We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Federal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Federal Hotel
Ranked #79 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

It was fine stay. And staff are nice, they upgraded us to merdeka wing. It was new rooms, comfy large beds. Nearby shopping complex and great foods nearby. Price are fine that we always come back here to stay.

Room Tip: Good price and good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daintymignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    296
    209
    79
    62
See reviews for
180
221
66
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel back in January 2013 and I found the hotel overall to be good.
The hotel looked quite nice from the outside, nothing out of this world but then again it is one of the original building in KL.
The receptions was really nice and welcoming with nice decor and a few interesting facts on the walls.
The rooms are average but still quite comfortable.
The pool is exellent (approx 20m swimmimg lanes) with great views of the Petronas Towers and the revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel.
Central location so you can reach anywhere from this hotel.
Good pub that is joined on to the hotel which is called Delaneys Irish pub. The staff are amazing who work here and drinks are good.
The hotel also has a good gym.
Breakfast is very good also.
Would I stay here again? Yes as it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scoobyhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were very comfortable. The hotel itself is not new, so has a slightly old fashioned look but is clean and in good working order. To our surprise and relief when we checked in at 7am we were allowed straight into our room which was wonderful after a 12 hour flight. The room had two double beds and plenty of space for the four of us (two kids). It overlooked the pool which looked ok but surrounded by concrete so not particularly attractive to sit by. Buffet breakfast was ok with fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, local dishes etc. (just not fresh juice and that stewed coffee that I opt not to drink!) It's in a great location, close to hop on hop off bus stop which is great if you're sightseeing. Also right next to wonderful street full of great local food restaurants and stalls - frequented by locals at night. We tried gigantic prawns, crispy frog, kebabs of all varieties ... A good hotel to stay in if you're sightseeing and just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lockettorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Good hotel Very poor staff
Spent a week at this hotel, very nice with very good location, close to all the malls eateries tourist sites. Hotel staff very snobbish and ill mannered, actually down right rude.
I booked and paid in advance for a room in the new wing, reception gave it out to a "friend" so Upgraded me ( a non smoker ) to a smoking room. after complaining bitterly we where moved the following night to a non smoking "store room" Again after complaining bitterly for 2 days because the room was small, old, not in the new wing and half the price of the one I had already paid for, they moved me again on the 4th night of my stay to the room I had paid for.
There was no apology from the staff or management, they tried to make it seem as if it was my fault and they were doing me a favor.

great restaurant and restaurant manager, very sympathetic and helpful with info. He pionted me in some of the best directions in K.L., Great guy......The hotel should get him to teach the staff manner and about customer care.

Apart from that I had a great time in K.L. Hotel location is central to every thing, If you would think that the place is busy during the day WELL the place really comes to life after 9pm and goes on till 5am.
Great atmosphere with cheap "Rolex and other watches to buy on the streets :-)) "
What more could you want?

Room Tip: Insist that you get the room you paid for. Check your room before accepting. If unsatisfied, do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We recently visited the hotel for two nights. The location of the hotel and the basics of hotel is great, but the staff are not very friendly and helpful. Other than that the hotel is fine, they are just currently renovating some parts of the hotel so if you would like to sit at the pool, do not expect a nice quiet time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauritz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days, the service is great, the staff are friendly. It is in the hub of the town which means there are shops, restaurant, shopping centres all around the hotel. There is also a Monorail near the hotel which means it is easy to travel to different parts of the city using the local trains. roughly 15 minutes walk away from the Kuala Lumpur towers!
It is easy to access and they allow you to keep your bags at the hotel after checkout. I had a late flight therefore it was convenient to leave my suitcase there and collect it before heading to the Airport. If you need the staff can call a taxi service for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a specific room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaazia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Hotel is very nice located just on the main road of bukit bintang, the street nearby are always happening open full night on weekends. good for people who like nightlife. rooms are good spacious staff is polite. monorail station is very close. good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: rooms facing towards petronas are new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpionrulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#86 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
#248 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#89 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#95 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Property: Federal Hotel
Address: Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right smack on Bukit Bintang, surrounded by shopping malls and restaurants (Chinese, Western, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Middle Eastern). The famous Alor Street (Jalan Alor Hawker Street - local foods) is opposite the hotel; and two monorail station are mere 5 minutes walk. The largest IT lifestyle in malaysia, LOW YAT PLAZA is besie hotel's rear entrance. For those who enjoy nightlife; there are pubs, clubs beside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing