We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location no frills service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
Ranked #232 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed September 29, 2012

big hotel conveniently located in bukit bintang almost all big malls and star attractions are within 2 km walking distance room was also clean but has an old crt tv need to change to modern led tv fast, the sheets were not the best that one experiences in similar hotels, hotel lobby is not attractive, breakfast restaurant is usually overcrowded after 7am and things run out. the staff takee time to understand basics and are not very efficient as far as F&B goes, one can get similar rooms for much cheaper prices around if one looks around and doesnot mind not so plush address or location

Room Tip: avoid rood facing rooms to reduce street noise choose 13th floor petronas view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohitgupta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,114)
There are newer reviews for Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed during early Aug 2012.

The rooms are spacious and clean.
Service is good.
Breakfast OK.

Location is very good - shopping malls nearby; good steak at nearby shop called Outback.
MRT's a few minutes walk.

I would surely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1101 had good views of Twin Towers
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imtiaz_Alam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is overall not too shabby and value for money.

Staying here right now for 3 night.

Good things are, free Wi-Fi, comfortable bed, good location, big water flow for shower, and adjustable water temperature, not suddenly hot and cold, not noisy, has a Gym & swimming pool to work out. Friendly stuffs. Weakness, buffet breakfast that is simple, no bathtub in my restroom.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellyclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Actually the rooms were very nice and felt like home. Staff was always helpful. The were extremely helpful to get me on a tour through there hotel the last minute to see the Batu Caves. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was a decent hotel- offered free breakfast and was in a fairly good location. Lots of malls and restaurants all around the hotel. Trouble was traffic - outside the hotel it was a traffic jam and it was one way road so if you needed a cab to go anywhere you needed to walk down to the malls and get one on a side road heading in the direction you wanted to go. It was an easy walk to the train which is the easiest way to get around KL. Overall good room for the price - nice pool and friendly staff. Its an older hotel so don't expect a lot of luxury.

Room Tip: Even rooms on the street side are quiet. 4 elevators so its not long to wait.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJB27540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Main desk service normal, not active to change our room due to air-con malfunction, made us wait for their technicians to fix the problem which unable to do so. Ended up got a double single room instead of queen size bed which I booked.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WenZilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I choose this hotel because friends wanted to shop in Bkt Bintang area. However, the first shock was when we arrived around 2:00pm and while queuing up to check in, others were jumping queue. The staff at the counter saw but didn't bother. Then apparently there is 2 lower category of rooms with slight price difference but to the staff, there is no difference. They asked you if you would care for this because the room is available while others you may have to wait for 4 to 5 hours more to check in!

So we had to settle for smoking floor, twin beds - not what we booked for. The power tripped when we walked in. We asked housekeeping who is coincidentally cleaning room next to us. They checked and asked us to call housekeeping office instead of them doing it! We called, we sat in darkness and afternoon heat keeping doors propped open with bags for 30 minutes. No one came. We assumed busy. We left. We came back 8:00pm. Nothing done. We called to complain and then someone came and flipped a switch!!!

The beds had bugs in it. We booked three nights. As I am typing this, we had just spent our second night and got bitten each night. They promised housekeeping would do something nothing

Our minibar was apparently frozen and defrosted with water spilling out. We complained to them 2 days in a row and no one came to clean out the fridge. Water is still dripping out

The wooden panel on the luggage rack broke off and fell to the ground. We had to complain before anyone comes to fix

Worst of all was when we ordered room service, we tipped the fellow and later they called us back saying that we cannot charge to room as our account is locked. I explained at point of check in, we presented a credit card. They told us to talk to front office. We called, we explained and we asked them to either come up and get the card or we will give them tomorrow. The guy said tomorrow is fine. Then later another person from front desk called and told us we cannot charge. Again we explained the scenario but this person challenged us and asked us how much was the "deposit". I was stunned and said I do not know as I gave my card, they returned it to me after giving me my room key!

First and last time I will stay in this hotel!!!

And the drinking water bottles are only upon check in ... with one bottle having some toothpaste or something sticking to it. You can bet we didn't drink

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elfin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#83 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#87 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#106 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#54 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang

Address: 17 - 21, Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#77 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $47 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang (formerly known as The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur) is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur’s Golden Triangle. Our location is within a short walking distance of the monorail stations and major shopping centers including Sg. Wang Plaza, Times Square, Lot 10, Starhill Gallery, Pavilion and the entertainment hub along the famous Bintang Walk. With a choice of Superior or Deluxe rooms, Executive Suites and The Royale Suite, each guest room has individually controlled air conditioning, telephone with voicemail, hairdryer, remote controlled TV with BBC cable services, coffee and tea making facilities, personal safe as well as broadband internet access to our Club floors. The hotel’s Executive Floors consist of the Royale Club rooms, Deluxe Club rooms, Executive Suites and Royale Suite. Privileges include continental breakfast, evening refreshments and all-day coffee and tea served at The Royale Club Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Bintang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing