We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
Nearby Hotels
$171
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$91
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$197
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$95
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$94
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Istana(Kuala Lumpur)
$96
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana KLCC Hotel(Kuala Lumpur)
$82
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
$124
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
$149
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,159)
Filter reviews
1,159 results
Traveler rating
107
389
332
168
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
389
332
168
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjalan alorlow yat plazawalking distanceberjaya times squarebreakfast was includedmonorail stationpetronas towersshopping mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
493 - 498 of 1,159 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We've been staying here each time we come to KL for the last 25 years. This last trip was a great disappointment. We booked months ago for a room with a double bed but there were none available, so we had to settle for twin beds. The reception staff were totally disinterested with a take it or leave it attitude. Bathroom was mouldy. Breakfast was OK but the coffee and tea came out on urn!! Not drinkable. The only saving grace was that it was close to the shops and Jalan Alor restaurants. Will not be staying here again, ever.

Room Tip: High floor rooms with view of Petronas Towers.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rose92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a one night stop over in KL so we wanted something on Bintang Road and a short taxi ride to the China Town Markets.
As we requested view to Petronas Towers, we were happy to get that. Little did we know that there are 2 construction sites directly across the road. For those of you who know KL will now that they have been working on Bintang Road etc for 2 years now.
Anyway, contstruction continued until 1am on one site and then the other starts work at around 5am, hence not much sleep. Lucky we didn't go to bed until12:30am and had to get up at 5:30am for an early morning flight.
4 Main Issues - Cons
1. Requested wake up call and never got it. (Lucky we have our own alarm)
2. Noise from across the road
3. The cook slept in for breakfast, so all they had was continental type food and nothing hot being cooked. They said he will be an hour away. Pity we had plane to catch.
4. Rooms a bit rough around the edges. (old)
6 Pros
1. Location
2. Clean linen and towels etc
3. Early check-in available
4. Our request for Twin Towers view was provided (pity about the noise)
5. Pool was very refreshing before hitting China Town. It's not a small pool like in other views. It's a hotel, not a resort (some people just don't get it!!!!!)
6. Plenty of taxis out the front

I'm sure if you surf around on Tripadvisor you will find something better.

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side of the construction. You will miss the view of the Twin Towers, but you will sleep much better.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeamFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, the rooms are filthy, outdated and the staff wouldn't give you the time of day. Air conditioning was making a very loud noise so called reception hoping for someone to come fix it, but it was apparently just warming up and would stop making noise in a few minutes, unlucky for us but the air conditioning never warmed up... Didn't have a very nice experience here and felt very uncomfortable.

Stayed: October 2013
10  Thank maddyyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the royal bintang for 2 nights me and my daughter, on arrival to the hotel, first impression staff were very rude booking us in did not even get a hello a welcome nothing the reception looks great -then when you get to your room we were put down the very back of the hotel we did not feel safe the room was very very out dated and depressing and needed a good scrub old curtains,old linen ,old blankets and covers on bed ,dirty carpet and the odour of the room was terrible so my daughter and I spent most of the time away from the hotel was really a terrible experience and KL will never see my face again not recommended

Stayed: October 2013
7  Thank KeljayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel room is quiet dated, simple and small, but it's clean. Some rooms with twin towers view only. The swimming pool is small, gym is small but the equipment is quite adequate. No sauna or steam. The buffet breakfast is just simple not so tasty, there are plenty of places to eat surrounded the hotel, better choose room without breakfast. We have stayed quite a number of times in this hotel, but found that the hotel do not update to be better, but stepping backward. Compare the facilities and the level of comfort, it's overpriced. It's location is a bit further at the edge of bukit bintang area. There are many other good hotels with similar price around the area, just try to look for other better one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews