We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base - its the location”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #55 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed there (two parents and two teenage kids) in June - July 2012 for about 10 days and the hotel was selected because of previous Trip Advisor reports and we booked into 1508 and one other nearby, higher rooms because of comments in earlier reports about the noise from the nearby night club. We could just hear the music at night but it was not a problem and we had an excellent view of the Petronas Towers. Basically, it can be definitely recommended but the stay did not get off to a good start. We asked for non-smoking rooms (in capitol letters!), single beds and adjoining rooms if possible. What we received was none of the above, apparently the non-smoking rooms were full despite the fact that we had booked well in advance. However, the hotel was being re-decorated and this smell almost overrode the smell of smoke in the rooms (in previous hotels we have stayed in, including in Malaysia, we have received an automatic upgrade if non-smoking rooms were not available in the grade we had booked but this could not be arranged here). The hotel is a local establishment (good news for the food in the coffee shop) and the furniture quickly reveals that this is an upper-budget hotel. The rooms were a reasonable size, the beds firm but otherwise fine, the ironing board was useful and the room safe will hold at least a 12” laptop. Newspapers were delivered most days (?), TV films were limited but we were not in the rooms much and the bathroom had a large shower with good water pressure. The hotel charged a fair rate to the airport (unusual). Wi-fi was charged per device in the rooms and this quickly becomes expensive with a family, there is no such provision in the lobby but it is free in the coffee shop if you are a customer. The staff were very helpful and pleasant, apart from booking in, and Peter, Front Desk/Concierge, was particularly helpful – thanks. What this hotel has got is LOCATION. Diagonally opposite is the Low Yat Plaza (computers) and other large malls are within walking distance – pretty much everything is within walking distance of the centre of KL(Golden Triangle), day and night – including the train, Jalan Alor etc.

Leave the hotel and get ready to eat and eat. Next door, to the right outside, are a couple of Chinese food stalls and we had a very reasonable (quality and price) breakfast at the Restaurant Instant, one of the two stalls. Next to them is an Indian restaurant for a change for breakfast. Turn left out of the hotel and there are more restaurants, a 7-Eleven is very close and an internet café is opposite. You will not go hungry in KL. In the basement of the Low Yat Plaza is an Old Town Coffee Shop, they are a chain, but we did not think their prices for Malaysian dishes were justified for the quality of food we received. In the same basement is the Kopi Club, a small restaurant, and whilst this serves only a basic breakfast (they like their eggs half cooked) until 11.30 am when it opens fully, try their Chicken Rendang, the Malaysian milk tea and followed by your choice of sweets for a quick, simple and tasty lunch. There is a money changer in the same basement and changing money was straightforward and hassle free. We have written separately about the excellent food courts in the nearby Pavilion and Lot 10 malls elsewhere. Yes, we would be happy to stay in the Capitol Hotel again; it is safe and fair value for money given its location which is difficult to fault.

One word of ‘caution’. The Malaysians are generally very polite, pleasant and helpful and this really contributes towards enjoying the holiday but be warned! They are very approachable but do not like to admit that they cannot help with directions to your destination and will point very nicely but vaguely into the distance and say it is a “ten minute walk”. You will end up making some very hot and very long ‘ten minute walks’ – take a taxi. Also be warned, the food prices at the airport are exorbitant, so have a good meal before you get there (the airport authorities should study Hong Kong airport to see how restaurants can be run extremely well).

Room Tip: 15 floor, or therabouts, and up are OK to get away from the nightclub noise and have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidandMarsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

I didn't really have high expectations from this hotel when I booked it. The ratings were just above average with a handful of people complaining about various shortcomings of the hotel. So I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into the superior room on the 4th floor. It was a corner room facing lowyat plaza. Even with an extra bed, there was enough room for us to get by.

Two days later I moved to a deluxe room on the 11th floor. Luckily a corner room this time as well, with view of the twin towers. The only complaint would be lack of space with an additional bed.

Housekeeping was standard, replacing towels and probably linens everyday. There's complimentary tea/coffee and drinking water. However, the mini-fridges were empty in both superior and deluxe rooms. They did let us borrow umbrellas though :P

Locationwise it couldn't have been at a better place. Times square, Lowyat, Pavilion, Lot10 and many other malls are within walking distance. Equidistant from both imbi and bukit bintang mono rail station.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tridibsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Capitol Hotel is in a great location just off Bukit Bintang right in the middle of down town KL close to endless shops and places to eat.
We had a really nice room with a great view of the city from our window. The staff were all very pleasant and very helpful.
The only slight draw back is noise at night, at a street cafe near the hotel a live band plays every night which means it can be noisy, ask for a quiet room on the other side of the hotel though and you'll have no problems.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days in July 2011. The room was spacious, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also huge and very clean. The minibar was free and they refilled it every day. The linens and towels were replaced every day. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated right next to Sungei wang ans Low yat - two shoppers paradises!

Room Tip: choose rooms on the top floors.. 8 and above as there is live music in the nearby restaurants which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oopsyaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

great position.
great rooms and view
great breakfast
great staff.
THomas. You were very helpfull and great personality.
We had the best time at this hotel. The room upgrade and view were most helpfull.
The only down side was the food in the corner resturant.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patto660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on 4 and 5 November, a high level view of what I want. At first, the reception that I put my registration on the floor I do not want to view while I was making reserve yours 2 weeks before arrival.
I has selected this hotel as it is very strategic, but non concerns as the hotel guest reference very disturbing to me as yet, probably because I was little room charges nothing exciting line of me as a guest to the hotel.
First, I was not informed of the television broadcast problem, the second and third effects of dirty bed sheet, my requests were ignored.
I hope the distinction of being the strategic location of the hotel is not a barrier to better care for the guests although the amount paid by the guest is a little

Room Tip: facing to Plaza Low Yat, its quite good asking for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZackZhariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed there 5 nights suppose to be 6 but couldn't handle another night. Rooms were fine, staff nice. But extremely noisy. Moved rooms 4 times. First they put us in a smokers room, got woken up by people partying in the room next. Then got moved 2nd room tv broke 3rd room same thing happened. 4th room was a bigger room but was facing onto busy road where they have a band playing at stupid times kept us awake from 1-3 in the morning. Wouldn't stay there again. If u enjoy late nights and cheap accommodation then this is the place.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#98 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#79 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
790 reviews
0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $38 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing