We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #45 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel and excellent service”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked this hotel online through their website. Free internet, breakfast included, I am extremely happy with the hotel and services. Main attraction is that its very near to all possible shopping destinations. I would love to go back to this hotel.
Those who are thinking on going to KL, please go ahead and book in Dorsett. You will not regret

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manojmenon1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Manojmenon1106,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor! We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur in the near future.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    641
    310
    89
    51
See reviews for
434
425
102
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked online and actually got a room that looked like the website photos (unlike some hotels). As requested we got a non-smoking room on high floor with a great view and free internet. We only booked for two nights but were happy to extend to six nights. Friendly staff and a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clankytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Clankytoo,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are most delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for recognizing our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences and look forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

21 MYR taxi from Sentral Station. Few block walk to Bukit Bintang LRT station. Three front desk clerks a bit preoccupied but very friendly. Very rude guests fail to grasp the concept of a queue even with physically roped off lanes at front counter. 29 floors. Accepted double rather than king for “quiet room”. On 26th floor, little traffic noise. Concierge seems more inclined to push business to hotel limo than mention how close some nearby destinations are (shops at Bukit Bintang and bars at Raja Chulan & Nagasari). City maps provided are not really useful for walking around.

5th floor pool mostly shaded due to adjacent tall buildings. A dozen metal and plastic lounge chairs around the medium-sized pool. One screeching kid with negligent parent nearby destroyed the setting. Unpleasant din of traffic noise from streets below, horns and sirens. One meter wall with greenery then view into adjacent skyscrapers. Slow Wi-Fi connection throughput (<700Kbps). Small Gym with five pieces of equipment with view onto pool area.

Four fairly fast elevators, key card works to any standard guest floor. Additional elevator for lobby to car park. 29th floor is non-smoking. 10 tables near lobby lounge (Windows Café & Lounge) dining area are non-smoking, with chairs by a 42” TV and at smoker-friendly bar. Happy Hour is 5-8 pm. Comfortable seating for 20 at a tastefully decorated bar/lounge. Three tall tables and chairs within earshot of a noisy TV showing sports. Nine-place light wood bar with brass foot rail. 12’ ceiling doesn’t let cigarette smoke get too far. Beige and tan tiled walls with lots of light from the large ground floor windows. Short menu with some national dishes. Nasi Goering pretty tasty. It was common to see unattended minors running around the lounge area.

My 26th floor room had an entryway door and room door. Semi-quiet self-closing doors. Occasional housekeeping hallway noise, little room-to-room noise. Mini bar with canned beer at 13-14 MYR. Very narrow wooden closet with six hangers, iron and short board. Hot water maker with tea bags and instant coffee packets. Very small safe too small for iPad or laptop. 37” flat screen TV with 16 channels, BBC and ESPN in English. No pay movies, no DVD. Hotel info channel with continuous mellow instrumental music. Glass-topped small writing desk with wired Internet jack (no cable) and multi-pronged electrical outlet. Armchair and small reading table by window. Both light and heavy drapes. Bedside digital control for lights, A/C, and clock. View of Marriott and other hotels’ swimming pools.

Compact bathroom with narrow white tub/shower combo. 110v/220v multi-prong electrical outlets. Good hot and cold water. Everything functional and clean and in good repair. Fairly comfortable standard sized white cotton towels. Somewhat firm queen bed with four pillows, 2 stiff and 2 less so.

Overall, comfortable.

Room Tip: Find a room without a window?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beerdrinker2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Beerdrinker2005,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We appreciate your constructive feedback and also for highlighting the areas that need our attention. It is our utmost pleasure to be of service to you and we are pleased to learn that you liked the hotel. Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities.

Once again, thank you for choosing Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur as a preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Centrally located for a foodie. Imbi road market for breakfast, Lot 10 for lunch and Jalan Alor for dinner - all within waling distance. Plus there are many major shopping malls nearby to help relieve you of your money. The room was clean and comfortable. And the pool with a lovely setting is long enough for lap swimming. Great value for the price. For less than AUS$100 a night I even got a view of the Twin Towers from the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingfornirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Lookingfornirvana,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor! We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguio
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked via hoteltravel.com which had the lowest rate at that time. We were quite pleased that our booking was smooth, hassle free, and our request for the deluxe twin room, non-smoking, low floor was granted. We stayed 4 nights to attend a 3 day seminar/workshop, and were beyond satisfied.

First off, the hotel is located within walking distance to major malls and restaurants (3 minutes to Pavilion if you walk briskly). There are taxis parked nearby, but we did not use them. Travel from KL Sentral bus station took less than 8 minutes. Taxi fare through the bus station taxi service was rm13.

Our room was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. The room had minibar, cable tv, tea making facilities, in-room safe, closet, hair dryer, telephone. Air conditioning functioned properly. We appreciated the ironing board and flat iron that were provided (we don't usually see these in other hotels).

Toiletries were provided, except for toothbrush and toothpaste. Loved their shampoo. Thoroughly enjoyed their shower. Water pressure was strong and steady all throughout.

Breakfast was okay, enjoyed their wide assortment of breads, fruits and local and international breakfast dishes. Their lunch buffet was awesome.

Staff was attentive and helpful. One of the lights got busted on our 3rd night. They sent service personnel to replace the bulb in less than 5 minutes.

The wifi was not included in our room rate, so we rented the Internet device for the duration of our stay. Connection was strong, and we were able to use it outside the hotel. At the end of the period though, we had used more than 5 gigabytes, 4 more than the one we applied for. Since we did not receive the email informing us of our usage and the need to top up, the front desk staff just charged us the regular rate.

Overall, a very good hotel. Perfect for our stay. We loved that we were able to catch some rest during lunch breaks at the seminar workshop. Our room was a very quick elevator ride away.

Room Tip: Book with hoteltravel.com for the lowest rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeladelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Angeladelmar,

Greetings, thank you for your support towards Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and for taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to note that you find this hotel to be perfect for your stay having the location within major shopping complexes and friendly service. It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here twice once on the way to australia and then on the way back . Both times it was a pleasure , the rooms were large and well furnished, the situation was ideal for myself with three large shopping malls within easy walking distance the staff were helpful and my special allergy requirements were speedily rectified with no hassle. We had the room only option so no comment on food.We used the airport pick up on both occasions ,this was also very professional and reasonable.
The wi fi worked for .Would have no hesitation in recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canaryUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear CanaryUk,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us. Feedback from guests is invaluable to us as it allows us to continually monitor and improve our service standards to our guests and I sincerely thank you for your comments.

May I take this opportunity to say thank you once again and that we all look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur in the near future.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is within a short walk to major shopping centers and good places to eat both local (cheap) and western (not cheap) the rooms are a good size & clean. Don't use the taxi touts who pester tourists to use their services - they don't / won't use meters & will rip you off. The Blue taxis are ok and do use meters. We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions, in fact when working in Malaysia / KL for 4 years from 1998 - 2002 we lived in a Condo which was less than 500 meters from the Hotel so we know it well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear DavidBevan2013,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us. We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the major shopping centers and good places to eat which are within walking distance.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
#71 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,051 reviews
0.5 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Property: Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing