We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Preference Not Met”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We booked a non-smoking room since my husband and I are both non-smokers. I even sent an email and wrote a message on their website to ensure we get this. Upon checking in, guess what? Was still assigned to a smoking room! We had to contend with a non-smoking twin bedded room. Disappointing, but at least, room was clean and amenities were complete.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ar0undTh3W0r1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Ar0undTh3W0r1d,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had an overall pleasant experience at Dorsett Regency Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

We are constantly looking at ways to achieve excellence whether it is to do with the hotel’s
facilities or services.

Your feedback will give us an opportunity to look into all areas that need improvement.

Thank you and hope that we will be able to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

Good location, reasonable price/quality ratio, professional service, nice pool-area, nice rooms.
We stayed at this hotel totally 4 nights and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Dear Akinna,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had an overall pleasant experience at Dorsett Regency Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you and hope that we will be able to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The best part of Dorsett Regency is its location - very central, 5 mins to the big shopping malls and main lively streets at night, 10 mts to Bintang Walk and Times Square plaza and all other malls and about 15 min walk to Petronas and KL Tower. Seven eleven is just around the corner if you need water or a late night snack.

The hotel itself looks ordinary from the outside and the lobby can be a bit cramped but the rooms are decent - quite basic but clean. We had one 28th floor with views of the Petronas Towers which was nice - but it could be that we got lucky.
The lobby areas can do with some cleaning and the small check-in counter can be quite crowded at times. Overall it feels a bit run down and in need of renovation. We spent most of our time outside, so it was fine to crash out at night but i would like to try something else during my next stay in KL.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Ssmmiittaa,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had an overall pleasant experience at Dorsett Regency Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

We are constantly looking at ways to achieve excellence whether it is to do with the hotel’s
facilities or services.

Your feedback will give us an opportunity to look into all areas that need improvement.

Thank you and hope that we will be able to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I have to say that our stay was all but perfect thanks to tripadvisor. Quick and easy check in, no need to ask for an upgrade as they put us in a big room on the 27 floor. In fact full marks to the from staff, the young lad even remembered our names!!
Everything was fine, good clean room, may be a little tired but hey, all you want it for is to rest your head and shower in the morning. Breakfast was fine, something for everyone and staff where very pleasant. Yes taxi's outside where a little expensive but a very short walk and you got a metered one.
Taxi to and from the airport is now around the 100gr mark, again not too bad for a 45min ride.
Ken
Loved KL, great food, wonderful poeple and a very good well run hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Dear Kenwade,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted to know that you had an overall pleasant experience at Dorsett Regency Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

We are constantly looking at ways to achieve excellence whether it is to do with the hotel’s facilities or services.

Your feedback will give us an opportunity to look into all areas that need improvement.

Thank you and hope that we will be able to serve you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

It was nice experience to be staying at Dorsett. It was just around the conner of the so called Golden Triangle (8 Malls). The hotel was neat and clean. The rooms where quite spacious and clean laundry. It practices Green initiate too. It has some really good restaurants at a reasonable rate.
- Price - It was reasonable for a four star.
- It great for family/singles/couples.
- It has some great views ( some rooms facing the Petronas towers, some the city, some the shopping areas.)

*** The In- house spa was the only disappointing factor or else alls well folks.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j3mathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stay two night at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur..When we step into the hotel we fell welcome from them..the receptionist-Alice offer a warm service to us!!The fast and quality check in save our time!!The room that issue for us was nice..we feel very happy!!The buffet breakfast and dinner have a lot of selection dishes..The food serve hot and the taste was nice and fresh!!The service from the fnb outlet need to improve..clearing plate need guest to remind!!Even though they pass by guest dining table also ignore to top up the water or clearing the plate!!But the staff that use black colour coat from that outlet give a good service to us!!Nice to guest, rounding all the time!!The pool are clean!The location was nice..just a walking distance to bukit bintang..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hong91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2011

Dear Hong 91,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the service in our restaurant as this will give us an opportunity to improve our services offered to our valued guests.

We would like to apologise for the unsatisfactory service rendered to you and please be assured that we have talked to the service employees at the restaurant and also gone through an on-job-training session with them once more.

We hope that we will be able to serve you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed 5 nights toward the end of February and had a room close to the lift. It was very loud, quite annoying and did disturb sleep.

The hotel's decor is a little dated but the room was clean and comfortable.

The internet is a little pricey compared with other places we visited in Malaysia and it did disconnect you a lot. Also, it went down for in excess of 15 hours which was disappointing when we'd paid for an entire day.

I very much enjoyed the pool. We had just come from Langkawi Island where the pool water was more like a bath and I enjoyed the refreshing cool temperature.

Some of the staff are great but others would accost you every time you walked through the reception area trying to sell you their very expensive tours.

We ate two nights in the restaurant but we didn't have the buffet. The first night we ate there, there was no one else eating but the second night was busier but I wonder what happens to all the food not eaten.

The location is great, with only a 5-10 minute walk to the monorail station.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fluffybundles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRKL, Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Dear fluffybundles,

Thank you for your feedback as it makes a way for us to correct and improve our services.

We have taken note of the internet disruption and at the same time measures are being taken to improve the internet services for our valued guests. As for the tours offered by the vendor, we have also taken this matter into consideration and have had a meeting to discuss the issue.

We will take all the necessary actions to make our guests feel comfortable and satisfied.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,470 reviews
1.0 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
885 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $60 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing