We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the most part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for the most part”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

First off with the good...Our room is HUGE and decently clean. The location is awesome. its very close to shopping malls and great food. BUT our room lacks a view and we had problems with the hot water. Wifi is also extra....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simplyrose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Simplyrose55,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

We are most delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us and that you have shared your positive experience here on TripAdvisor. Your acknowledgement towards our effort in creating memorable hotel experience will surely encourage us to further strive towards achieving excellence.

Please accept our sincere apologies on the view and hot water incident. We have taken necessary actions to ensure there is no repeat of such occurrence. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future!

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    651
    310
    90
    52
See reviews for
441
428
104
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and on first arrival the thing you noticed was how friendly the staff were, very warm and welcoming. Although, we did think it was a little tired in places and could do with a bit of a touch up, the lobby cafe is a little tired and dull..It was'nt very nice that people could smoke there, I do think that these days smoking should be restricted to outside.

Our room was a deluxe suite and was beautiful, could not fault it and it was immaculately clean. The pool was lovely and gym facility more than adequate, all in all, and extremely pleasant stay (in a great location).

Finally, once again I have to say the staff from door staff to reception were warm, welcoming and simply lovely.

Room Tip: worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash1-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ash1-10,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Your feedback will definitely be a motivational tool for us to improve our level of service and efficiency. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is one of my favorite hotel in KL even though it is little aged, situated in the prime location, very close to the Pavilion mall, Farenheat, StarHill, Times square, Lot10, Sungai wang etc.Lot of food options of any budget available within 5 minutes walking distance. It is situated in the Bukit Bintang, close to shopping options and night life. Rooms are very big, with a nice view of the twin tower and reception staff are very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was nice with a wide spread of International, Malay, Arabic & Indian foods, but unfortunately the hall is too crowded, some times you have to que up minutes to enter and get a seat (I stayed there during Christmas season and naturally the hotel was over booked).

I checked in the late evening and after the long flight, I was too tired to explore outside that day and decided to have dinner from the hotel itself. I forgot the restaurant name (the place were breakfast is served..checkers or something similar), but by 10 pm it was empty and restaurant staff seems like they want close soon and in a hurry (it is very common in KL, all the big restaurants & food courts will close by 9.45 pm itself). The food was tasty but little costly. Now I can suggest my fellow travelers to try restaurants outside the pavilion mall (avoid the inside food court), Faranheat or the very famous Nasi Kandar food chain for budget option. In Jalan Imbi, you can find out lot of pubs open up to early morning.

This is a neat, spacious 4 star hotel in KL and I strongly recommend to my fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Always opt for the upper floors with twin tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsaacKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Isaac,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are most delighted that you have thoroughly enjoyed the stay with us. We thank you for recognising our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Dorset Regency is definitely showing its age, furniture and carpet is looking very shabby, but the location is fantastic and for the price it is a good stay.
Right on the edge of the Golden Triangle next to the Ritz Carlton and the Marriott the location couldn't be much better.
Breakfast buffet is ok with plenty of variety.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with views of the Petronas Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tannedoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Tannedoz,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and also the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Medium sized hotel sited off the busy Jalan Bukit Bintang. The first impression of the hotel is her somewhat aged feel. Retro deco with peeling wallpaper, and that faint mustiness in the lift and corridors. But once you get beyond this, it is actually a fairly pleasant hotel. Service was warm and friendly. Everything works.Toiletries, coffee making facilities in the room. Free wifi, although somewhat patchy (we discovered later that this was due the gateway allowing only one connection per room). The bed was comfortable although it could be a bit firmer. Pillows were a bit too high for me, but my wife found it OK.

The free breakfast buffet that comes with the room is more than adequate although the overall quality can be a bit better. There is a small pool without a lifeguard, and a small functional gym with some exercise machines.

Hotel car parking was free, and adequate, although the ramps were really narrow. You really had to have steady hands to navigate your car from level to lose enough to the Pavilion mall and Sungei Wang, but yet away from the main road so was spared the noise and bustle of human and vehicular traffic.

All in all a decent hotel, reasonable value for money given it's choice location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Muluvisitor,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback on the areas that we need to improve. We are glad to share that we do have renovation plans for the hotel which will take place soon.

Nevertheless, we are glad your stay at the hotel was good with our buffet breakfast and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having a 3 days 2 nights short trip in KL, we decided to book this hotel because it was near to shopping mall and more convenient for us.

when we reached the hotel, the doorbell staffs were friendly helping us open the door. We waited 10-15 min just to check in.... I just feel a little bit of disappointed that the room assign to us not the room that we requested, in this case why still ask any request for our room. When we enter the room, there is a strong smoking smell inside and the bed was two single bed which was not we wanted so my friend had to go down and requested to change room. Finally we had the room we wanted. End up making my friend running up and down just to change the room. The room we had not that bad, at least we had king size bed and no smell of smoking at least the room is clean and neat.

One of the nights, my friend and i had decided to call room service, i fee that the food was not bad, just that we needed to wait a little bit longer. the staff was friendly and helpful helping us carry the food to the table and help us set up nicely..

Overall this hotel okie not that bad to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDLEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear DDLEX,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are certainly disappointed to learn of your highlights on our guest room request and would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had encountered. We assure you that the hotel management has duly noted your constructive feedback and we are definately looking into the areas you have highlighted.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We came back to stay at Level 21. Nothing much has changed. The old property is still there but the good services and clean room environment have made our stay enjoyable. We like the space in the room. The Sony flat screen TV in the room with many international channels is a good investment. A good alternative to relax in the room if you're too tired to go out. This hotel does not provide free in-room WIFI services, and we think this is the only negative point of our stay there. Overall rating for the grand old lady-hotel should still be in the V.Good category.

By the way, if you enjoy smoking sisha to unwind in the evening, you will be able to find this service just outside the hotel premises. No idea if it is operated independently by other vendor or the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. Your feedback on the staff's good service and clean room environment will definitely be a motivational tool for us to improve our level of service and efficiency. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#21 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
#73 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Property: Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing