We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damaged rooms and refused to change rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
Ranked #255 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Would not back here for next time. Service provided absolutely poor and terrible. Room provided was poor as the air condition was not working well. Waited technician to fix for long time. He came in late at about 11pm and told it will be fine after 10 minutes. Unfortunately it still the same. This shown that they provide customers with DAMAGED ROOMS and never went through any maintenance check up for rooms. Some customers were complaining on:
1.Problems on door cards
2.Water flow was yellowish or brownish
3.Clogged drains that make customers unable to take their shower
Some of customers asked for changing new rooms, they refused and asked to be waited for technician check up. This incident happened on 14 December at night around 10pm.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RyanKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm not a picky person and never did I complain any hotels that I'd previously stayed before, however royal bintang could really spiced and boiled up my nerves! If you are ok to have shower with yellowish water,toilet flush not working,water not draining, swipe cards not working for room access...etc royal bintang hotel can provide all these conditions without a missed !!! Service wise, We asked for a room replacement but the front desk staffs were simply rude and giving excuses to avoid dealing with the problems, the staff can be brainless and dumb too when they mentioned they
Can't do room replacement as they reserved the other rooms for their next guests arrival, I was pissed off and replied are we not valuable guests to you? They can't even deal with the current matter how could they convinced the next guests to have good stay the ? If you have enough patience you can wait for the hotel maintainance guy to fix all the problems but no guarantee these problems are fixable and no time frame when will these problems be sorted.... All in all, I m not exaggerating about the scenario (worst of the worst to be honest) , but at the same time I also witnessed these happened to other guests that just checked in before me , many of them
Came down to complain after checking into their rooms, i would never ever come back to this worst lousy bad location hotel but if anyone of you would like to challenge your own temper and would love to stay in bad conditions this hell hotel will be a tasteful taste of experience

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vnnchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was my second visit to the hotel and i dont think i will return. I was there for the very busy long weekend in August and the hotel was extremely busy. My room was in the back part of the hotel with a view of a run down building. Breakfast was extremely interesting in the mornings it would seem that many of the guests were bringing their lunch boxes to breakfast and each time something new would come out the food would disappear in a flash to be packed away for later use. I would like to think that perhaps the hotel might be able to deal with this issue as i was struggling to find something to eat - even the roti station ran out of roti as guests were helping themselves to large plates - this was very disappointing to guest who were doing the right thing and trying to have some breakfast. Nearly every day my room card needed to be recoded - frustrating and annoying. I asked for a taxi to take me to the airport and the doorman flagged me down an executive taxi - it cost me almost double, my fault for not specify which taxi i wanted. Internet was good, i didnt use the pool so i am unable to comment on this. Cleaning staff were friendly and efficient as were the front desk staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The location is great but the hotel is old. Eventhough it's old, the bed is amazingly comfortable. Bedroom is also spacious. Bathroom is not so clean as you may find a lot of stain and fungus in the bathroom. Breakfast range is limited. Average hotel. They should refurbish the hotel. Another thing to be improved is the security staff attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitchieKurniawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

There was already a long queue when we checked in at 4 pm. It was an excruciating long wait as there was only one receptionist working. Even when guests started complaining, he had the cheek to answer back rudely "so what, I don't care !". This is simply not the way to treat guests. The rooms had their wallpaper peeling away and there was this kind of smell of the carpet being soaked wet for ages ! Just to validate your car park ticket is a hassle... You have to queue in together with other guests who are checking in to the hotel. I was "lectured" by the rude front line staff..."you don't know how to queue up". They should have a special counter....how long does it take to validate a car park ticket? With such rude staff, this could possibly be the last time I am staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisalam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good location. But terrible service and long wait, severely understaffed even at the reception. Waited 45mins at the front desk to check in. When it's finally my turn, the staff told us to wait another 2 hours before using our rooms, even though it was already 3pm local time and check-in to new rooms starts at 2pm.
Receptionist told us both my rooms are nearby and side-by-side, but in reality, they were on opposite ends of the corridor, many rooms apart. When we went down again to verify about this, the receptionist told us in a nonchalant and arrogant attitude: "so what do you want me to do now?"
Room condition was appalling as well. Both rooms given to us had severely scratched door peepholes, which meant we couldn't check who was knocking on our door from inside.
But, across the entire floor, there are no doorbells for any rooms at all, which is disappointing because that can be said to be a basic feature, especially for those ordering room service without posing a security threat to anyone.
One more problem: one of our rooms have a misaligned bathroom door, which meant that if you force shut it when you're taking a bath, you'll be spending 5mins of your time trying to yank open the door.
Morning breakfast was pathetic too. Lack of variety and taste; many patrons had to queue for scrambled eggs and roti canai instead. Plus the attendants took ages to refill the dishes at the counter.
I stayed at Royale Bintang thrice over the past 10 years, and the only reason why I booked this hotel again this time round, was because of the excellent quality service I received during my last stay 3 years ago. I'm terribly disappointed to see that the standards have dropped to these atrocious levels, and seriously, something needs to be looked into, straight from the management level and downwards. I'm sad to say, but this will be my last stay here in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kwokcy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I'm a frequent traveler to KL. The location is good, the facilities average, but the front-line staff, worst! Too few staff to handle the guests. Waiting in queue for much longer than it should take. Even to validate your parking coupon or to validate room keys (most of the time my room keys doesn't work when I leave the room), you still need to wait in the long queue. No more such hassle for me. Stay elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0bgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#74 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
788 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#25 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,606 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#88 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#54 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang

Address: 17 - 21 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#77 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $49 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang (formerly known as The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur) is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur’s Golden Triangle. Our location is within a short walking distance of the monorail stations and major shopping centers including Sg. Wang Plaza, Times Square, Lot 10, Starhill Gallery, Pavilion and the entertainment hub along the famous Bintang Walk. With a choice of Superior or Deluxe rooms, Executive Suites and The Royale Suite, each guest room has individually controlled air conditioning, telephone with voicemail, hairdryer, remote controlled TV with BBC cable services, coffee and tea making facilities, personal safe as well as broadband internet access to our Club floors. The hotel’s Executive Floors consist of the Royale Club rooms, Deluxe Club rooms, Executive Suites and Royale Suite. Privileges include continental breakfast, evening refreshments and all-day coffee and tea served at The Royale Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Bintang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing