We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #48 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
gold coast
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I'd stay again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Had a really good stay for our 8 nights! Check in was a breeze and all requirements that I had asked of were given, so many thanks. While the room looks a tad on the tired side, it was clean, the bed was perfect after our busy days out. The wifi was sometimes slow but hey it still worked. fantastic view overlooking the Towers. Big shout out to the restaurant staff, they were fantastic. They got to know us due to the length of our stay and nothing was a problem.We had the Buffet breakfast incl in our package, while theres plenty of food to eat it would be nice to see a little change of variety than the same food everyday. We made sure that we stuffed our faces before setting off for the day. My boys loved the pool and was very clean. I had a Spa massage which was brilliant, not worlds cheapest for KL but beautiful never the less. The Concierge boys were very accomodating and so polite and courteous. I ended up hiring a driver for the week which in AUS dollars cost me zilch,a I was a single mum w my two boys, I wanted to be safe. My Driver was superb and where ever we wanted to go, he was there! Would I stay again, YES I would due to the fact it caters for families, great price w wifi and brek incl! Its only a matters of 2 mins walk to Bukit Bintang, so Yes I will Definately stay agin to the point I'm already looking at staying again next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a room, overlooking the Towers and a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scozzaGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear ScozzaGoldCoast,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions added with your boys' having a good time in our brand new renovated pool must have been a feast to your eyes. It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur again in the near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    629
    305
    88
    51
See reviews for
423
416
98
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had a pleasant stay at Dorsett Regency. Having read some very negative reviews in tripadvisor I was a bit apprehensive but the hotel delivered a reasonably good standard of service commensurate with its 4 star category. Dorsett Regency is an old hotel and rooms show signs of age but they were clean, comfortable. The staff were attentive & friendly in their attitude. I arrived very early in the morning, about 8 hours before check-in time. The reception staff made sincere efforts to accommodate me and for a flat fee (for early check-in) provided me with a room. The room was of a decent size with two twin beds, each large enough to accommodate 2 persons. I would highly recommend this for couples travelling with 2 children for a comfortable stay. The bed was comfortable with crisp linens & fluffy pillows.
The bathroom was clean, well maintained. The towels and toiletries provided were not very good but of acceptable standard.
I had buffet breakfast at Checker's Cafe. The spread was not very large in terms of choice but nevertheless the quality of food was good. The staffs at the egg station provided service with a smile. Tables were promptly cleaned.
The in-room wi-fi Internet provided reasonably good speed.
Last but not the least, the location. Dorsett Regency shares its location with upmarket properties like JW Marriott, Ritz Carlton & The Westin. It's a stone's throw away from all the shopping, dining & tourist activities of Bukit Bintang. The Pavilion Mall with its lovely food court & cineplex, Lot 10, BB plaza all are within 5/6 minutes walking distance from the hotel. Times Square Mall is just one station away on the monorail. So if one wants to be close to all the above mentioned places but is not ready to splurge in a 5 star property, Dorsett Regency is a reasonable place to stay. On my last trip I stayed in one of its 5-star neighbour hotels (naturally at a much higher rate) and I would say Dorsett Regency is good value for money for budget conscious travellers.

Room Tip: Choose non-smoking floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skysurfer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Skysurfer71,

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel and also for pointing out the areas that we need to improve. We are glad to share that we do have renovation plans for the hotel which will take place soon. It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is our second time in KL, we stayed at this place for 3 nights. The great thing about this hotel is the location! Close to Bukit Bintang, Shopping Malls, Monorail and heaps of shops, eateries and restaurants!! The pool is nice and new, breakfast buffet is ok. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit disappointing, because firstly it is quite dated (and a bit small for 2 adults and 2 kids) and secondly it wasn't really clean. We had brown/red stains on the ceiling and walls and had to call housekeeping to fix this, which they did. The carpet wasn't clean. But it is certainly value for money, got a good deal incl. buffet breakfast, when I booked directly with them. Our room had views of the Twin Towers, wonderful to see at night.

Room Tip: Our room number 2110 had views of the PETRONAS Towers and was away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine_Doro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Sabine_Doro,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel and also for pointing out the areas that needs our attention. It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and would definitely stay here again. The location is excellent - in Bukit Bintang, close to the Petronas Towers, the KL Tower, the monorail and heaps and heaps of shops. The room was spacious with a separate entry/lounge area and spacious bedroom. The staff were all excellent and very friendly and helpful. There is a really really nice pool and a gym. Lots and lots of eateries everywhere!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Robyn K,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are most delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for recognizing our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences with our brand new renovated pool plus the friendly service provided by the hotel staff.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked 3 deluxe premier rooms in this hotel for 3 families and were given a reasonably big rooms in 21st and 23rd floor with a twin-tower view.

We did not have any trouble with their service or location except one of the rooms had air-con water leakage into the room and my friend’s family had a tough time entering the room but the hotel was good enough to change them to another room in 22nd floor. The view from the hotel room was excellent, their swimming pool had a perfect privacy and we totally enjoyed our stay here with Dorsett. Location was good and easy access for shopping and to local foods.

Only part we felt bit bad was that we did not have a warm welcome by the front office where none of the staffs smiled and the front office staff who attended us did not have the patience to listen to us first, rest all was perfectly good.

Overall good place to stay with family and friends, “we have added Dorsett to our list of hotels to stay”.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in 20th floor and above. Great view to city and twin-tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinsebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Vinsebby,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a good stay in general.
We have duly noted your feedback and will strive to improve and upkeep our level of service and products constantly.

Once again, we thank you for choosing Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked this hotel online through their website. Free internet, breakfast included, I am extremely happy with the hotel and services. Main attraction is that its very near to all possible shopping destinations. I would love to go back to this hotel.
Those who are thinking on going to KL, please go ahead and book in Dorsett. You will not regret

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manojmenon1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Manojmenon1106,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor! We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur in the near future.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked online and actually got a room that looked like the website photos (unlike some hotels). As requested we got a non-smoking room on high floor with a great view and free internet. We only booked for two nights but were happy to extend to six nights. Friendly staff and a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clankytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Clankytoo,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are most delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for recognizing our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences and look forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.5 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
#74 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#55 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#38 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Property: Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing