We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again, no trustful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had stayed here for 7 nights. First of all we had to complain about few things which did not work in our room, like bulbs, bath tub sink and door. It was been fixed on our LAST day !
We were also sure that one service employee stole our digital camera. Before the room service we went to the pool for 30 min. after we returned the room was made and the camera was gone. On our complaint to the management they denied to believe us. Luckily we stored our valueables in the safe. But we even heart that staff even stole items out of the locked safe !
So that´s why we do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauritius_Heritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Mr. Rohr,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

Based on our records, you had only informed us of the alleged incident of the missing camera after your departure via email on 3rd January 2013.

Upon receiving your email, the hotel’s Security Department had done a thorough check in attempt to recover the alleged missing camera including viewing of the CCTV recordings and door log readings of your room. However, none of these has indicated on any wrongdoings.

Mr. Rohr, the management views this allegation seriously and will be in touch with you again via email to get more details of the alleged incident.

Thank you and regards,

Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,479)
There are newer reviews for Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

although the hotel is in the golden triangle close to everything , yet the method of treatment with guest is not very satisfactory . the house keeping kept knocking at the door at 8 am in the morning the food at the morning buffet is awful to the maximum. there are better options around to pick from.

Room Tip: Try to get Rooms that are on the main street for better view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahmad_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Ahmad,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. The service shortfall and inconvenience caused are sincerely regretted. We always strive to provide the best service and your feedback will certainly help us to improve our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were given a free upgrade to a suite, making life more comfortable. The extra bed was uncomfortable and noisy and the wi-fi at 30RM a day overpriced, especially as its quite slow: it should be free in this day and age!
No other complaints though. Clean, well appointed rooms, efficient and helpful staff and a good buffet breakfast, although you may need to wait for a table. We also negotiated a 4 pm checkout [100RM], which beat hanging out in KL's heat for 3 hours. Very well located, within a walk or a short taxi ride of most central attractions.

Room Tip: Ask if a free upgrade is available.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Andrew,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

We are in receipt of your comments and appreciate you taking time to post your feedback in Trip Advisor.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered during your stay with us. We always strive to provide the best service and your feedback will certainly help us to improve our services.

We are also glad to learn that you enjoyed the buffet spread and the surrounding attractions. Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.


Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

It's quite a good location for the kind of price that we paid. 5 mins slow walk to the Pavillion. The room is clean though quite old. The car park is quite dodgy as well. Overall notably the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoefied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. Your constructive feedback will enable us to improve our facility and services. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

18 rm, 75 mn by bus from the airport; in the midst of the golden triangle, 2 min walk from the Pavilion. Friendly receptionnist; minimal english (polite) staff; old dirty carpet on the floors, basic room amenities, old furniture ... more of a 3 * than a 4* ... disappointing

1  Thank Minh T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Minh,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We always strive to provide the best service and your feedback will certainly help us to improve our service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Among the hotels in the famous BB area, this hotel provides a good rate. We requested for non-smoking room and got what we want. Room is clean and the super-single bed is big. However we could not control the air-condition at night, the one sleeping on the extra bed felt very cold. Breakfast spread is very good but one needs to go early for breakfast preferably before 8 am. We saw the long queue to get in around 9.30 am. It is near to the Pavillion shopping centre and all the shops in Bukit Bintang. 10 mins walk away is a market which sells very good chicken and mushtoom pie, roasted pork bun etc. There are also coffee shops which seems very popular among the locals and the food looks tasty. Good place to stay if your aim is just to shop in KL and out sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim025Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Kim,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good, enjoyed the buffet spread at Checkers Cafe and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed in many of the hotels in Bukit Bintang KL over the past years. The Dorsett is not bad however the staff lacks warmth.....and for sure if you are there to explore the many shopping malls around its location is definitely a disadvantage. It's far from the monorail station too... We would rather use the tried n tested Park Royal / Berjaya Times Square.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi33India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Yogi,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered with the staff during your stay and the service shortfall is sincerely regretted. We always strive to provide the best service and your contructive feedback will certainly help us improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $63 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing