We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located Mid-range Hotel”
Review of Cititel Mid Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cititel Mid Valley
Ranked #67 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well-located Mid-range Hotel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very standard mid-range hotel well-located for the Mega-Mall. The Deluxe room that I stayed in was large but the finishing was very tired and not that well designed. I had a buggy visitor at night - quite common by other reviews in Trip Advisor! Luckily the cockroach was slower than I was and I did my part for pest control by squashing it. I can only imagine there's more where that came from but did not think too much into it as I was there just for the one night. The best thing about this hotel is the location - it's connected to the huge mall so it's super convenient for shopping queens. Traffic surrounding the mall is very heavy so patience is needed. It's a short cab ride away from the KL Airport Express station. Would I stay here again.....? Possibly, if I were sure that all I needed was a bed for the night, and if budget were a concern. If not, I would look for other options.

I did provide my feedback to the hotel manager and got a prompt email response, which does show that the hotel is enlightened about giving a listening ear. Now let's see if the hotel's reassurances for better service have been put to action, and if future traveller reviews show better hotel ratings!

Room Tip: Go for the "refurbished" rooms - mine looked like it was semi-new, goodness knows what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peonypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear peonypoppy

Thank you for your review of which I have responded to your feedback from the hotel E-survey. Once again, please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused during your stay in January. Our deluxe rooms have completely been refurbished by first week of February.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Mid Valley when you travel back to Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards,
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    378
    269
    60
    31
See reviews for
181
132
78
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Initially I was planning to stay there for 2 nights only. The reason I stayed in this hotel is because
I have to work at the exhibition centre for 3 days over the weekend. It is the best decision ever since it is very convenient to go the exhibition hall. Better than the previous hotel I stayed in Midvalley. The room is a little small, but it's quite okay, it's clean, it's practical & everything was there. I strongly recommend this hotel to business traveller especially those with family. It is because when you go to work, your spouse or family can go shopping, spa, movie, there's just a lot of things to do in Midvalley and you'll be spoilt with the choice of food you can find there. Oh yes, I almost forgot, the breakfast is superb, I love the varieties and delicious too.

Room Tip: Only choose superior if you travelling alone or spend less time in the rooms. Otherwise do choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetravellingbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Miszreena

Thank you for your favorable review during your recent stay with us. We are most delighted to know that our services and products have exceeded your expectations. We appreciate very much your recommendation of stay at Cititel Mid Valley to all.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Cititel Mid Valley can consider my 2nd home apart from my original home. I stay there every quarter due to business trip. It has improved from the reception service to room maintenance since 2000 the first time I stayed there. However, breakfast is always the same. Guest parking is a problem cos limited parking space. The location is good as one can do shopping, dinning, entertaining, even I close my eyes I know where the stores located ie north/ south court, which level. Hope the management can change the breakfast items so that the next quarter I go there at least I got something new to look forward to.

Room Tip: If you expect a spacious room recommend to book deluxe room. Standard room is for tiny people who tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanwcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear joanwcl

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us thus far despite some shortcomings. I have addressed the breakfast buffet varieties with the Executive Chef to improvise.

Once agian, thank you for your continuous support all these years and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Mid Valley when you travel to Kuala Lumpur.

Kind regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This hotel really disappointed me. The rooms are tiny and very old fashioned, 1977 anyone? In the US, we would call it a motel, not a hotel. So basic, not even a clock to see the time (essential when traveling!). Empty mini bar.

There is always some noise coming from the outside because the walls are paper thin, so sleep quality wasn't good. Breakfast is bad and expensive - first time I had eggs that tasted like nothing. Orange juice is fake (boo!).

It's attached to a huge mall with lots of shopping and a good selection of restaurants. That is why it gets 3 stars and not 2. FYI, the Chinese restaurant downstairs will charge you for a wet tissue!!! LOL, who does that?

Don't even get me started on the internet issues. For a "Business hotel" they should do better. Every time I left the room and came back, I had to re-activate my internet connection - what a drag. My business associate had much worse problems with connections.

The staff is very nice and friendly, way above avg of Malaysia general customer service level (which is the lowest I've ever encountered). The room is clean and they always did a good job organizing my mess.

I left this place as soon as I finished by business and took off to Bali, best decision I ever made.

The hotel did arrange a partial refund for the days I canceled, kudos for this!

The problem is not with the staff or service! The problem is that this hotel is old, ugly and sub standard! I'm never coming back here!

Room Tip: I know there are bigger rooms than the one I ordered, but they cost much more and not sure if they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Merav K

Thank you for your review the contents of which have been noted with regret that you find the hotel old and sub standard.

The hotel has recently completed refurbishment for all guestrooms and have received many positive comments from our returnees. The Chinese restaurant located at the hotel lobby is leased out to a private operator as such the hotel does have not any jurisdiction over what it charges the patrons.

Our internet system is configured to automatic cut off any user who stays idle for more than 20 minutes. This is to protect the interest of other guests who share the common bandwidth. We are in the midst of replacing all floors Internet Access Points with the latest version to provide better connectivity.

On a lighter note, I am glad that the services provided by my associates have met your expectations.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you better.

Best regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cititel Midvalley has a few things going for it, location, location and location. It's a pretty straight forward bussiness hotel with good location, centrally located, you can scoot off to PJ or KL downtown in 20 mins (mind you this is with traffic). It has it's own Commuter station, and every cabbie there should know it.

You can get entertainment, food, everything at your fingerstips as it's attached to Midvalley Megamall, and in 2006 or 2007 the rooms underwent some refurbishment. The morning buffet breakfast is ok with western and malaysian cuisine, but gets a bit repetitive if you stay there for a couple of days.

Being staying in this hotel since 2000 and I keep going back because it's value for money, strategic location.

Room Tip: Book your rooms directly from their webbie, it's a lot cheaper than a lot of other third party h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalvinChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear CalvinChoo,

Thank you for your review and we are most delighted to learn that you have always enjoyed your stay with us thus far.We are also happy to know that you are a strong advocate of Cititel Mid Valley and appreciate very much your continuous support over the years.

My team and I look forward to you welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The superior room is quite small, with small bathroom, especially the shower. Deluxe room is bigger, but we didnt want to pay extra as we weren't going to spend much time in the room anyway. The hotel is connected to Midvalley megamall, which is one of the largest shopping malls in Malaysia. A huge selection of food and restaurants at the mall. Shopping, cinemas and other activities are the main attractions. If shopping is your main objectives, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevlarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kevlarr,

Thank you for your review and we are indeed delighted to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Mid Valley soon.

Best regards
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a family trip recently and stayed at Cititel Mid Valley in a deluxe room. Really enjoyed it. The staff were helpful and polite, which is always a plus point for me. Buffet breakfast was not too bad, though could have a better selection of western and asian cuisine. Pretty convenient with the shopping nearby, with Mid Valley and the Gardens mall.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiramisuee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinLow, General Manager at Cititel Mid Valley, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Tiramisuee,

Thank you for your review and we are indeed delighted to learn that you and your family have had an enjoyable stay with us.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Mid Valley when you travel to Kuala Lumpur again.

Best regards,
Edwin Low
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
The Boulevard - A St Giles Hotel
#66 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
The Gardens Hotel & Residences
#38 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
My Hotel Premier
My Hotel Premier
#198 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
Pullman Kuala Lumpur Bangsar
#37 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
1,241 reviews
1.0 mi away
VE Hotel & Residence, Bangsar South
VE Hotel & Residence, Bangsar So...
#90 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Mid Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Mid Valley

Property: Cititel Mid Valley
Address: Cititel Mid Valley Lingkaran Syed Putra, Kuala Lumpur 59200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Mid Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 646
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located within Mid Valley City; one of the most modern and integrated leisure, dining, entertainment and shopping destination in Kuala Lumpur, Cititel Mid Valley is easily accessible to major commercial hubs and popular tourist attractions. Adjoining to the hotel is two exciting malls; the Mid Valley Megamall and the upscale Gardens Mall, with over 630 retail shops featuring a smorgasboard of fashion, food, entertainment and family fun. Featuring two categories of well-appointed rooms and equipped with modern amenities, 646-room hotel comprises of Superior and Deluxe rooms with internet broadband, that is offered free to residential guests. For dining and relaxation, the 24 hours Citi Cafe is located at Hotel's lobby whereas the Citi Lounge is ideal for evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Mid Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Mid Valley Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Cititel Mid Valley Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing