We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic Location..Good For Shopping Spre”
Review of Cititel Mid Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cititel Mid Valley
Ranked #72 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Its strategic location for shopping at MidValley..or if your pocket is thick enough, just proceed to the next door Gardens Mall.If you want more slightly bigger room,choose superior type.It is also good value for money since it is the cheapest ,compared to two other main hotels next door but yet it offers overall good service . if i want to bring the full batallion of the family, be prepared to get more rooms as they are quite small.

p/s....Pls change the weight scale in the bathroom as my wife was screaming like mad since she thought she suddenly gained weight..Suddenly i gained another 4 kilos too....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxxert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear xxxert

Thank you for your review and we are indeed most delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay. I have shared your feedback with our Executive Housekeeping and her team to ensure the weighing scales are in good working order.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 876 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is its location. You pay a little bit more for having a megamall right next to you. The mall is also connected to the rail. The superior room is almost similar to other budget hotels I've been to, a little too small for its price but comfortable enough for me. A couple with a few large bags will have very little room left to walk. Overall it was a pleasant stay with clean room, comfortable bedding and great service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear choymp

Thank you for your review and we are most delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us recently despite the size of the room. For your next stay here, I suggest you try our Deluxe room which is twice the size of the superior room where you will definitely enjoy the spaciousness it has to offer.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Mid Valley when your travel to Kuala Lumpur again.

Best Regards
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I got here to celebrate my third anniversary with my girlfriend. We enjoyed our day out there until about 8pm, we came in to check in. Yeah, I am using a certificate to redeem for 50% discount however, I do not think it is a reason for me to get such lousy services. The receptionist isn't talking in a polite way and did not listen to my enquires instead, I have to bear his higher volume in talking. It is not a mistake or a guilt to be a slow English learner but IT IS when your staff thought that he was speaking well enough to educate the hotel's guests in a higher volume when he was using the wrong pronunciation to describe something he meant. This little thing was more than enough to spoil my entire day. Then, I got questioned about some lousy questions on credit card. Honestly, when someone is intended to cheat, he/she can get away with any answers or stolen debit card as cards are without names. Grow up, please. The room was so small. If I were to compare with Starwood complimentary night, I got a three times bigger one at Westin last year and a double of the Superior room's size at Le Meridien this year.

Room Tip: The value for money isn't worth it for this hotel. I felt offended of the services and the stick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie24593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Jackie24593

Thank you for your review. Please accept my profound apologies for the inconveniences caused. Upon investigation, during check in my front desk associate was merely explaining to you that we do not accept credit card from a 3rd party for security reason, in this case the card belongs to your mother.

The voucher is applicable for superior room only.. However, we have another category, Deluxe which is twice the size of the superior room where you will definitely enjoy the spaciousness it has to offer.

We thank you for your kind understanding and look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Needless to say, the hotel LOCATION is the key factors as to why so many chose to stay here even if the normal room is so small vs a high price for it. I have been staying at this hotel since it opened its door for business in 2000 (or 1999?) and the rate then was RM98/room (STQ/STT) and gradually increased from RM100+ up to RM200+ all these years. I got a shocked when I was quoted RM330 a nite when I popped up without any booking. Booked thru online and got less than RM300 with b/f. Book online for a better rate.

Decided to stay there last minute as spouse could 'shop till drop' literally, LOL, while away for business. They provide breakfast on the go (mineral water, buns, biscuits, apple) if you need to check out early for your flight. Just inform front desk the night before will do with your room no. You can get delicious 'xiao long pau' and fried carrot cake in the chinese restaurant located at the lobby. Overall, strategic location but small room. Good for a night rest after work or shopping, cool AC, strong pressure shower (but also small bathroom, with a glass partition now, the shower area more squeezed for bigger person). Yes, you can get a bigger room by paying more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy2008_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear andy2008_12

Thank you for your review the contents of which have been noted. We appreciate very much your continuous support all these years and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Ciittel MId Valley when you travel to Kuala Lumpur again.

Kind regards
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the first time staying in this Hotel. Rooms are small but is good enough for a Couple Stay however the TV channels can be improved. The location is needless to say as it is linked with the Big Megamall - Mid Valley which everything from Entertainment, food to groceries are under one Roof.
One good commendation I would like to say is...we were v honoured to receive a Thank You note from the Chambermaid, Ms Mohani. Which so far for all our travels, we have never receive such a sweet appreciation note for our little "tips" in cleaning up our room everyday. Two Thumbs UP for such appreciative staff that Cititel KL had.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crystall_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear crystall_moon

Thank you for your review and we are most delighted to learn that you have had an enjoyable stay with us recently. I will personally convey your kind appreciation to Ms Mohani as this will encourage and boost her morale in providing excellent service in exceeding guest expectations.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to welocming you back to Cititel Mid Valley when you travel to Kuala Lumpur again.

Kind regards
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

All along when i stay in this hotel is main for its location.
its has all the needs of a holiday person,
- easy for shopping (just a walk away),
- Movie (nice for late night movie and right after the movie its just a walk to the hotel)
- Food (has many place and food style for you choice)
- Necessary stuff (juice and snakes are also just a walk away)
Mainly all are just next door as its next to one of the big mall in KL.and its near the train station.
Very easy to move around for holiday goer.

But the down site is the rooms are small and a bit run down, Breakfast is normal and the internet is a bit slow. Much better than some hotel as some internet can't even be connected or connected but no network. Also if your driving there the car part is a bit small plus the traffic around that area is terrible hence if your staying there advisable not to drive if possible.
Overall the price is a bit high for such a small room but if you think about the location its worth it.
So if your looking for conveniences and if the price is acceptable this hotel is great for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeakemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Yeakemi

Thank you for your review the contents of which have been noted and appreciated. We are delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay despite some shortcomings. For your next stay here, I would suggest you try our deluxe room which is twice the size of the superior room where you will definitely enjoy the spaciousness it has to offer.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have stayed 8 times over a period of 3 years. This is my 1st time providing a review


LOCATION
This is the location for Shopping – Mid valley Mega Mall, The Gardens

ROOM LAYOUT
Small

DESIGN
Well kept, very clean, but the hotel is starting to age
Definitely not modern or new but rooms are NOT run down. Cititel still delivers the standard of a hotel

PEOPLE SKILLS/STAFF
Skilled Friendly Thumbs Up

MY EXPERIENCE
Cititel is good for its shopping : Mid Valley Mega Mall and The Gardens. Have stayed 8 times in 3 years and I will still be coming back
Yes - rooms are small but its fine. Rooms are used for showering and a good night(s) sleep After all KL is a city of shopping. Who spends 12 hours in their hotel room??

RATING
6/10

PRICE
Prices are average, not expensive. Cost of rooms can easily fit into your budget - allowing you to spend more for shopping

RECOMMENDED
WHY NOT? If you want to save on accommodation, but require friendly staffs, good breakfast, and have more $$ for shopping come to Cititel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REVIEW E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear REVIEW E

Thank you for your review the contents of which have been noted and appreciated. We are most delighted to learn that overall the hotel services have meet your expectations and you have enjoyed your stays in all occassions despite some shortcomings.

Once again, thank you for your continuous support. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Mid Valley when you travel to Kuala Lumpur again.

Kind regards
Edwin Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#68 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
#39 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Hotel Premier
My Hotel Premier
#212 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
1.0 mi away
VE Hotel & Residence, Bangsar South
1.0 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#40 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Mid Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Mid Valley

Address: Cititel Mid Valley Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $57 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Mid Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located within Mid Valley City; one of the most modern and integrated leisure, dining, entertainment and shopping destination in Kuala Lumpur, Cititel Mid Valley is easily accessible to major commercial hubs and popular tourist attractions. Adjoining to the hotel is two exciting malls; the Mid Valley Megamall and the upscale Gardens Mall, with over 630 retail shops featuring a smorgasboard of fashion, food, entertainment and family fun. Featuring two categories of well-appointed rooms and equipped with modern amenities, 646-room hotel comprises of Superior and Deluxe rooms with internet broadband, that is offered free to residential guests. For dining and relaxation, the 24 hours Citi Cafe is located at Hotel's lobby whereas the Citi Lounge is ideal for evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cititel Mid Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Mid Valley Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Cititel Mid Valley Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing