for 24 hours use.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smidge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Located at the triangle of Kuala Lumpur, at the Bukit Bintang area. That's all the night spots and shopping heaven there is. The hotel looks small from outside, but it has the same amenities like any other standard hotel. Room is kind of cramp, bed is good enough to enjoy sleeping. Service and personnels are friendly. Shower is something outstanding with very good water pressure to take your shower. The view from the window, I could see the Twin Tower, KL Tower and the general skyline of the city. Food is easily available round the clock with plentiful of coffee shop open round the clock below the hotel along with the night spots. Low Yat Plaza is just round the corner to check out the latest gadgets, too. Room rate is reasonable. Right place to stay for shoppers and fun seekers.

Room Tip: Room facing the city view is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fsenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel has a great location, with the Petronas Towers within walking distance, and the Yow Lat Plaza just around the corner for restaurants, shops or banks.
Rooms are clean and spacious with views of the city. Rooms on the front side of the hotel also have views of the towers.
Service and staff very friendly and helpful with recommendations for exploring the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#40 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,345 reviews
0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#53 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#98 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
231 reviews
1 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $39 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing