We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is still a good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #51 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“It is still a good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We came back to stay at Level 21. Nothing much has changed. The old property is still there but the good services and clean room environment have made our stay enjoyable. We like the space in the room. The Sony flat screen TV in the room with many international channels is a good investment. A good alternative to relax in the room if you're too tired to go out. This hotel does not provide free in-room WIFI services, and we think this is the only negative point of our stay there. Overall rating for the grand old lady-hotel should still be in the V.Good category.

By the way, if you enjoy smoking sisha to unwind in the evening, you will be able to find this service just outside the hotel premises. No idea if it is operated independently by other vendor or the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryThirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. Your feedback on the staff's good service and clean room environment will definitely be a motivational tool for us to improve our level of service and efficiency. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    626
    306
    88
    51
See reviews for
421
414
97
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early February . I booked this hotel due to the location in the middle of KL. Ten minutes walk to Berjana Times Square and nicely located near The Pavillion shopping centre. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Luggage was able to be stored after check out. Free wifi and reasonable room service prices. Breakfast being included was an added bonus-as well as a great selection. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Joanna,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is ideally placed for the Pavilion shopping Mall, a vast area of shops, boutiques and eateries, wit a walkway direct to the Petronas Twin Towers.

The meals are served buffet style but are of a very high quality and a vast range of choice. Fresh omelettes or fried eggs are available for breakfast, plus pancakes or waffles and the usual array of continental and Asian choices. The main meals are changed each night and include a roast meat, cold seafood and an Italian dish. The cakes and sweets appear to have been home made and are also changed nightly and include a chocolate tower and a selection of ice creams.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

The bedroom was of a reasonable size with adequate comfortable furniture. It had a mini-bar and free Wi Fi. The TV channels were limited to Fox Sports and BBC World but other channels did show the occasional film.

The bathroom was adequate with a bath and shower over.

We had to ask how to turn down the air conditioning as it was too cold in the room and there were no written instructions on how this was done. But the maintenance man came within 5 mins and showed us how this was done from a console by the side of the bed which also controlled the lights.

The hotel organized a car to pick us up from the airport which was about an hour's drive away and cost about £35. However, on the return journey the concierge called a taxi which cost about £17.

This was a very pleasant stay in a very comfortable hotel where we ate in every night as the food was so nice and quite reasonable. Would strongly recommend this hotel without any reservations.

Room Tip: Deluxe room is the standard room and is more than adequate for most people, it has a desk, table arm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ACalpevillaowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear ACalpevillaowner,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are most delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive comments are important and will assist us in improving and upholding our level of service and facilities. We thank you once again for recognizing our effort in creating a memorable experience and look forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

As a high rased hotel building in the middle of kuala , Dorsett is a traditional hotel with nothing special excep its location near petronas towers and other must visit spots in the capital , like the kk mall and other famous shoping spots.
service isnt that friendly as i remember front desk girl ignored replying on me , ended the talk by looking in her paper- or she though am trying to pick her up , shes pretty attractive though.
room was high leveled which gave us spiritual view and thats it . Breakfast was average , and the club downstairs was not promising so i didnt even try To wast a night there, we had a real discount otherwise its a bit an expensive hotel comparing with its flat mood.
Generally , try to go beyond areas in far east and enjoy the virgin sites and beaches , and avoid crowded capitals if you are not into shoping.

Room Tip: Try to be up to 25 th floor , and be higher than surrounding buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hassangalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Hassangalal,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are looking into your points highlighted and have ensued on remedial actions to ensure there is no repeat of such occurrence.

It is because of guests like yourself that take the time and trouble to inform us of your dissatisfaction that we can improve our services. This service shortfall and inconvenience caused are sincerely regretted.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early Feb 2013 and were very disappointed. First the positives - good location, in the Golden Triangle and great shopping at your doorstep. When we checked in, we had a couple of issues with lights not working properly and toilet not flushing properly and they were attended to promptly. That's where the joy ends unfortunately. The hotel decor is extremely old, tired and dated. The whole place is in desperate need of a major renovation or a knock down. The place stinks of smoke throughout, people smoke in the lounge in the foyer. The foyer area is very average (that is being kind). The breakfast selection is appalling. The walls are paper thin, we can hear everytime our neighbours go to the loo or have a shower (including in the middle of the night!!). Women are banned from the jacuzzi area - yes, BANNED! Now the icing on the cake - the taxi concierge tried his hardest to rip us off, telling us the cost of a cab from hotel to Petronas Towers was RM 20-25 when it was actually RM 5. Thank goodness we had asked somebody else prior to asking him so were able to avoid being ripped off despite his best efforts to do so. One would think a paying guest would be able to trust a hotel representative, who should be going out of their way to make sure the guest is comfortable and happy, but clearly not at the Dorsett Regency!! Sure the price is good value, but plenty of places in KL are. I would definitely not stay here if I had my time again. Ps. As I write this review (on our last night here thank God) we have received a notice that the venue for tomorrow's breakfast has changed due to an allegedly "routine" pesticide spraying exercise. I pity the guest that found a cockroach in their breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kicksvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Kicksvic,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

We would like to thank you for the postive remarks on the hotel and also for pointing out the areas that we need to improve. We are glad to share that we do have renovation plans for the hotel which will take place soon.

On the last note that you have pointed out on the closure of the outlet, we would like to set the records straight that the outlet was closed on Friday, 8 February 2013, morning for a monthly scheduled maintenance work carried out to ensure the hygiene of the outlet is taken care.

Once again thank you very much for your constructive feedback.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My 16 year old daughter & I travelled to Malaysia recently & the travel agent booked this hotel for us. It didn't disappoint. Friendly welcome, luggage stored until check in time & a nice clean spacious room.
Perfect location, 20 minute walk to the Petronas Towers. 10 minute walk to Berjana Times Square.
All staff very polite & helpful. Room service prices were very cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Kim,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are most delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We thank you for recognizing our effort in creating memorable hotel experiences and look forward to welcoming you again in your next trip to Kuala Lumpur!

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, AUS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful - even when my partner came home at 3am passed out in a taxi !

Perfect location, between the Carlton and Mariott - you feel like you're with the rich folk !

2 min walk to shopping plazas and restauants etc.

Breakfast was multi-cultural and plentiful, but really busy and cramped.

Room was average size, but had everything you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TianaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Tiana,

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. Your feedback will definitely be a motivational tool for us to improve our level of service and efficiency. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
Ansa Kuala Lumpur
#68 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Corus Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#55 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Property: Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Address: Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur 172 Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing